RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Pegoretti: Steel heaven or corporate hype?(9 posts)

Pegoretti: Steel heaven or corporate hype?Gator
May 1, 2002 10:41 AM
This builder seems to be getting a good bit of press of late. The spin seems to be that these guys are "Italy's best-kept secret," build frames for lot of pros, rebadged, amazing quality, yadayada. But it just so happens that they fall under Gitabikes,which has Merckx, Giordana, etc, and probably does a fair bit of advertising with said press.

So, like, what's the deal here?
re: Pegoretti: Steel heaven or corporate hype?CT1 Guy
May 1, 2002 11:12 AM
I have seen Pegorettis - but never ridden one and was certainly impressed by the quality of the build and some relatively unique features. The finish is quite different to your typical Italian stallion - more understated, but in my mind the logo graphics are an acquired taste. Procycling ran a review a couple of years ago and ex-pro Robert Millar raves about them - they build a lot of bikes for other 'names'and pro teams.
Pegoretti is the real deal.Sintesi
May 1, 2002 11:54 AM
They're about the only steel bikes, that I know of, that make it into the upper levels of the Pro peloton these days. Jan rides a rebadged Pegoretti from time to time and no one is paying him to do that.
But is the Peg YOU can buy the same Peg THEY can buy?Gator
May 1, 2002 12:10 PM
In other words, is this kick-ass steel frame Jan rides available to you, or does someone handbuild a dozen of the "special" frames and sell us mere mortals a factory-produced psuedo-Cannondale with some pretty stickers? 'Cause I gotta tell you, they're NOT that expensive.
But is the Peg YOU can buy the same Peg THEY can buy?Sintesi
May 1, 2002 12:23 PM
They're a small family company and they got a name on par with Fondriest or Serotta. You pay for that prestige. You can ride a custom frame from them but you're going to pay for it (like Jan does) and you're going to wait a long time for it.

Everything I've heard about their retail frames (like the GGM) are that they are top notch quality. About the cream of the crop for steel frames.
I got one.bill
May 1, 2002 12:23 PM
I have a Marcelo, Deda 16.5 boron steel. Custom built through Tiramisu Imports; no additional charge for custom (not that I really needed custom, but it was a second bike and I figured, what the hey; took forever, but it was okay).
I reviewed it for this site -- check it out. Yes, I like the bike a lot. Extremely solid. I'm still getting it dialed in entirely (had my seat up too high, on professional advice, thank you very much -- just lowered it, much better).
As for the custom build experience -- the measurements gathered were a bit, shall we say, pithy. Dario did not want nearly the information that is gathered for, for example, a Seven or a Serotta. Height, weight, arm length to knuckles, inseam, "out"seam, shoe size, badda bing badda boom.
I am no connissuer of high-end steel bikes (heck, I'm quite sure I haven't even spelled "connisseur" correctly), so you may take my words with however many grains of salt you wish. I was attracted to the bike by the mix of old and new technology -- stiffer than conventional steel (oversized tubing, beefy chainstays), lighter than conventional steel (a lot of makers apparently won't go near the 16.5 stuff), but still not too far removed from classic design and good, all-around performance. I think that I got that.
I have one being shipped to me tommorrowBrad S
May 1, 2002 2:46 PM
By Matthew at Tiramisu Imports in the UK. It is a full custom Pegoretti Great Googoolee Moogoolee, with custom paint (including painted carbon fork). The wait was around 4 months, which ain't too bad for a custom Italian bike from a small builder.

I will try to post my impressions once I build it up and ride it some. But everyone I have talked to who owns a Pegoretti (and I did my homework before ordering), simply raves about it (ie best handling bike they have ever ridden) is the common response.
Corporate hype?djg
May 2, 2002 9:14 AM
I haven't seen all that much advertising for Pegoretti bikes, and the corporate machine over there seems largely confined to the two Pegoretti brothers (I gather that Dario builds the bikes and his brother handles the business end of things). I assume that the Procycling review by Millar was independent of Pegoretti, and certainly not a piece of advertising hype, however positive. I've seen all of two Pegorettis around town, one of which is owned by Bill on this board. (OTOH, I can't go out on the bike path without seeing 3 or 4 Serottas.)

Bill's Marcelo, btw, is a very light steel bike yet absolutely solid throught the bb and rear triangle. I don't know about "best-kept secret" or anything--doesn't seem exactly like a secret to me--but I'd certainly consider one if I were looking for a new frame.
Well, alrighty then. Thanks.Gator
May 2, 2002 9:48 AM
NM