RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cannondale, Lemond or Jamis?(13 posts)

Cannondale, Lemond or Jamis?jackasher
Apr 28, 2002 2:18 PM
Alright, ive got it narrowed down to three bikes, so now im looking for a second opinion. I want to spend something in the $1,500 dollar range for a bike. Ive been doing distance touring for years but am starting to get very serious about road racing. Ill be competing at the CAT 3-5 level. At my local bike shops i found 3 bikes on clearance that fit me. All bikes are the 2001 model.
1. $1,499 2001 Jamis Comet- 7005 triple butted aluminum frame, Mavic Cosmic Elite Wheels, Full Ultegra Groupo, 3T Forgie stem and bar, thomson seat post, selia italia gel XO gel seat, profile BRC carbon fork, cane creek s2 headset..... http://www.jamisbikes.com/bikes/spec&geo/comet_spec01.html
2. $1,399 2001 Cannondale R1000 Si Double- CAAD 5 Frame, Campy Proton wheels, Full Ultegra except 105 brakeset, front derailleur, bottom bracket, rear cogs and campy record hiddenset headset, cannondale saddle, seatpost and stem.
http://www.cannondale.com/bikes/01/cusa/model-1RR1ID.html
3. $1,399 2002 Lemond Buenos Ares- Reynolds 853 Designer Select double butted steel alloy, Icon Carbon Classic fork, Cane Creek c1 headset, groupo- 105 bottom bracket rest is ultegra, Bontrager Select wheelset, 3t the bar and stem
http://www.lemondbikes.com/bikes/bikes_buenos.html
I really have no idea which one's better, my complaints on each bike are: Cannondale- because the headset is integrated, if the headset cracks then that totals my frame right? whats the deal with the integrated headset?
Jamis-the model is really ugly (beetle green) not that it really matters but you figure for 1500.......
Lemond- Heaviest bike of the three and steel frame for racing??
I really appreciate the help, this is my first semi-higher end bike and i want it to be great! -jack
re: Cannondale, Lemond or Jamis?nazgul
Apr 28, 2002 2:38 PM
I don't have experience with the Lemond or Jamis but I recently got an R2000si, which, save for the 105 parts seems to be pretty close to what you are getting. I love how every pedal stroke is instantly translated into forward motion. While it is too early to draw any conclusions on long-term durability I also love the Campy Proton wheelset. I wouldn't worry too much about the integrated headset -- I've heard good things about Cannondale's warranty.
You should probably try to take each bike for a longer testride. The geometries are quite different, e.g. the lemond has slacker seat angles than the cannondale and you might like the way one of them handles better than the other.
Stefan
Call Gary at GVHBIKES.COMfirstrax
Apr 28, 2002 3:08 PM
another GVH SPAMcentury2
Apr 28, 2002 4:06 PM
the spam of the site is so transparent
Have to agree!... "Call good 'ol Gary"dawg
Apr 28, 2002 6:57 PM
*
Talk about the pot calling the Kettle Black!!!!Alpedhuez55
Apr 28, 2002 8:59 PM
So Cenntury2, I guess your not so transparent SPAM for BikesDirect.com is OK then? Accusing other people of spamming is not going to make anyone think you are Legit.

Even your pointless MADE IN USA post rang of spam. You seem to be quick to attack bike brands not sold at BikesDirect.com or shops that offer a better value than Mercier of Motobecane. I would take a quaility Italian Made Viner Frame with a hand built wheelset over a generic Taiwanise Mercier any day. The prices are about the same for an Ultegra equiped bike!!!

Then again, what do I know. I like to recommend my LeMond Zurich now and then if people ask about it. I guess in your eyes that makes me a corporate pawn for Trek Inc.

Please try to add something of substance to the board for once, OK C2. Then maybe we can start to take you seriously.

