RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I thought i'd seen it all...the SUV wasn't big enuf already?(42 posts)

I thought i'd seen it all...the SUV wasn't big enuf already?Kristin
May 8, 2002 7:01 AM
I passed one of these that was doing 50mph in the fast lane today.
But what a great SAG wagon! nmMel Erickson
May 8, 2002 7:26 AM
correction: SAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAG wagon. nmJS Haiku Shop
May 8, 2002 9:38 AM
But what a great SAG wagon! nmEugene Kaudill
May 8, 2002 6:10 PM
There is nothing great about this polluter. The only thing it is doing is putting a bigger hole in the ozone.
How about a picture of you! (nm)Paul
May 8, 2002 7:34 AM
You've got a one track mind (nm)Kristin
May 8, 2002 7:55 AM
Yes, and it's always on the fast trackPaul
May 8, 2002 8:52 AM
I write screenplays, bike, and work. And I'm always looking for a good story. What's your line?
You've got a one track mind (nm)Eugene Kaudill
May 9, 2002 4:40 AM
This board should get on a one track mind about the benefits of cycling not only to the body, but also to mother earth. This board should be protesting their local car dealerships, the UAW unions that produce these killers, the corporations like Ford, GM, and Chrysler. Cycling is healthy for everyone and mother earth too.
The Ultimate in PracticalityMe Dot Org
May 8, 2002 8:38 AM
...a Stretch SUV - perfect for negotiating rocky terrain...off road prom nights...plus, it comes with all of that great Cadillac truck heritage...

Though ultimately a wimpmobile. REAL MEN drive the SUVs seen at http://poseur.4x4.org/futuresuv.html
YES!!!Kristin
May 8, 2002 9:37 AM
Does that come with electical and water hookups?
economicalDougSloan
May 8, 2002 8:46 AM
If it were full of people, actually it would be very economical (per person).

Probably only a driver and 1 or 2 people in it, though.
More Like A Driver And A "Lot Lizard"RadicalRonPruitt
May 9, 2002 5:24 AM
Hope you all know CB talk good buddy.
Been thinkingRadicalRonPruitt
May 9, 2002 5:45 AM
I bet I am the first to ever use the term "lot lizard" on RBR.com.
re: I thought i'd seen it all...the SUV wasn't big enuf already?Akirasho
May 8, 2002 11:07 AM
http://www.maximog.com/

We abide.

Remain In Light.
Daaaang (nm)Kristin
May 8, 2002 11:34 AM
Negligent operation of a dangerous instrumentality: class action128
May 8, 2002 12:03 PM
Too big. Fat ass monster vehicles, on the road!?? can't see through um, around um, over um. Nor can they apparently. Need a damn rear admiral just to back out of angle parking. And forget about sight lines! And headlights better suited for ship navigation blazing through the rear glass at a perfectly idiotic height. Is anyone thinking...
Safety first??. Those vehicles are said to be more dangerous for others driving near them than they are safe for those IN them.
Escalade, Navigator...what a waste. Fuel is a resource, and should be treated like one: used efficiently.
It's like driving behind a wall: look!! No eyes! I'll just put my faith and trust in the
driver of this unreasonable vehicle and: Hope for the best!
But we need a rearview mirror to pass inspection, for the PRIVILEGE of driving next to a clearly inherently dangerous vehicle in relation to the roads and cities they invade.
If they don't NEED them, they shouldn't operate them. They're irresponsible otherwise. And ever notice, they have to be going just two miles an hour faster that you? Not faster than you, just IN FRONT of you.
And while I'm at it- Harleys are too damn loud; my second class action: public nuiscance. I'd be one popular SOB then..."I say we kill him!" [("I say we let him go??")]

Anyway, go Celtics...
re: Driving behind a wall...guido
May 8, 2002 10:45 PM
I put my faith and trust in a big Ford pickup, the same dimensions as their SUV, dogging him a little close after he darted in front of me, and suddenly, BAM! he jerks to a sudden stop, and I smack into him. I didn't see the car in front of him stopping for the light, which I also didn't see turn yellow, because this truck was blocking my view. Guess what? I'm the one legally liable. Rear end collisions are always the fault of the driver behind.

So now, when I'm still driving somewhere, I follow the vehicle in front of me far enough back so if he hits something, I won't hit him. Another good reason to bike to work.

Out here in Tyler, Texas, Harleys are a culture. On any weekend, you'll see couples out on the same farm-to-market roads we ride our bikes on, often several together. I asked my dentist, who rides a Honda Gullwing, what he thinks when he comes up on a bunch of bicyclists. "Envious," he answered, "That you can do it on your own power." Doesn't that fit into the SUV mystique, raw power over finesse, domination over economy?

Saw a lady turning her Lincoln Navigator off the main road into her gated community. Sitting way up above the road, she didn't realize how fast she was going, and overshot the turn, almost running onto the grassy divider of the street she was turning onto. I laughed all the way home.
What about this one...timfire
May 8, 2002 3:24 PM
It's a Ford F-350 14-passenger Monster Limo!

