RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Specialized Body Geometry saddle(9 posts)

Specialized Body Geometry saddleAura
Apr 28, 2002 3:03 PM
I just bought a road bike and replaced it's Selle Italia saddle with the Performance Woman's Contour saddle which has the cut-out just like the Terry saddles. This saddle is fine while I'm riding it, but if I ride for about 50 miles+, and get off my bike for an hour or 2, then get back on, I am SORE! Also, I am too sore to ride the next day. I'll never be able to go on a bike trip with this saddle! Is it because the saddle doesn't have gel inserts? Or is it because the saddle is not wide enough?

I would like to replace this saddle with one of the Specialized Body Geometry saddles.
I have a mountain bike and am very happy with the Specialized Body Geometry woman's comfort gel saddle. I can ride for hours on it and not have any ache/sores afterwards, and can ride everyday (50 miles+) for at least a week. I don't want to get the exact same saddle for my road bike because it is much too big for a road bike.

Specialized offers the PRO, COMP, SPORT and MILANO models. Which of these Body Geometry saddles are similar in comfort to the big comfort one? Also, is it worth it to pay twice as much for a leather cover?

Thank-you for any advice in advance.
If you are new to cycling...Sintesi at home
Apr 28, 2002 4:20 PM
then expect to be sore for awhile. If you ride once a week or so then your rear is going to to hurt regardless of saddle. It takes a couple of weeks for your butt to toughen up. You have to ride consistently to adapt.

Your sit bones should be firmly supported, so proper width is important, but this is not the whole equation. Soft saddles hurt on long rides and are a bad choice for serious cyclists, most people find a harder, narrower saddles the best bet in the long run.

Here's what I think. If you ride 50+ miles, you do not want a soft saddle, you want a tough butt. Make sure your sit bones are squarely supported, if your "soft tissues" are chaffed get a cut-out saddle and use a lubricant like Butt'r, Bag Balm or any other chamois creme. You do use cycling shorts, right?
If you are new to cycling...Aura
Apr 29, 2002 4:11 AM
Yes, of course I use cycling shorts! Can't imagine cycling without them!

I'm not new to cycling, just new to riding on a road bike.

My current saddle has the cutout, so the problem is not with soreness of "soft tissues". I just need a saddle that will not cause soreness on long rides.

The MTB seat I have on my mountain bike is so comfortable that I had ridden 60 miles+ daily for a week on it without any soreness. I want to be able to do that on my road bike. I don't think I should put the same saddle on my road bike because this saddle is designed for more upright riding style.

What you call "soft saddles" - would that be saddles that have gel? And if I get a harder saddle, does it need some time to break in?
Well then. A few suggestions.Sintesi
Apr 29, 2002 5:45 AM
Saddles that have a lot of padding oftten become torture devices on long rides because your sit bones tend to sink to the bottom and the cushion presses up at everything else, leading to chafing and general pummeling of your backside.
What you might try is a saddle that has firmer cushioning and a suspension of sorts underneath. Some manufacturers like Selle Italia below make designs like this. Brooks is another. I hate to tell you this, but saddle fit is so individual (i.e. what is a sofa cushion to one, is a chunk of cement to another) that you may have to try a few out before you find the right one.

Just make sure it's wide enough to support you fanny, but not so wide that it chafes the insides of your thighs. Cushions are good but make sure they are firm not soft.

Also, try your mtb saddle on the road bike, if you don't like it you can always switch it back. You can also raise your handlebars a little if you think you are rolled to far forward on your pelvis.

this Selle Italia Pro-Link saddle goes for about $80:
If you're comfortable on the MTB saddle,guido
Apr 28, 2002 6:49 PM
you could still use it on the road bike, even if it looks "too big." Second to this, look for a saddle with the exact same shape as the one you like, that would look okay on the roadbike.

Also, is positioning on road and mountain bikes the same? Road bike saddles are typically furthur forward over the crank. That or saddle being too high, could lead to discomfort from pedaling in different dimensions from what your legs and sit bones are comfortable with on the mountainbike.
If you're comfortable on the MTB saddle,Aura
Apr 29, 2002 4:44 AM
That's why I'm looking at the various Specialized Body Geometry road saddles. They have the same design as the MTB model, but have different cushioning. I don't have lots of money to try one saddle after another, so I am interested in hearing about people's opinion about the different models.

The riding position is very different on a road bike. My MTB saddle has more cushioning for the upright riding style and is too wide for a road bike.
Thinking about how a saddle LOOKS is a big mistakecory
Apr 29, 2002 7:04 AM
Who cares how the saddle (or anything else on the bike, for that matter) LOOKS? I'd swap the saddle from my MB in a second, if you're comfortable on it. Nobody can see it when you're riding, and when you're not, you can deny it's your bike...
FWIW, though, I hated the Body Geo--rode it about a week and gave it away. I have Brooks (three B-17s and an old Pro) on all my bikes except the mudder/beater/rain bike now. My BG was the cheap one (the Sport, I think), and the padding was so soft it collapsed under me and left me sitting on that big seam. The Pro or other models might be better.
My take on Specialized saddles...Uncle Tim
Apr 29, 2002 5:33 AM
On of the weaknesses of this review site is that there are no categories for the review of Speicalized saddles. This helps to leave people like you groping to find information about them.

My wife has a Specialized Body Geometry saddle on it, and she is not real comfortable on it. I've even gotten on her bike and ridden around the neighborhood, and I surely couldn't ride on it (but maybe that is a physical thing). This is the third saddle she's used on this bike, and it's obvious we haven't found the right one yet.

The women's saddle that gets raves, and we will likely purchase very soon, is the Terry saddle: the Butterfly. It sells for around $100.

Personally, I like and use Specialized BG Comp saddles on my "serious" bikes. But I've known people who were not nearly as pleased when they tried them. I've also known riders who loved the Specialized BG Pro saddles, while I've known some guys who couldn't ride down the street on one.

Finding the right saddle is like searching for the Holy Grail. Everybody's different.
go with what worksJS Haiku Shop
Apr 29, 2002 5:53 AM
you're fortunate to have an every-day 50+ mile saddle on yoru mtb. there's no rule that says you can't use a mtb or wide-/large saddle on your road bike. after all, it's going to be under your butt most of the time...who's going to see it? function over form--especaially if you're logging (or planning to log) big miles. putting a smaller saddle on there for the sake of keeping trim lines on the road bike is suffering for fashion. don't worry about how it looks--if it works on the mtb, try it on the road bike, and go from there.

by the way, mark your saddle settings on the micro-adjust clamp on your mtb, move the saddle to your road bike, and have a ride. it's a zero-$$ way to find out if it works for you.