RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


More on *$%&ing pop-ups(21 posts)

More on *$%&ing pop-upsmuncher
May 8, 2002 6:14 AM
Gregg,

We know about the finances etc and the pop-up link. However, this is getting too irritating for words. Today, I am getting some dumb-ass gambling pop-up ever few seconds - if I ignore them, I get the same pop-up opening again and again (multiple copies). This really is getting too much.

I can't put on pop-up kill software, as this is a work machine, and it's all getting to the stage where I am going to have to quit visiting this site.

Is there nothing that can be done to keep this as reasonable as possible? I do hope so...

M.
not hereDougSloan
May 8, 2002 6:19 AM
I'm not getting them. Are you sure it's this site?

You might try disabling Java.

Doug
It certainly ismuncher
May 8, 2002 6:36 AM
And what's more, it's ONLY this site. I am getting them about every 15 seconds.

Doesn't make any difference, more's the pity....
huhDougSloan
May 8, 2002 6:40 AM
Still none here.

You know how to disable Java? (not that you should need to, I agree, but it's a practical solution)

Doug
pop ups or pop unders?TJeanloz
May 8, 2002 6:19 AM
I've seen a lot of complaints about pop ups, but somehow, they aren't happening to me. I'll consider myself gifted, but there must be something I'm doing right to avoid them.
I've been getting them today too. (nm)Becky
May 8, 2002 6:21 AM
I've been getting them today too. (nm)Ken
May 8, 2002 6:49 AM
Use Opera. I do.

Ken
muncher, this is not our popup.gregg
May 8, 2002 6:54 AM
I am pretty darn sure that the casino ones you are talking about are not ours.

We do have popups, but they are NOT set to come up every few seconds, and definitely NOT multiple copies.

I will double check with our programmer guy and ad guy, but I still am pretty sure it's not ours. Don't know how web savvy you are, maybe you could toss your cookies. Uh...I mean, maybe you can check your cookie.txt file (in notepad) and perhaps find the answer there?

-gregg
to clarify...gregg
May 8, 2002 7:07 AM
...we do not have a pop-up, it is a pop-under.

Our pop-under does not open another one when you close one.

We have run casino banner ads (not pop-unders) on our site before, but we are not running a casino ad in our pop-unders currently.

Please feel free to email me.

-gregg

gkato@roadbikereview.com
Ummmmuncher
May 8, 2002 7:18 AM
Not that savvy apparently - I can't find that file anywhere. I may be speaking fluent bull here, but I have all cookie options turned off.

In laymans terms, this is the only site I get these pop-ups on, and they start coming straight in as soon as I log into the site, and they stop as soon as I leave. So I reason...

For the others - I am grateful for the tips on download/file fiddling etc, but I am on a work system here, and we have a very strict policy - fooling with any of that and downloading anything is a dismissal offence (there were probs in the past) so none of that is an option..

I downloaded some freeware on my home system per the original thread on this a couple of weeks ago, and that has sorted it there, although I had to turn the pop-up notification noise off as they were coming in thick and fast.

Mebbe there is some squatting going on here too? I am ONLY getting the gambling pops.

Thanks.

M.
re: More on *$%&ing pop-upsSFgeek
May 8, 2002 7:05 AM
analogX - download from CNET. It wipes out popups.

Or, if you have NT or 2000, you can edit your 'hosts' file. Search for it, open in notepad, copy the last line, replace 'localhost' with the URL of any annoying popups. (Right click on popup, selct properties. Copy the URL to the file.) your machine will then look for the ads locally, not find them and either display a blank browser or none at all. do this for each ad.

WARNING - don't edit or add or change anything else; don't move the file. You are on your own. Save a copy of the original file as another name, else where on your machine as a back up.
re: More on *$%&ing pop-upsSFgeek
May 8, 2002 7:13 AM
Oh, and get off the Internet and go cycle!! Hey, me too, I need to get out of here.
muncher, questions for you.....gregg
May 8, 2002 7:12 AM
....what browswer are you using? What version?

What OS are you using?

How many popups in how many minutes? You say "every few seconds", so does that mean like 1 popup every 10 seconds? Or 1 per minute?

I am still not sure why you are getting the multiple popunder problem, but the more information you can give me, the easier it will be to try and track it down.

Thanks,

-gregg
Answersmuncher
May 8, 2002 7:21 AM
I am on Explorer 5.5 - MS Office.

Roughly 1 per 15 seconds.

Hope that helps.

Thanks,

G.
Ahh....I think I may have something....gregg
May 8, 2002 7:24 AM
....try turning "on" your cookies and see if that makes a difference.

It is weird that you are getting "only" the casino one. We have about 8 in rotation.

I will still double check to see if maybe there isn't something peculiar going on with that casino ad.

-gregg
Actually I lied.....muncher
May 8, 2002 7:30 AM
I have the "per session" ones one. That make a difference?
Possibly....gregg
May 8, 2002 9:09 AM
...try setting the two cookie options to "enabled" and see if that makes any difference.
World of the bizzarre....muncher
May 8, 2002 9:12 AM
I am now getting no pop-ups AT ALL - not even the "normal" ones - I just enabled cookies and they stopped dead.

What gives?
Yup......muncher
May 8, 2002 9:15 AM
Switched cookies off again, and the pop-ups flood in again....
Not sure what the exact answer is....gregg
May 8, 2002 9:48 AM
...but I thought that might be it. If I had to guess, I would say that if cookies are enabled, then the ad is allowed to put a mark saying "this ad has been served up already". If cookies are "disabled", then the ad cannot tell whether or not the ad has been served, and will keep serving up the ad over and over. Just an educated guess.

-gregg
I'm getting the same #$%^ thing10th Street
May 8, 2002 6:40 PM
Every 15 seconds another pop u appears for casino on net. It is from this site. Its is absolutely the most annoying net experience I've had yet and will not be able to use this discussion group any longer if it continues. Please, to whomever has control over such things, change this - it will kill the discussions!!!!