RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Selle Italia SLR Comfort?(9 posts)

Selle Italia SLR Comfort?B2
May 8, 2002 8:16 PM
Would anyone out there like to comment on the comfort of the Selle Italia SLR saddles? Are some models of the SLR more comfortable than others. I've used the Selle Italia Flite Ti for quite some time now with no complaints. Any Flite users that have switched to SLR?

Thanks in advance for any comments,
Bryan
re: Selle Italia SLR Comfort?dave woof
May 8, 2002 8:30 PM
I have the SLR, it's pretty comfy for me - I'm 170lbs. It takes a few hours to get used to it - seems hard at first.
re: Selle Italia SLR Comfort?pa rider
May 9, 2002 2:31 AM
I did a test ride on merlin cyrene last month which had one. I only rode 12 miles, but was surprise the saddle felt great. Felt better than the old flite I had 4 years ago.

I have a San marco trans am because of my prostate gland problem and was surprise the saddle didn't even bothered me. Can't go wrong with it if you're already use to the flite currently.
re: Selle Italia SLR Comfort?weiwentg
May 9, 2002 2:38 AM
it's much more comfortable than it looks. the longest ride I did on it was a metric century.
re: Selle Italia SLR Comfort?feathers mcgraw
May 9, 2002 4:12 AM
Just rode it for the first time yesterday, ride was cut short because of a torn sidewall. It's amazing how comfortable it is. I've ridden saddles with flat profiles across the top before and hated them, so I didn't have high hopes for the slr. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it felt quite similar to the flite. Getting the tilt just right was crucial, as the cover is so slick that the slightest tilt would cause you to slide down. The only problem I foresee is that the sharp sides could chafe your thighs. It'll probably be a race only saddle for me.
I switched from a Flight Ti to a SLRBikinCO
May 9, 2002 4:24 AM
a month or so ago. For me the SLR is more comfortable.
I like minelonefrontranger
May 9, 2002 7:11 AM
With the understanding that I have different, shall we say... "anatomical architecture" from the majority here ;-) I've always liked hard, skinny saddles, and never cared at all for "women's" saddles - they chafe my thighs and irritate the (femoral?) big nerve that runs down the inside of my hip. The pressure makes my feet go numb, not a good feeling in a long road ride or race.

For me the SLR is extremely comfortable, tho slick; you really do have to get the angle right as someone else mentioned. I'd like to see how this design would ride with stitching or patterned leather. I'd agree with my SO's teammate, who likes his, but says it's probably not a 4+ hour "all-day" saddle, meaning we'll probably not see many of them in the UCI ranks. Mine is exceptionally comfortable on my crit/TT bike, but I have my old standby Flite Tis on my stage racer and my 'cross bike.

My SO absolutely can't deal with the SLR. I offered him my spare, and he took it off the bike after 2 rides. I know it's been said a lot before, but everyone's butt is different.

A good compromise of light weight and comfort for those who like the old Flite design is the Flite TT.

Cheers,

LFR
It's all about your possitionhayaku
May 9, 2002 8:13 AM
The SLR is designed for a cyclist with many riding possitions while the Flight is for one or two.

I changed from a Flight, on which I couldn't sit for more than 15 or 20 minutes to an SLR after reading the reviews on this site. The flat shape worked for me, I've spent up to five hours in it at a time.

However there are other factors to consider such as the possition on the rails, angle, yer shorts etc...

In summary, the Flight is a different shape than the SLR. If the Flight works nicely for you then the SLR may not. If you want a light saddle, I think the Flight TT may be a good choice.

I love my snake skin print SLR however, so I recommend giving it a try.
I rode a century each, Saturday and12x23
May 9, 2002 9:42 AM
Sunday, and my butt was fine. It is the most comfortable saddle I've used. It did take a fair amount of 'fiddling' to find the sweet spot and has been great since. However, I wouldn't wholesale recommend it any more than I would suggest everyone wear my shoe size.