RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Okay, I need your opinion on a fork(13 posts)

Okay, I need your opinion on a forkKristin
May 1, 2002 5:46 AM
I prayed earnestly for a used, threaded CF fork. Well, I have searched high and low, and have even trolled a bit; but the cycling Gods seem indifferent and do not wish bestow this gift unto me. (Most likely because my 700 c's have traversed only 100, while my 195/70's have put behind them twenty thousand.) So, I've decided to bite the bullit, spend like an adult for once and order a new CF fork.

Delema...Stay threaded or go threadless? And why? Talk amongst yourselves.
re: Okay, I need your opinion on a forkgtx
May 1, 2002 6:27 AM
stay threaded--cheaper, easier to adjust stem height. And Colorado Cyclist is selling the Kestrel for $140.
Second the Kestrel forkpmf1
May 1, 2002 7:05 AM
Its a good fork and you'd be hard pressed to do better at $140. I've got one on a Kestrel 200 Sci and have been happy with it. A threadless will save you some weight, but cost lots more since you'll need a new headset. Threadless are also less adjustable height-wise.
re: tough callcyclopathic
May 1, 2002 6:38 AM
Pros:
- lighter
- stiffer
Cons:
- need new headset, stem and spacers
- cost

Threadless offers much stiffer interface then quill, esp noticeable out of saddle. It also saves ~1/4-1/2lbs. If $$ not critical go with treadless. However since you need new headset, stem, spacers (also expect to pay ~20$+ to replace headset) you may choose not to. It's not likely you'd replace fork again, so it is only time to decide. Look around you may find good deal on headset/stem good luck
Is this for the bike .......Len J
May 1, 2002 6:54 AM
that you had a severe drop from saddle to bars?

If so, go threaded. It's easier to obtain a higher quill stem (cheaper) that with treadless.

In addition, Threadless will require new headset, spacers, & stem.

Just curious, if you sell your bike and add in what you are willing to spend on the fork how much do you have? Would you be able to upgrade both your fit & your fork by buying used at this price? Just a thought.

Len
re: Okay, I need your opinion on a forkpaper warrior
May 1, 2002 11:16 AM
Threadless- the answer for a question that nobody asked... on the consumer side at least! Though I suppose the bike industry still looking for more "improvements"- how about 1 1/2 inch headsets?
ThreadedAndy M-S
May 1, 2002 11:29 AM
Threaded means you'll need to make the minimal number of changes to your bike (no need for a new headset) and you'll be able to keep your current stem or switch to a new one easily. Translation: LOW COST.

Also--I find that almost all threadless stems look the same. At least with threaded there's some variety!

FWIW: I have a Profile BRC with a threaded cro-mo steerer, and I like it a lot...
What are you trying to accomplish?Spoke Wrench
May 1, 2002 11:33 AM
If you are just trying to take the buzz out of the front end at the lowest possible cost, the $140.00 Kestrel looks pretty good to me.

If part of your objective is lower weight, I'd go threadless. If you know what you want your handlebar position to be, adjustability (until you cut the steer tube)is a non-issue. Threadless headsets are easier to adjust and tend to stay in adjustment better.
Yes to question #1Kristin
May 1, 2002 12:49 PM
Normally, I would grab the Kestral in a heartbeat; but my LBS has already helped me with the overall decision and has taken apart my steerer once (though I'm not sure that was necessary). They had a Kreithler (sp?) CF fork sitting around that they were gonna sell me for a song. However, it didn't quite fit--isn't there a way to tell this before taking the bike apart? (I think he just eyeballed it...but that's okay). I told him that I'd look locally for another homeless fork--on account of my being broke... But I don't want to slight them by going mail order.
Then again...Kristin
May 1, 2002 1:00 PM
Can bike shops order from CC or would that be a faux pas? They can order a better, cheaper fork for me than the $175 Kreithler, take a good markup and I can still save. Hmmmm...Watson I think your onto something. Will they beat me with a seat post if I present this option?
Then again...Ironbutt
May 1, 2002 2:17 PM
Kristin-My local bike shop can and does order from the major mail order houses, and quite possibly yours would too. They can't touch the prices that the mail order houses can get components for, since the LBS buys one or two at a time and the mail order folks buy thousands. If you have a good working relationship with your bike shop, they should be willing to work with you.

To answer your original question, I would suggest that you go with a threaded steerer. Most bikes have top tubes that are sized for the longer male torso and arms, and it's a lot easier to get a shorter reach, higher bar position to fit a woman better with a traditional threaded steerer and quill stem. If you race at a high level, perhaps the weight savings of threadless are worthwhile. But even for a serious recreational/sport rider, the weight vs. fit criteria give great value to fit. I don't think that anyone can go fast if they aren't comfortable. My two cents worth, for whatever it's worth.
if road buzz is the only reasoncyclopathic
May 1, 2002 11:32 PM
there's a very cheap fix: most LBS have foam grips for 5$ put them under the tape. The set comes with 4 pieces 2 for drops and 2 btw shifters, don't put anything on drops it effects reach problem for small hands.

You can also put 2 layers of handlebar tape, and look for better gloves. Also seat adjustment if nose is too low it puts extra strain on your hands good luck
What diameter headtube?dsc
May 1, 2002 12:36 PM
Something to consider: you mentioned searching for a threaded CF fork, which I guess means that you are fine with an alloy/steel steerer.

If you were thinking of possibly shaving some weight off of your bike by going with a fork with a CF steerer AND you have a 1" headtube, your spacer height will be limited to 25mm. Of course this may work out fine for your setup, but just a thought.

When I bought my bike used last year, it was outfitted w/ an Ouzo Pro (1", full CF). I had to flip the stem to get the right saddle to bar drop for me (no biggie). If I ever find that I need to replace the fork on this bike, although the Reynolds is a great fork, I would be most inclined to get a Kestrel, threadless (since I've already got the stem & headset) - maybe even the titanium steerer version $$$!!

Seriously, though, those forks set the standard for all CF forks, I've got a pair of their CF handlebars that are bombproof, and their customer service is unmatched in the business. My .02.

-Debi