RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


3 state / 3 mountain review(13 posts)

3 state / 3 mountain reviewJS Haiku Shop
May 7, 2002 5:36 AM
friday: drove to the top of lookout mountain and rode down the dreaded burkhalter gap road, reaching 50+ mph (averaged ~44 mph down). rode back up at around 5 mph average. it's a bear. learned the lay of the road for that climb; pulled a "lance" and did the ride recon before the ride. :o) attempted to descend off lookout into chattanooga in driving rain, thunder & lightning, was stopped by a policeman blocking the road for flooding and/or a wreck. discovered my brakes don't work very well going down a mountain in rain.

friday evening: consumed mass quantities with 12x23. later, consumed mass quantites with 12x23. there may be no beer left in chattanooga.

saturday: 50ish degrees and overcast, misty to p*ssing rain, several hundred (?) started from the cricket pavilion in downtown chattanooga. i was glad to have packed arm warmers, vest, jacket, etc.

12x23 started up front and wasn't seen again...beer drinker with a speed cycling problem, i think. suck creek mountain started soon, and wasn't as long or steep as i'd remembered. met look271 at the first sag atop the mountain. took off my glasses to shake the mist off 'em, they snapped in half. rode rest of ride sans eyewear. d'oh. in the valley roads between climb 1 and 2, some of the route was closed due to flooding. some was added elsewhere. climb 2 (sand mountain) was longer and steeper than i remembered. i got caught here by those we passed on the flats. my knee also kicked in and started complaining loudly.

burkhalter gap (lookout mountain climb) snuck up at just over 70 miles (was scheduled and on the cue for 80). another d'oh!...stopped at the bottom to water the flowers, have a gel, and empty frame bottles (2x24oz=>2.5 pounds!). engaged triple up front and 27 on the business end and went at it, head down. no walking this year.

each of the climbs started mild, warmed up (exertion), and were 5-10 degrees cooler and fog-covered at the top. atop sand and lookout mountains, rainy and windswept. some of the frontrunners (and those in the back, too) were stopped at the top of lookout due to very low visibility, and made to ride down in trucks. i was lucky to make it to the descent, where visibility might have been 30 yards. crossed the finish at ~91 miles and 7:39 total time, then rode another 10 in the streets of chattanooga for good measure.

all in all, a miserable day that i'd do again tomorrow if i could. it was nice to get out of the shadow of burkhalter gap. t'was my first century ever (this time last year), and i'd walked up lookout mountain. funny, this: i pulled the braces off my leg and the knee felt like brand new. just the week before, i'd done a moderate 30 with just a little climbing and been limping for 7 days. strange. maybe i just had a few kinks to work out of it.

never did see mike p...maybe next time.
We need a good beer named for cyclistsSlipstream
May 7, 2002 5:50 AM
How about Haiku?
Or, 12x23
Or, to give it a German flavor, Burkhalter
Or, how about Bonk Beer
Or, for the fog: Mister Pisster

thanks for the post! (what, no haiku?)

I hear the lightning on Lookout mountain can be really bad.
bike beersDougSloan
May 7, 2002 5:56 AM
*Sustained Buzz

*No-flat Beer

*Cannon-ale

*Bike Bud

FYI: http://www.usbeerdrinkingteam.com/
re: 3 state / 3 mountain reviewDougSloan
May 7, 2002 5:51 AM
I like that part of Tennesee. Gorgeous countryside. Beats the heck out of Memphis (half of my family is from Rutherford, near Memphis).

Cool ride, even in the rain. How did you like the hills?

No haiku?

Doug
re: Nice reportJL
May 7, 2002 5:54 AM
I remember reading about your first time, last year. Too bad about the knee, hopefully you worked it out. I had a similar issue last year. Stretched, stretched and then stretched and it eventually worked itself out. Oh, and I adjusted my seat.
It's even more impressive when you can drink all that beer the night before and still get up to do the 100. I used to be able to drink like a fish, but now if I tried I would have still been in bed. I guess that's what 2 kids has done to me :)

Good luck with the rest of the year, and Congrats again.

