RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


somebody tell me about this c'dale/caad5 frame...(10 posts)

somebody tell me about this c'dale/caad5 frame...JS Haiku Shop
May 1, 2002 11:01 AM
beyond the obvious. i've looked into the write-up on caad5 from the cannondale site. they claim 3.8 pounds for frame & fork. i'm wondering about the road dampening (if any), frame life, ride quality, blah, blah, blah, blah.

TIA.
A killer production race bike.Gregory Taylor
May 1, 2002 11:07 AM
Here's a review from a guy that races one...

http://www.cyclingnews.com/tech/2002/features/probikes/7up.shtml

You may also want to check with your local Cannondale dealer -- you can get a great deal on a CAAD5 via 'dale's frame trade-in program. If you turn in a frame (cheap, nasty, anything...) to the dealer, they will give you a big fat discount on a new CAAD5 frame and fork.

If you go with Gary Hobbs, you may want to ask if he is a recognized Cannondale dealer. Cannondale has issues with recognizing warranties on bikes bought from non-authorized dealers. I don't know whether this extends to framesets.

I seriously considered buying a CAAD5...opted for a semi-custom instead.
Not the C'Dale of old (with Haiku)...biknben
May 1, 2002 12:07 PM
I own a CADD 5. I find it to be a comfortable ride. You feel the road for sure but not harsh.

I would say it's a Crit racers dream. Very agile handling (almost twitchy) and stiff in the BB. Diving into corners and sprinting out of them is par for the course.

OTOH, if you're looking to do regular centuries ad all day rides, you may want something else.

I regularly do 40-75 mile rides and have no complaints about the comfort of Al.

My frame (only) weighed in at 2.8 lbs (56cm). I got it as part of the trade in program last year. I think frame, fork, and HS cost me $900.

Only word of caution is the Star-nut in the steerer tube. C'dale is installing them at the factory. Most people cringe when you say "Star nut in carbon steerer". My HS has to be tightened from time to time (every couple of months) but I can't attribute that directly to the star nut.

Haiku Tribute:

I own a C'Dale
I don't think they ride harshly
try one for yourself

Watch out for star nut
Some say cracked steerer to come
Major dental work

How you pump out Haiku the way you do is awesome. Took me ten minutes to do 2.
Mario kicked some serious A on this frame.Sintesi
May 1, 2002 12:08 PM
I remember Pete Pensyrees remarking about this frame (or was it the CAAD4?) how Cannondale had finally figured out how to get a smooth ride out of stiff aluminum. The wishbone stays are supposed to do wonders for the tushy.

It's a pro level frame for $600. What more do you want?
re: It's Shiny! (NM)mikebikr
May 1, 2002 12:13 PM
Love that C'dale w/caad5 frame...jagiger
May 1, 2002 5:19 PM
It's a great ride, fast, quick & responsive. I've got Ksyrium wheels which go nicely with it. I've only had it one year, & no problems at all.

I don't find the ride to be harsh at all. I rode my 1st century on it last year with not problems at all. I weight about 172lbs, down from 185lbs at the beginning of last year. I have a fairly solid build, so I absorb thing pretty well too. My point is that a lighter rider may respond differently, in which case you should probably test ride before you buy.
re: somebody tell me about this c'dale/caad5 frame...Jekyll
May 1, 2002 6:05 PM
CAAD4/5/6 all pretty much the same frame. The 4 has a conventional HS, the 5 an integrated one and the 6 adds the Cannondale integrated BB and SI crank. The ride is identical for all 3 and the weight is within a few ounces. The new CAAD 7 is a different alloy.
Having owned a number of Cannondale road frames over the years I will have to agree with the other posters in that with the CAAD4+ Cannondale finally made a frame that is reasonably comfortable, exceptionally solid and rather light weight. Whether its the new seat stay and chain stay design, I don't know. But the new frames ride FAR better than the CAAD3 and earlier variants.
The Canny will be quick handling and stiff through the BB. The vertical compliance of the frame is surprising, especially in light of the stereotypical option regarding Cannondale/Al comfort. There are bikes that feel smoother and bikes that are more comfortable. All of them cost a hell of a lot more, mostly weigh more and many do not give you that shot out of a cannon feeling you get with the C-Dale when you step on the gas.
The fork is made by Time and works well with the frame. The front end is quick but not overly stiff.
The warranty is great and there are tons of dealers to help if need be. I figure if it was good enough for Cipo its probably OK for most of us.
For the kind of money you'll spend on this frame, it hard to do much better. Either way, I would do my best to ride one before buying. RBR biases are only so good, including mine.
I had a CAAD4elviento
May 1, 2002 6:42 PM
And I liked the ride. The only downside, which may not matter to you, is there are lots of them on the road, and also when Cannondale comes out with CAAD9 next year, your CAAD5 will be built with Sora and called a R500.
re: somebody tell me about this c'dale/caad5 frame...JohnG
May 1, 2002 7:36 PM
Dale 5 are very stiff frames. I had one for about 1K miles and shucked it off the back.

JohnG
re: somebody tell me about this c'dale/caad5 frame...Morgan
May 2, 2002 10:06 AM
I have a 2001 2000SI CAAD 5. I really like the bike and have done my share of centuries on it. Nice ride not overly stiff and it handles very well. Hard to find a better frame in this price catagory.