RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


ultrasensor v. microsensor(11 posts)

ultrasensor v. microsensorclimbo
May 7, 2002 6:53 AM
I have 2 pairs of 3 year old (well worn, needing replacement soon) Ultrasensors and they are great. The chamois is now different on them (PRT now v. the old b-ball chamois) but I like the shorts a lot. Is the microsensor short that much better that it is worth the extra $30?

Either those or I notice the Sugoi shorts are a little cheaper. I have a pair of their technifine bibs and they are very nice.

Anyone opinions?
re: ultrasensor v. microsensorsteve1244
May 7, 2002 8:01 AM
I have a pair each of the 2001 microsensor and ultrasensor. Other than cosmetic differences, I can't tell the difference between them. If I had to do it over, I'd go with the ultrasensor and save the 30 sheckels. You also might want to check out bikejerseys.com. Their shorts/bibs are substantially more inexpensive than PI and the quality is right there.
re: ultrasensor v. microsensorclimbo
May 7, 2002 8:41 AM
thanks, I prefer just plain black shorts and I know that the PI's fit me right so I might stick with the Ultrasensors.
re: ultrasensor v. microsensort-bill
May 7, 2002 8:47 AM
I (and many others here)have had really good luck with the Voler shorts available @ www.velowear.com. They're only $40-$45, and very comfortable.
i have those too but for me they don't cut itclimbo
May 7, 2002 9:37 AM
on longer rides and they wear quicker. I want some really nice shorts for big, long rides, like 5+ hours.
Second thatCRM
May 7, 2002 9:41 AM
Highly recommend Voler over PI. I have three pairs of Ultrasensors but I'll never buy another pair. Voler bibs, in particular, are the best short I own. Better in my humble opinion than my Castelli Progetto Y's which cost $150!!!
no bibs, just shorts, Voler are OK. nmclimbo
May 7, 2002 10:37 AM
nm
re: ultrasensor v. microsensorDCP
May 7, 2002 10:53 AM
I can't answer your question about the differences, but if you decide on the Ultrasensors, this place has them for $65 shipped. Apparently last season's model.
http://store.yahoo.com/sportsbasement/pearl0102.html
I have purchased from this store a couple of times without difficulty.
re: ultrasensor v. microsensorThaddeus
May 7, 2002 12:52 PM
I have a pair of microsensor knickers and the pad is terrible. Very uncomfortable on long rides/the day after, and even some chafing after a particularly wet ride. I hear from a friend at Pearl that there are changes to the micro pad for next season, as they have been getting complaints.

perhaps try Exte Ondo (excellent) or Assos (quite possibly the best, but pricey)

Butt hey, its your a$$.
re: ultrasensor v. microsensornewhouse
May 7, 2002 12:53 PM
i don't have any experience with those PI shorts but on ebay yesterday i saw microsensor shorts for $63.99 with buy it now.
re: ultrasensor v. microsensorrider5673
May 7, 2002 5:42 PM
I've got a pair of microsensor I got on sale for $45. Wore them about 5 times and they are completely flat. No pad, no cushioning. Good for about 40 miles, maybe 50 tops. Bottom line- I'll stick with PI for jerseys and jackets, but no more shorts. Did I buy seconds??