RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Comfort question on the Flite SLR saddle please(10 posts)

Comfort question on the Flite SLR saddle pleaseeschelon
May 2, 2002 5:32 AM
I realize saddle comfort is a personal issue...however, I am convinced if your a55 feels good riding Selle Italia Flite saddles, as do mine, than it is fair to say that your a55 and my a55 are similar in what we would consider to be comfortable.

So if you are inclined to say that Selle Italia Flite saddles are comfortable and you have used the Flite SLR saddle and you find this saddle to be just as comfortable with the added bonus of this saddle being extremly light, than please submit your opinion on this saddle.

Also, I am the racer type who trains on his bike anywhere between 40-70 miles a day...so a comfortable saddle for extended duration on the bike is of most importance.
re: Comfort question on the Flite SLR saddle pleaseDT
May 2, 2002 5:41 AM
I, too, ride Selle saddles. Started with a Flite Ti, then Flite Genuine Gel, and now a SLR. I weigh 155#, and I was surprised at how comfortable the SLR is! I rode 73 miles last weekend, and was fine on it. I usually ride 30-40 milers, with the occasional 70 or so thrown in. Hope this helps!
re: Comfort question on the Flite SLR saddle pleaseAbol98
May 2, 2002 5:49 AM
I've been riding this saddle since last September, so here's the opinion of a 145 lb rider with narrow sit bones and a really boney derrier.

When the going is good, the saddle's great. On smooth roads and in conditions were you don't have to shift around much, the saddle is wonderful. It's so nice to stand up in the climbs and in my 'sprints' and not feel this big weight on the end of your seatpost when you rock the bike slightly. I actually used it on the trainer this winter too. I will probably get another one this year to match my new ride.

HOWEVER, if you're ever in the situation where you're on less-than-perfect roads... lots of chipseal, weather cracks, etc... you butt will definately know it. The padding is fine for normal road buzz, but anything more and you're going to feel that carbon shell for sure. Also, I use a Camelbak, and found that when I had a full pack, I was a little ansy on the saddle, and couldn't get just right.

I'm going to purchase a Selle Flite Gelflow or Flite Trans Am, and just alternate based on the riding I'll be doing for the upcoming stretch. It'll be annoying 'cause I have an Alien post and the thing's a bi+ch to set up, but oh well... less time in front of the telly.
Suggestion.Len J
May 2, 2002 10:51 AM
If your going to be changing seats, buy an extra seatpost, set it up perfectly with the other seat, mark the height where it enters the seatpost with a small piece of tape, and......easy to change from one seat to another.

You can probably get a backup seatpost used in the classifieds cheap.

Len
have done 70+ mile rides on it this year so farColnagoFE
May 2, 2002 6:34 AM
Have previously ridden standard Flites and Flite Gel before the SLR. I have to say the SLR is not quite as comfortable as the Flite Gel but only by a little bit--hardly enough to notice though I've only been riding it since January. It's at least as confortable as the Flite and lighter. I've wouldn't hesitate to do centuries on it, but I think for long distance riding there might be better choices. This is a weight weenie saddle for sure--though much more confortable than it looks. Another slight minus is that it doesn't feel quite as long as the Flites--not as good for control with no hands or laying on in a full tuck.
have done 70+ mile rides on it this year so farbikenraider99
May 2, 2002 7:18 AM
I've ridden other Selle Itallia saddles and use the SLR on my "mule". Although it doesn't have padding, a good pair of bibs or shorts cures that. Like mentioned earlier, imperfect roads will not be absorbed through the saddle. I've done centuries on it with no complaints thus far. I actually prefer it over a gel saddle because I have no butt, and for some reason the gel equiped saddles felt too big and bulky. I'm at 170lbs by the way.....
Yeah same experience here though I weigh 195 (nm)ColnagoFE
May 2, 2002 7:41 AM
It is plenty comfy for me but....mixinbeatz
May 2, 2002 8:20 AM
I am a little worried about the durability of the saddle. I have put about 1500 miles on my race bike so far this year and there is already pretty significant wear on the sides of the saddle near the nose. I crashed on Saturday and the saddle is toast, but it looks like the wear on the sides may have started causing problems soon as well.
Just my 2 bits.
Don't worry about durability...biknben
May 2, 2002 9:34 AM
I have 4k on an SLR which is on my road bike. I bought another for the MTB that has about 500 miles on. Other than a couple scuffs/small tears on the pad, it is fine.

As for comfort: I rode a flight years ago and hated it. Admittedly, that was before I learned a few tips on saddle fit. I find the SLR to be comfy up to about 60 miles. Then I have to move my bum around often to keep the discomfort to a minimum.
re: Comfort question on the Flite SLR saddle pleaseR-I-D-E
May 2, 2002 11:28 PM
I just put a bike together and just couldn't pull the trigger on the SLR. I ended up going with the Flite TT. Still very light (mine was 163 grams vs. a claimed 165), and downright comfy.

In the 2 weeks since I got my bike I have logged over 300 miles on my TT and I could not be happier.

RIDE