RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone else getting pop-ups here?(26 posts)

Anyone else getting pop-ups here?DougSloan
May 2, 2002 5:32 AM
Just checking - is anyone else getting pop-up ads when first accessing the site? THEY ARE THE SCOURGE OF THE INTERNET!!!

Please tell me it's only my computer. Please, Gregg.

Thanks.

Doug
I started getting them yesterday. Everytime I log in to RBRDave Hickey
May 2, 2002 5:41 AM
YIKES! I haven't gotten any yet!Kristin
May 2, 2002 5:46 AM
And I hope I don't get any. I'd rather have RBR sell my email address than drive me insane with popups.
Yes, First time was yesterday as well. (nm)Scot_Gore
May 2, 2002 5:52 AM
Yo tambien.jtolleson
May 2, 2002 9:47 AM
Gregg, care to comment??????????? (nm)Dave Hickey
May 2, 2002 5:53 AM
got some yesterday but none today (nm)grandemamou
May 2, 2002 5:56 AM
Nope, using mozillaDuane Gran
May 2, 2002 6:00 AM
I've been using Mozilla (www.mozilla.org) as my browser for over six months and it has a feature (preferences -> advanced -> scripts and windows) to disable pop up windows. This still retains JavaScript functionality in other places where it is appropriate.

As for the issue of pop up advertising, I would encourage the site operators to reconsider. This is a slippery slope. Market data I've read suggests that they work best on new Internet users (because of their naivity) and they uniformly offend and drive away experienced Internet users. From my casual observation on this site the readership is sophisticated and experienced.

This site has value and I would be willing to contribute financially to it, as I have for others.
re: Anyone else getting pop-ups here?bic
May 2, 2002 6:03 AM
Yes, I've was getting them every few minutes everytime I logged on here. Soon started getting them lots of places I visit. Was driving me crazy till I got a pop-up blocker. It took me two tries to find one that worked well. I don't get them anymore.
where do I acquire a pop-up blocker? (NM)Becky
May 2, 2002 6:07 AM
where do I acquire a pop-up blocker? (NM)Brit Racer
May 2, 2002 6:23 AM
Try www.panicware.com

Their free version does a top job.
None on my PC (nm)Icefrk13
May 2, 2002 6:30 AM
Not yet.........nmMike Prince
May 2, 2002 6:30 AM
Speaking of... Why do retailers advertise with pop-ups? (POLL)Kristin
May 2, 2002 6:36 AM
Have you ever opened a link inside a pop-up? If so, did you buy a product as a result? I only ever close pop-up windows. The more annoying the pop-up, I'm more likely I am to avoid a certain website or retailer all together. Do pop-ups ever generate business???
Speaking of... Why do retailers advertise with pop-ups? (POLL)Icefrk13
May 2, 2002 7:36 AM
I spend a lot of time on the web (at work do to my job) and I hate them. And I have never have opened them.
yeah they are annoying--also a software reccomendationColnagoFE
May 2, 2002 6:39 AM
i got a program from lavasoft.com called ad-aware that cleans "spyware" and such off your computer. you'd think it'd be illegal to install software on your computer without asking, but i guess it isn't. i run this every week or so and it usually catches something.
just updates ad-aware and it detected "e-ware"ColnagoFE
May 2, 2002 6:46 AM
so RBR seems to be installing something called e-ware on my computer. Not cool. Guess I'll have to run ad-aware more often.
correct URLStmbtDave
May 2, 2002 9:07 AM
the correct URL for ad-aware is "www.lavasoftusa.com" but you will probably be redirected to a mirror site. I installed ad-aware and it found 152 components! this could be why my browser was running so slow and why I was being overwhelmed with spam
sorry about the URL (nm)ColnagoFE
May 2, 2002 9:31 AM
Yup - since yesterday - it's not your computermuncher
May 2, 2002 8:55 AM
Why do marketing idiots do this? If there is one sure-fire way to guarantee that I won't buy a product, it's seeing it on spam.
Yep, started getting them yesterday, too (nm).dsc
May 2, 2002 9:51 AM
Pop-ups? yes. One word...gregg
May 2, 2002 1:34 PM
...money.

Now, before y'all get riled up, let me just state that I HATE popups worse than anybody. Popups, popunders, whatever, I hate 'em. Can't stand 'em.

But the plain truth is that RoadbikeREVIEW (and ConsumerREVIEW) needs money. We are a struggling internet company, and the money from the pop-up ads makes us struggle a little less.

If you think that the popups are annoying, check out the EyeCatcher multimedia ad on PhotographyREVIEW.

I know it sucks. What can I say, I have zero input on this decision. Thanks for bearing with us through these tough times.

-gregg
Gregg, thanks for your candor.jtolleson
May 2, 2002 2:30 PM
Funny how hard it is to get riled up when someone is as honest and straightforward as that!
me tooDougSloan
May 2, 2002 3:02 PM
Now I feel bad.

At least they don't pop up every single page access.

Thanks for the response.

Doug
You're welcome. And remember...gregg
May 2, 2002 3:34 PM
...everytime you shop or buy through our banners or Hot Deals section, you are helping out the site.
Gregg, a question pleaseDave Hickey
May 2, 2002 4:29 PM
I buy through Supergo and Performance all the time. If I start at Hot Deals and don't buy the hot deal but then click to another part of Supergo, does RBR still make money?
If it's as simple as starting my purchase from RBR, I can support a lot.