JL
things i learnedJS Haiku Shop
May 7, 2002 6:28 AM
* "hills" are relative

* when the climb eases up a bit, it's not a cue to go harder

* drink, drink, drink. my fueling strategy has gone from 1 clif bar per hour to 1-2 bottles of strong gatorade per hour plus some banana and a cookie at SAGs, with clif bars interspersed through the ride

* you don't really need to carry all that crap

* it's hard to develop both speed on flats and speed on climbs in training

* you can't really train for mountains without mountains to train upon. sure, headwinds and high gears help, but...descending is a skill in and of itself. descending wet roads is another.

* being neurotic when packing can be good. everything i needed, and then some, for all weather conditions. the forecast for saturday was 70 and sunny. it was 45-60 and overcast, wet, and blustery. and foggy.

* first time breaking 50 mph. it's no big deal. unless you want to change direction. :-)

* when in doubt: carry spare socks, gloves, and cap. and shoe covers. i didn't. i should have. 40 miles of shoes full of rain=good. 100 miles of shoes full of rain=miserable.

* those guys on mountain bikes with slick tires knew more than they were letting on. i would've enjoyed a 32 in back.

* gears are my friends.

* training for a century is important, but unnecessary. sure, this is relative, too. anybody can ride a century. most folks could ride this one, some with a bit of walking. i'd done a couple of 125-ers last year, with fair times, but mostly flat. i did this ride with 3-4 weeks off and in physical therapy, and--though around 1300 miles for the year--very low miles the weeks prior (like <100 miles per week). i was sore sunday and monday, but i'm on fresh legs today. training and building/tapering would have been the keys toward riding this one and the cheaha century the next day, finishing well, and coming home without soreness.

* the sella san marco regal fits my butt and is comfortable at 100 miles.
...and haiku...JS Haiku Shop
May 7, 2002 6:40 AM
up mountain in car
down mountain on bike, way fast
back up, on bike, slow

friday was recon
friday night was toxic, late
saturday rain ride

climb into the mist
ride across the windy top
descend on slick roads

mountains: one, two, three
first one easy, second steep
third one was a bear

magical healing
chattanooga's best secret
j-ku knee like new

well, almost like new
little sore yesterday ride
still wearing supports

but, full century
and walking without a limp...
I love NSAIDS!

last year, carry all
this year, i carried much less
next ride, essentials

no need kitchen sink
barely fits in camelbak
get water from sky

still think fall double
september 200 miles
b-ham, anyone?
re: 3 state / 3 mountain reviewlook271
May 7, 2002 9:46 AM
Gotta disagree on the training part. Sure, you could finish it without alot of training, but it would be miserable. Saw you for a brief time at sag stop 2, but after that I was off. Finished with 6:33 on their clock-5:43 on my ride comuter. Next year I'm going for sub 6 hr.........Could've done it this time, but I was in "no-man's land", I think. Slower than the really fast guys but faster than alot of others. Oh well, still a great ride. Next yrear maybe we can even see from the top! (I can't wait to do those descents when I can SEE! :0
What with that knee and all....MB1
May 7, 2002 3:48 PM
You must be a total nutcase to ride that kind of route in that kind of weather with that kind of training and your knee problem.

Congratulations, you fit right in with all us nut cases here.

SS next year!
There was this guy....look271
May 7, 2002 4:16 PM
who I saw at the 1st sag stop (on top of a 6-7 mile climb) on a FIXTE. That was totally, freaking, nuts! Didn't see him the rest of the ride......
I saw him at the start! Colorful paint on that bike.Mike P
May 7, 2002 4:51 PM
And how many teeth was he running? I couldn't tell. He wins the 3S3M Mr. Sadistic 2002 award.

Another thing about the start. . . There were about a billion people riding litespeeds, including the Mayor. So there were folks cracking some jokes about the town were everyone rides the same bike the Mayor does. It was funny. I live in Chattanooga but don't ride a litespeed so I can laugh.

Mike
Yabbut, they were small pitchers. :-) (nm)12x23
May 7, 2002 5:01 PM
operative: "were" nmJS Haiku Shop
May 8, 2002 5:12 AM