RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


This board has lost it's reviewers.(30 posts)

This board has lost it's reviewers.High Gear
Apr 28, 2002 2:18 PM
One of the best things about this site was the reviews. Ever since the board changed to it's new format, people aren't posting anymore. Let's all give a few moments and post our thoughts on new or old parts. Maybe Gregg could have a giveaway to a lucky reviewer to entice us!
I agree....JBurton
Apr 28, 2002 2:24 PM
I use the reviews quite a bit, since I am not exposed to much new equipment. I guess it is time I gave back a bit. I think I will go right now and put a review on something. Hopefully, my limited knowledge will help someone who is even more limited than me.
I found this board because of the reviews.Len J
Apr 28, 2002 2:37 PM
You're right, they have gotten....thinner.

I will also make an effort to post some reviews.

Great reminder.

Len
I think I know why no one posts reviews!Len J
Apr 28, 2002 4:40 PM
I just tried to post reviews on the following porducts:

Trek 2001 5500
Ritchey WCS Stem
Ritchey WCS Handelbars
Rolf Sestraire Wheelsets
Polar S710 Heart Rate Monitor

Guess What? Not one of these are listed as products for which you can post a review. I think that there are very few new products available.

In addition, there are no instructions up front as to how to post a review. You have to fumble around until you figure it out. I think that if it were apparent up-front, there might be more reviws.

Well that was a waste of time.

Len
I've had the same problemmickey-mac
Apr 28, 2002 4:50 PM
Most of the times I try to post a review of a new product, it's not in the database. A few times, I've requested an addition but it doesn't usually happen. (No offense, Gregg. I know you're busy.) Anyhow, I checked today and found that Axial Carbons were added since I last checked, so I posted a review.
Yup, no Bianchi EV2??? YO, GREGGDougSloan
Apr 29, 2002 5:27 AM
I wanted to post a review of my two Bianchi EV2's. Despite several e-mails to the site admins, even before Gregg, the bike never appeared. This is not some obscure bike, and other Bianchi bikes are listed. I don't get it. Maybe the manufacturers request certain products not be listed?

Having a suggestion process that is seriously considered would help a lot. Hey, it's the new stuff people want to see reviews on, yet often those are the products that don't appear. Isn't that the raison d'etre of the site?

Doug
oopsDougSloan
Apr 29, 2002 5:29 AM
I see it's there under "Frames," now.
glad you found it...gregg
Apr 29, 2002 7:25 AM
...touches on another problem when some bikes are sold as frames only, some as complete only, some as either frames or complete bike. I think often times people don't check the "frames" category (as you illustrated). But I'm not sure how to correct this problem.

-g
thanksDougSloan
Apr 29, 2002 8:29 AM
It wasn't there before the site changed formats, either as complete bike or frame. I imagine most top end racing frames are purchased as frames and built up. Maybe there are too many categories, Bikes, Racing Bikes, and Frames; "Racing Bikes" and "Frames" are probably redundant.

What would help is a cross-link to the other categories within each after you open that category, sort of like "See also..."?
glad you found it...Skip
Apr 29, 2002 10:39 AM
Gregg,

There aren't any Merlins - bikes or frames. Any reason why not? Thanks.
Merlins aplenty....'02 Road, Racing Bike, & Cross (nm)gregg
Apr 29, 2002 11:56 AM
Merlins aplenty....'02 Road, Racing Bike, & Cross (nm)Skip
Apr 29, 2002 12:49 PM
Thanks Gregg. I have a 2000 Merlin XL, and was going to post a review, so I looked under the heading of 2001 and older road bikes - no Merlins.

Does that mean that if I want to post a review on my 2000 Merlin, that I will have to list it under the 2002 road bikes?
dang...yeah...gregg
Apr 29, 2002 3:27 PM
....that would be the easiest, quickest thing to do. Just put "review of 2000 model" in your review.

Thanks,
-g
thanks for the feedback...gregg
Apr 29, 2002 7:24 AM
...keeping a current, up-to-date database is one of the big challenges in running this site. Complete bikes are a little easier because we get a data feed from the Bikealog folks (although this doesn't include a lot of the smaller, custom builders).

Components and accessories are harder to maintain, because it basically means the data feed has to come from one of two places, the manufacturer or a retailer. Fortunately, we have some retail partners that provide us with some of the new products in their feed (Performance and Supergo are two of our main ones), and Specialized is pretty good at giving us their current data. Often times, manufacturers do not have product data readily available in digital format.

FYI, Len, the Sestieres ARE there, listed under wheelsets (I know 'cuz I hand entered them in last year!)

The Trek 2001 5500 IS listed also, under "Racing Bike". (this is another problem, how to categorize different bikes.)

I am working with the guys at Ritchey to get a current data feed.

I am also still working on a LARGE data feed from Performance and I'm pretty sure the Polar S710 is in there. Even though the date feeds beat hand entering producds one at a time, it is still a tedious process.

Obviously, if you (and others here) are having problems finding relevant products to review, we need to make some changes.

Please bear with us, it really is too much work for one person (not to mention that "other" site that I have to work on!)

Thanks,

-gregg
The Reccessionliu02bhs
Apr 28, 2002 3:43 PM
I think the reccession caused reduction in purchasing of luxury items. With no new equipments, it's hard to review them. I for one, haven't bought too much equipments in the recent months.
at some point ...bianchi boy
Apr 28, 2002 3:55 PM
A lot of reviews were lost from the board. I agree, the reviews are useful and it's what first brought me to this site. However, now I find the reviews pretty lame. Lots of fairly common bikes and parts aren't even reviewed, and the ones that are covered don't have many reviews posted.
You're right...High Gear
Apr 28, 2002 5:17 PM
I couldn't find a Selle San Marco saddle at the RBR review page and took a look at the MBR site and found the saddle. Still no review on that model but at seast it was there. In the past I had put a great deal of time into reviews on the old board only to have them lost with the new one. I really hope Gregg reads this and can help fix the problem. The review and the classified section are the most effected by the change.
waste of my time, and yoursDuane Gran
Apr 28, 2002 7:16 PM
I posted quite a few reviews. Some haven't come back after the new site design. I requested products to be added that weren't.