Specs:

Four Wheel Drive
2' Suspension Lift with a Fifteen foot stretched Body
(36' Long overall)
46 1/2" Tires on 22 1/2" Custom Alcoa Rims
Reverse Gull Wing Rear Entry Door
Complete Leather Interior
Full Bar
CD/DVD/VCR with Surround Sound
State of the Art Rockford Fosgate Digital Audio System
27" Color Television
Privacy Window
This polluter is disgracefulEugene Kaudill
May 8, 2002 6:09 PM
This message deserves my attention. Does anyone really need a vehicle like this? OF COURSE NOT? This is just an example of rich capitalist who don't give a damn about the environment. These vehicles should be illegal for the good of mother earth and mankind.
Yes, it does deserve your attention...sctri
May 8, 2002 7:14 PM
Give THEM a piece of your mind, go play in traffic... dont harass cyclists, we ride bicycles, which are pretty good for the enviroment... so lets not have another marxist rant about capitalist robbing the world blind.. ok?

thanks.. ride more

rc
Yes, it does deserve your attention...Eugene Kaudill
May 8, 2002 7:32 PM
This isn't a form of harassment to the bicyclist on this forum. Rather, it is a call to those who think this vehicle is "chic" or "hip" to let them know this vehicle is a killer of the environment.
can't you just go away?Jekyll
May 8, 2002 8:06 PM
I mean, I know mother earth needs you and all but does it really need you here? There is a sister site to this one called carreview.com - go spread your gospel there. I'm sure there are more people to "educate" there than here where we ride bikes.
Not for nothin but SUVs are irresponsible.Lazywriter
May 8, 2002 9:13 PM
If someone is an outdoorsman or a carpenter that needs the space or 4 wheel capability, go for it, but the fact that they are being driven by so many people for status is a joke. Now, the whole argument that this is a free country and you can drive what you want Blah Blah Blah is not the issue.
The environment is one issue and the dependence on foreign oil is another. If all people could do after "my Towers" were knocked down (I grew up staring at them from my home), was to put American flags on their gas guzzlers, then they need to rethink what the word "sacrifice" means.
They are a waste and if you drive one and you truly don't need it, then you should be ashamed of yourself. It is a simple equation. Back in the 70s the government started to put restrictions on gas mileage and the old gas guzzlers were slowly taken off the road due to the energy crisis. 30 years later, these gas hogs SUVs are getting lees gas mileage than those old guzzlers. We have gone backwards because some housewife in suburbia wants what her neighbor has to gear of for those treacherous 4 inch snow storms. Please, give me a break.
Lincoln Navigators, Escalades, Yukons, etc are simply ridiculous for the majority of people who drive them. Totally unnecessary case closed.
Not for nothin but SUVs are irresponsible.R-I-D-E
May 8, 2002 9:46 PM
I am really sick of this whole SUVs pollute, no need for vehicles that big, crap. Get over it.

This comes from people who drive 15 year old Toyotas that probaby spew out more pollution than any of those monster limos!

The hypocracy of it all.

RIDE
Not for nothin but SUVs are irresponsible.Eugene Kaudill
May 9, 2002 4:45 AM
You would feel much better if you gave up your Toyota and rode everywhere.
SUV's are irrresponsible!!!BDBike
May 9, 2002 5:00 AM
This is America People should be able to pick and choose what vehicle they drive; I am not for laws eliminating certain Vehicles. I believe that the owners of Vehicles that do not pass certain emission standards (i.e., <30 mpg, or very old and out of tune 1982 Toyota) Should be responsible for the actual cost of the vehicle they are driving. An SUV getting 13 mpg has a considerable greater cost to the American public than a small 2002 compact car, not only in fuel, but in increased road wear due to weight, and increased accidents due to lack of driving skills (four wheel drive is not designed for snowy roads) I do admit some of the all wheel drive models out today are designed for traction control in slippery surfaces. Not that all CARS have four wheel STOP. Not just trucks that go speeding around in the snow. The cost to the American people for those who chose to drive such vehicles should not go to everyone. It should be applied to the owners of such vehicles. Gas should be sold at different prices to cover the costs that are effectively placed on the public and the environment. Maybe even vehicle taxes based upon costs to the public for these vehicles.

Remember it is our country and we should be able to choose what we drive. We should also pay for the additional costs that these vehicles create.