Michael Y.
either way it is SPAM SPAM SPAMcyclopathic
Apr 29, 2002 5:32 AM
before jumping on Cen2 take a step back and look at it. Maybe run a quick search and see the correlation btw plugs and site monikers.

Garry is the most spammed guy on this site. Sure he is a nice guy, so are others.

CP

PS btw the question was "which bike" not "whom to get it from" -----------> SPAM
re: Cannondale, Lemond or Jamis?Jekyll
Apr 28, 2002 3:14 PM
There is no "wrong" bike here: Just possibly a wrong bike for a particular rider.
I have no personal experience with the Jamis outside of what I have heard around the boards which seems to be positive.
The R1000 and the Buenos Ares are pretty different geometries. The Canny is fairly square and the Lemond has a longish top tube. The Canny should feel like a quicker handling bike and the Lemond a bit more stable. On equipment it seems to be a wash. I would prefer the wheels on the Canny. The Canny will be lighter. Some will argue that the Lemond will give you a "smoother" ride. Much of that is the geometry and very little is the material involved.
People race Lemonds without any apparent problems and the Cannondale integrated headset is the way most new bikes are set up (though the consensus is still out on whether integrated headsets are a good thing). Canny warranties the frame for life so that should alleviate any concerns with head set cracks. I have not heard of people complaining about this either way.
So far as weight, well, generally lighter is better. The less you have to haul up hill the less you have to work to get there.
Fit is the most important thing. Try to get a few long test rides on each bike. Its well worth the invested time considering how many hours you will eventually spend on your final choice.

To save century2 the disk space of replaying his broken record: steel is the "best," go buy the Mercier, its the best bike for you.
WHY NOT Fuji, Mercier, KHS, or Bianchicathygoes
Apr 28, 2002 4:15 PM
any of these you can buy online and get Full Uletgra for about $1200 to $1300 ~~ why seattle for 105 ?
check fujibikes.com; cyclesmercier.com; khsbicycles.com or bianchi.com
this is not spamS-U-B
Apr 28, 2002 7:10 PM
call or email Gary at GVH. I just got a lemond zurich, full ultegra with Ksyrium SL's for 1500 bucks from him. good bet you can beat those prices and quality.
Lemond there?niteschaos
Apr 28, 2002 9:03 PM
I went to that website and found nothing made from Lemond.
re: Cannondale, Lemond or Jamis?Dragon33
Apr 29, 2002 10:18 AM
The Jamis Comet is usually used as a time trial bike. I am not a Cannondale fan at all so I won't comment on that, but a Lemond surely a nice bike and if you are thinking of a very nice steel frame bike that is Ultegra equipped with Kysriums and very light weight search hard and find a deal on the Jamis Eclipse. It might raise your budget a few hundred but you will appreciate it in the long run.
re: I was in the same situation you are in!ADKBiker
Apr 29, 2002 10:22 AM
I was looking for a good bike to race with and to do some long rides. I was also interested in the same three bikes. They all have their pros and cons. The Cannondale is great bike, but felt that I wasn't really getting that great of a package. It climbs really well and it is fast. It is also Aluminum which is light but also harsh on your butt and it fatigues easier. The Jamis is another great bike. They are very stiff, also aluminum, they are made over seas so warranties could be question. The Lemond is a great bike. If you could wait and get a Lemond Zurich it will payoff. Its 853 Reynolds steel, Made in the USA, Not a heavy steel, it actually can be made really light for steel. The Zurich has an full Ultegra groupo. Its a great racing and touring bike. It is a stiff but a forgiving ride plus Nothing rides like steel! The geometry is a more relax racing position so you can stay fresher and ride longer and stonger. I decided on a Lemond, they are a racing bike company and the geometry. Plus you get a lot for the buck!
Again all these bikes are great bike and respectable manufacturers. A great way to really figure this out is to test ride the bikes as much as you can. This is only my opinion and I'm sure people are not going to agree with me but everyone is different! I hope I helped you out a little!