In general the reviews are a waste of time. I don't mean this in a derogitory way, I just mean to say that you need more than a grain of salt when reading them. For the most part people rate things they purchase highly in order to justify the purchase. On the other spectrum is someone who crashed on his first ride and will forever curse product X. The amount of sober reviews are few and far between.

I posted a suggestion some time back to "review the reviews" and allow the community to rate the reviews on the site. In this way the extremes might sift to the bottom, provided that the community of readers makes a good judgement. It works well for book reviews on amazon.com.
I totally agree...JL
Apr 29, 2002 5:25 AM
The "bad" reviews are few and far between and some of the good reviews are just people looking at the part they just bought. More than half the time, the product isn't listed or has no reviews. You'll usually get more opinions/comments just asking about product X in the General/Components discussion groups.

The reviews definitely seem to be a waste(no offense Gregg).
Second that or I guess third that (nm)BipedZed
Apr 29, 2002 5:56 AM
fyi, we DO have a "rate the review" feature!gregg
Apr 29, 2002 7:30 AM
It's on the producd page in the left hand column and says "Rate this review".

I hear what you're sayin' Duan, about the grain of salt thing. This actually got better when we required registration to post. If you compare the quality of the reviews on mtbr (no registration) to those here (with registration req.), you will see an infinite difference.

I thought we had solved the missing reviews problem. If you know of any sections that are still missing reviews, please let me know (gkato@roadbikereview.com).

Thanks,

-g
mixed resultsgrandemamou
Apr 29, 2002 6:32 AM
The reason I found this forum was because of the review sections. I used the ratings along with other info to spec out a bike I bought last year. To return the favor I tried to review several products. I reviewed bar and stem on same day. The bar got in and stem did not. My frame review made it but my Record Groupo did not.

There are extremes in the review sections. You can tell that some people have axe's to grind. Also, there are posts that are so gushy you'd expect the bike to ride on it's own. They are pretty easy to pick out though.

It's a good resource but I wouldn't make a decision solely on reviews and I doubt any reasonable consumer would either.
Thanks, everyone for all the feedback...gregg
Apr 29, 2002 7:41 AM
...I have tried to answer most of you directly.

In a nutshell, it is very tough to keep an accurate, current database on this site. We are always working on adding new products, but it is a lot of work.

The actual number of reviews we receive per day has gone up over the past year. Of course, there was a big dip when we switched the site to the new design, but on average we recieve 15 to 20 reviews a day. Out of those say 20, 15 or 16 are validated (indicating that some people are writing reviews, but not leaving valid email addresses, so are therefore unable to validate their review.) Out of those remaining 15, I will invalidate 1 or 2 a day, mostly because the reviewer did not write enough. By far, not writing a long, descriptive review is the number one reason reviews are removed.

To compare, on MTBR, we receive about 100 reviews a day. No registration means I have to delete a higher ration of reviews. Out of the 100 reviews, I usually delete around 10 to 15. I scan the reviews every morning (along with scanning 10 discussion forums on RBR, and 18 on MTBR), for validation. Thanks to the help of some moderators, my work is easier, but still a lot to go through. Not to mention 100+ emails a day (not counting all the SPAM).

So, to end my sob story here, I just want to say thanks for all you help and support, write some reviews, continue to give me feedback, and continue to post here in the forums. YOU GUYS are really the ones who make this site grow and work.

-gregg
gkato@roadbikereview.com

p.s. Yes, I am blessed with the greatest job in the world; but it is a job nonetheless!
did I mention I also polic people who argue on the internet?...gregg
Apr 29, 2002 8:01 AM
...just read the grammar thread below....in the immortal words of Charlie Brown......"ARRRRGGHHH!!"
did I mention that I also police people who argue on the net?gregg
Apr 29, 2002 8:02 AM
..just read the grammar thread below....in the immortal words of Charlie Brown......"ARRRRGGHHH!!"
Need a new way to get reviews (suggestion for Gregg)LC
Apr 29, 2002 9:22 AM
The only time most people think about a part on their bike is:

A: Just bought it and they need to justify the purchase. You can guess what kind of review it is going to get.

B: It just broke and they are flipping mad! You can guess what kind of review it is going to get.

Maybe every few weeks we pick one part and review it? When we go to RBR it features that certain part and reminds us to think about that part and review it.
if I understand you correctly...gregg
Apr 29, 2002 12:00 PM
...it would be something like "Featured Part for Review" this month: bottom brackets.

And then have some tips on how to write a good review. Something like that is what I think may help. Also, from this thread, it has become apparent that maybe we need to explain better "how to write a review" and also "how to rate a review".

Hmm....
incentive solutionDougSloan
Apr 29, 2002 3:09 PM
I got it -- have a drawing for something once a month among the contributors to the reviews (good or bad opinions of products, as long as it appears genuine). That might be an incentive to get more reviews.

Doug
and anotherDougSloan
Apr 29, 2002 3:10 PM
Send me a sample of every product (to keep); I'll write up a review on every one of them!
I thought that was supposed to be one of the perks of my job! nmgregg
Apr 29, 2002 3:28 PM