My $0.02
can't you just go away?Eugene Kaudill
May 9, 2002 4:43 AM
Thanks for the info about carreview.com I will spread my message there as well. I did go away and didn't post for a while, and I was impressed that environmental issues still show up on this board in my absense. I see that a lot of people on this board share my opinion. GO GREEN Jekyll, GO GREEN.
Oh gawd...I woke the beast. Sorry. (nm)Kristin
May 9, 2002 5:17 AM
shame on you -- now do 3 bike related posts to repent nmDougSloan
May 9, 2002 5:50 AM
shame on you -- now do 3 bike related posts to repent nmRadicalRonPruitt
May 9, 2002 6:01 AM
I think she is going to eat recycled dog food, which is probably good enough, unless of course she is one of those weird African cultures or Middle Eastern cultures that actually participate in such events. Kristin sounds like a WASP name to me though, so I doubt that is the case.
geeDougSloan
May 9, 2002 6:09 AM
little caustic today, huh?
Texas legislature mandates Official Texan Motorcar128
May 9, 2002 4:48 AM
...comes with trailer hitch.
"Hell, Martha, I cain even fit my ideas in that thing, not to mention how we going to haul this years tofu harvest? Well, guess we'll just see what the government subsidy is this year....Fit more stuff on ma darn commuter bike"
Texan: "We got potholes bigger than that thang." nmDougSloan
May 9, 2002 5:22 AM
Kristin you can give me a ride anytimeRadicalRonPruitt
May 9, 2002 5:19 AM
Um...I'd rather eat recycled dog food, but thanks for the offer.Kristin
May 9, 2002 5:23 AM
I didn't offer you anything...RadicalRonPruitt
May 9, 2002 5:33 AM
but come on over now and I'll fix you up a heap of the recycled dog food you so desperately crave. Hey Rex, come here boy. Need you to get to work before Kristin comes over. She's real hungry boy!

Seriously, I told you you could give me a ride in that big ol thing they call a limo SUV. I beleive you posted the pic. If you don't want to pick me up and give me a ride that is fine, but I wouldn't go eating recycled dog food over that statement. Are you sick in the head or something. YUCK!
Kristin you can give me a ride anytimemackgoo
May 10, 2002 4:53 AM
This is way off but I've been wondering for a while. Kristin, male or female?
I remember one of those who's who posts a while back and you wrote Nicolai(?) something or other, and it just got me to wondering.
I am who I amKristin
May 10, 2002 5:50 AM
To JS Hi-Ku
I am a flightless Dharma
But some think elsewise

Many have expressed
Fifty-three year old gramma
With much time on hand

Others say must be
A Hollywood screen writer
Looking for bike scoop

Nicolas? pen name...
Not yet famous author writes
Pulitzer prize book

If ever a book
deserved a Pulitzer Prize
it would be of bikes

Though for Nicolas
No saddle this butt has seen
Thirty-eight, fat, slob

Who do you say I am?
Great reply! You continue to impress. nmLen J
May 10, 2002 5:53 AM
I am who I ammackgoo
May 10, 2002 7:17 AM
Just curious.
And why didn't you post this in non-cycling forum??!!Sintesi at home
May 9, 2002 9:37 AM
RadRon wants me to be consitent and told me to rank on you. So what gives? Look at all this SUV clutter, I want answers woman!
I hate this issue.Leisure
May 10, 2002 2:01 AM
First let me tightly define who I'm about to pick on: drivers that purchase huge SUVs for no practical reason. I understand those people that need these things for their work. And some prefer medium-size SUVs that really aren't any larger than a family sedan but offer a few practical advantages. That's all fine.
So to the chase: Even though I feel strongly about it, the people that purchase huge SUVs are not going to listen to anyone else's logic against buying them. These are people that buy because they need to demonstrate some childish, pathetic delusion of power or status, when in truth they're just driving clumsy, cumbersome, dull, polluting, dangerous vehicles. It's not enough to drive yourself about in a vehicle that weighs twenty times what you do and burns extra fuel accordingly. Some hillbillies think they need to tote a hundred times their own mass around everywhere they go, in a vehicle that's dangerous to others, consumes needlessly, and is not only boring, but tedious and annoying to drive.
But you can tell why some drivers deal with all these faults; just watch them the next time they go threatening another motorist, cyclist, or pedestrian. And while the sales of these vehicles climb, people don't seem to understand how roadrage could possibly be on the rise? They go around pointing at the deterioration of the family unit or increased substance abuse. Duh! And granted, a lot of these sales are not just the idiots I to which I refer, but the people that feel they need an SUV to be safe against these idiots. At which point the idiots go find something larger.
If only more people would go back to enjoying raw speed. Sports cars are much more fun. My Integra with assorted mods is fast, fun, frisky. It's responsive, communicative, gets to sixty in around six seconds. Mind you, I drive responsibly. It's still just a riot to drive. And guess what? It AVERAGES 29.5 mpg with emissions below what most machines can measure! What a step it would be if everyone drove one of these things.
Which brings me to my last point. Eugene, you are not going to change people by getting in their face demanding things that are completely unfeasible. While more efficient transportation and energy consumption are things that needs to happen in the not-so-distant future, it's unreasonable to expect that the average 1st-world couch potato can go dump his car and commute 50+ miles a day with 2.5 kids in tow overnight. Modern society as it is overdependant on fossil fuel consumption, there are too many practical issues in the way to expect an overnight solution. You will get much better results encouraging improvement in smaller steps, such as using more efficient vehicles for fewer miles, mass transportation, or education on what consumes how much over what time period. My vehicle gets four times the mileage and is twice as fast as my coworker's Suburban, for example.

I drank too much tonight.