RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ride Pirates(12 posts)

Ride Piratespmf1
May 1, 2002 4:54 AM
Seems like opinions differ quite a bit. Is it an immoral thing to do, or just a reasonable reaction to rides that we think are too high priced? Should we tolerate this behavior or sentence them to a cross country ride with RadicalRon on a Huffy with low tire pressure?

I've been tempted to do this -- especially when you get to a rest stop and see a loaf of Wonder bread and jar of peanut butter as the "food". I've never done it though. Always figured if the ride really sucked, I wouldn't come back and do it the following year.

For those who do this -- do you feel remorse? If you found someone's wallet with $100 in it would you keep the money? I'd like to hear from those who organize these things as well. I get the feeling there is a ton of things to do that most people don't realize.
re:Never tried it butdzrider
May 1, 2002 6:55 AM
I have run the Boston Marathon as a bandit. They don't discourage it and actually let you on the bus back to the start with or without a number. All of that and thousands of fellow bandits made me feel ok about doing it.

Most of the rides I have done have benefitted charities and been run by people I know. I'd rather not cheat charities or friends so I choose not to ride as a bandit. When I was younger I took pride in being a scofflaw. I tried to get away with as much as I could. Back then I would have thought this laughably sanctimonious, but a contribution of $25.00 or $30.00 seems a small price to pay for the feeling of doing the right thing.
Most people are happy to pay; some can't, won't orAllisonHayes
May 1, 2002 7:17 AM
simply don't give a damn!

For those who can't because they are a student or don't have the discretionary funds, it would be helpful to have a category that allows them to ride for any amount they would care to donate. Later in life they will remember and will be in a position to give back more than what they received.

For those who won't because they feel it interferes with their constitutional rights, or, because they are simply irascible or grouchy--I say let 'em ride anyway. Who cares. They will never change.
It was Dorothy Parker, who, when asked to use the word "horticulture" in a a sentence during a contest in her high school, said, after a brief reflection, "You can lead a horticulture but you can't make her think!"

The worse kind are those who simply don't give a damn! These are the self-serving idiots who only think of themselves. AND THERE ARE SOME ON THIS BOARD. I say you pour cayenne pepper in their shorts and tell them to enjoy their day.
Two pointsSpoke Wrench
May 1, 2002 9:12 AM
First. I don't think its about the cookies or even about charity. I think that the reason most people participate in large group rides is because they feel that its more fun to bicycle in a large event. In other words, they are receiving a subjective benefit. I, for one, am willing to pay my own way for the benefits that I receive. If I think that the price is too high, I don't go. I think that's the ethical thing to do.

Second. What to do about the people who don't pay? I say ignore them. I put them in the same class with the jerks in autos who pass you more closely than is necessary. Anything you do, curse at them or flip them off, only rewards them because it shows they have irritated you.
Think of it like paying a "cover charge" at a bar....Gregory Taylor
May 1, 2002 9:24 AM
...you are basically paying for the opportunity to mix and meet with people. The sag support, safety workers, and rest stops are almost a side benefit.
Hey PMF1, I had to send them out for the Wonder bread; butPaul
May 1, 2002 9:18 AM
rejoice, we have given the ARC $20,000 past 3 years. That rest stop was a mess, no one in charge, and no one with enough brains to go and buy some real food. Though, I was so hungry, I enjoyed the peanut butter and bread.

see ya on the trail

Paolo
Hey Look-Boypmf1
May 1, 2002 9:50 AM
I was thinking more about the Bay to Bay century. Lousy food, but I still keep coming back to do it.
re: Ride PiratesMe Dot Org
May 1, 2002 9:27 AM
Good point about a lower rate for students or economically underpriveledged.

On some rare occasions, I have happened to be on the road when an organized event is taking place. I don't think it would be fair to assume that anyone on the same road is a Ride Pirate. If you go to a rest stop and fill up on food, that's another matter...

I couldn't afford to do Charity Rides every weekend, but people who say that pirating is OK because they aren't getting their money's worth are missing the point. That's like saying you're going to steal an item from a charity auction because the bidding is too high.

It's not about what you get. It's about what you give. If it will make you feel better, make a direct charitable contribution and don't ride, or ride someplace else. But riding without paying taxes the resources of the course marshalls, and (if you partake of food at the rest stops) increases the overhead for the event.
A few weeks ago, I was in my ol' college town (WMSBRG, GREG!),bill
May 1, 2002 10:05 AM
I had brought my bike, and before my meeting was going to head out for a little ride.
I went down the street and there were cones and police officers waving me on. Wow. I didn't remember this place being quite this friendly, but, you know, tourist town, college town, sometimes streets are blocked off for this and that, may as well take advantage. A little while up the road, and pretty girls are smiling, waving, and cheering me on. Now, I have no lack of self-esteem, but this was ridiculous. I hadn't even raised a sweat and I wasn't THAT impressive. Was I?
Then I realized that I am "leading" a triathlon. I considered just tooling along, taking advantage of the blocked roads, but only for a moment until I decided what else I should do. Bagged out. Police officers yelling at me to "keep going! don't give up." Bless them.
But it was the right thing to do. Had a great ride in the opposite direction (out to Yorktown -- the Colonial Parkway, with it's weathered concrete, the New World's answer to Paris-Roubaix cobblestones).
Oh Man! That Could Have Been Your Moment Of Glory!Gregory Taylor
May 1, 2002 10:17 AM
You could have slid into the transition area, pretend to be confused when "your" gear isn't there, and then gamely stay in the race by removing ALL of your clothing and running through Colonial Williamsburg butt nekkid...
I can't think ofgrandemamou
May 1, 2002 10:21 AM
a good reason to pirate. People just want to get something that others are paying for, for nothing. Most of what I hear are excuses not valid reasons:

"The roads are free and I was riding here any way" Yeah you just happen to ride the exact route.

"It's too expensive" Lots of things I would like to have are beyond my financial means but I don't steal them.

"I'm not using the sag stops" No, but you are benefitting in other ways.

Most of the rides I do are either to benefit charities or to benefit a local cycling organization. It's not the worst thing you can do but it's irritating when you invest alot of time and money for a good cause and have people freeload. Kind of sounds like a democracy, kind of sounds like the USA.
re: Ride PiratesRode Warrior
May 1, 2002 10:24 AM
Honestly, I never even considered it an option until a few days ago reading the posts here. I just naturally assumed that if someone didn't pay for the event, then they would have the integrity to not participate in said event. That being said, if I have already planned my route, and it happens to share a group ride route for a while, this shouldn't be an issue. You can be assured however that I wouldn't stop at the refeuling stops for free food either. You gotta pay to play!

Steve