RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


A complaint.(83 posts)

A complaint.Kerry
Apr 28, 2002 6:55 AM
I know it is impolite to comment on poster's grammar, spelling, and punctuation, so I'm not doing this in response to a particular post. But I have to tell you that folks who don't seem in command of any of these three things really don't add to the credibility they crave in posting here. Some example sentences: They're going to leave their bikes over there. Three different words, with three different meanings and three different spellings. How hard is that. The difference between you're and your? Can you count to two too? And what's with this no capitalization/no punctuation thing? Saves you using the shift key and putting in periods, and makes it a lot harder to read your stuff. Fair trade between the poster and the reader? I think not. Apostrophes are used in contracted words and for possessives, not just any random time you stick an "s" on the end of a word. Finally, general spelling. I understand when it comes to the spelling of a "foreign" word, but to simply blow by (buy? bye?) common English words because you can't be bothered to use a dictionary?

I know "it's the internet" and we can all take some liberties with the language. For me at least, when I read a post that is full of this stuff, I begin to wonder whether the poster is as bad in the advice they offer as they are in their language usage.

PS My apologies in advance to those for whom English is not their first language. Especially to those living in the UK :).

PPS I'm fully prepared, and expect to be called an elitist snob for this post.
re: A complaint.Bike Fool
Apr 28, 2002 7:10 AM
y u..., u..., eletists snab, you...
re: A complaint.DINOSAUR
Apr 28, 2002 7:17 AM
I agree. My daughter is a sophomore in high school. I am always emphasazing the grave importance of good grammer skills. How you convey your thoughts on paper represents you as a person. I think part of it is taking the time to proof read your work and correct mistakes. I know I make occasional mistakes on punctuation and grammer. I once got called out on another internet forum for the misuse of the word mute (should have been moot). Perhaps part of it is being caught up in the fast pace of this day and age, and just taking the time to slow down and double check your work. If it's not worth reading, it's not worth saying.
DINOSAUR, you see I wouldn't normally do thisLazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 7:36 AM
but because you agree with this pain in the a$$ I have to chime in. You stated "How you convey your thoughts on paper represents you as a person". GRAMMAR WITH AN "AR" IS THE CORRECT WAY TO SPELL IT NOT "GRAMMER".
If you are especially going to criticize others for making mistakes, you should have each of your posts proof read by a professional because it makes you look like a bigger horse's ass if you are gonna criticize others when you cannot even spell a word like "GRAMMAR".
You people make me laugh. HAHAHAHAHAHAHHA
Well..DINOSAUR
Apr 28, 2002 7:52 AM
Maybe I should have my daughter proof read my work. Funny what people will say over the internet while sitting in front of a computer. Guess I shot myself in the foot on this one, it's not the first time. Life's too short to argue over petty stuff like this.

Have a nice day,
Dino
Do what you say, not what you doET
Apr 28, 2002 11:23 AM
I think your stuff also should be proofread to avoid mistakes like "proof read". And you didn't seem to notice Dino's misspelling of "emphasizing". And...
ET, I prefaced my statement by saying that I amLazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 11:50 AM
the last to correct people's spelling or grammar. I was simply pointing his mistake out because he made a comment on how important it was to be correct. So you comment was a waste of time and yet another example of people always trying to correct others on this board. Shut Up , Sit Down.
mute point - I have nothing to say about that!!!!!apamin
Apr 28, 2002 8:06 AM
i learned everything about english from my grammar
Yes, you do sound very pretentiuos and I would agreeLazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 7:29 AM
with you on this issue if what we were typing were something of importance (ie. term paper, report for work etc). I cannot type for the life of me and I make typos like crazy. If I am having a stream of conciousness, I might substitute "their" for "they're" although I obviously know the difference.
My girlfriend is an editor for Harper Collins and forever is correcting me and others(although the latter not to their faces). I fu(king hate that because it is not indicative of intelligence. In fact she has a IQ of 140, speaks very well and proper and my "ignorant" ass is considerably more intelligent. I have graduate degrees and have had brilliant professors, but the smartest man I ever knew(and odds are many of you would ever know if you had the privelage) worked in a sweater factory where I loaded trucks when I was in college. Point being that a guy who speaks like a warehouse worker may dwarf you in intelligence therefore giving pompous asses like yourself no right to judge even if you are "more successful" by occupational stadards.
I get criticized a lot (two words not alot) for my typos and grammar, but when I post here I could give a rat's ass. It doesn't reflect my intelligence whatsoever. Maybe carelessness but not intelligence.
By the way, my girlfriend will find several grammatical mistakes in your post. She knows so many rules of grammar that an English teacher's head would spin. I want to bash her friggin head in because she is so pretentious and I laugh my ass off when I score higher than her on tests as well as crush her in chess and any other game that is an adequate measure of a strong analytical mind.
You see, it really doesn't matter if there is a typo or a mispelled word. If you cannot get the essence of what is being said because someone substituted "there" for "their", then I question whether you are smart enough to ever judge others for their "mistakes". You must be a real pain in the a$$ to live with if you are that picky. Get this, my girlfriend is an editor and was an English major in college and I think she has beaten me once in Scrabble and it burns her ass too. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
at least you have a command of all the four letter wordsapamin
Apr 28, 2002 8:10 AM
that has to count for something
Lazywriter, it's better to remain silent an be...Anvil
Apr 28, 2002 10:25 AM
...thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt. Besides, if you were such a smart cookie you wouldn't need to tell us about it. Try brushing up on your Socrates.

Cheers!
Anal, I mean Anvil, you knowLazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 10:46 AM
there is a gay bar in the Village called the Anvil. Is that where you got your name??? Not that there is anything wrong with that(ala Seinfeld) but the smell of my sweaty ass residue after a 3 hour ride on my saddle must sound nice to you.
Please, no politically correct posts about me being homophobic because I am far from it even though I joke and use words like fag and queer. On a personal note both my biological father and my sister are gay so don't even bother trying to pass me off as a hate monger. I will leave that up to you Christian fundementalists.
I can't pass on this onemickey-mac
Apr 28, 2002 11:48 AM
You regularly use the term "homo" and other gay references as insults toward people on this board who you don't like (which would apparently include everyone). At the same time, you say you're not homophobic. If you're truly not homophobic, why do you consider referring to someone as gay as the highest form of insult? Your biological father and sister must be very proud of you.

BTW, do you really think that most "Christian fundamentalists" would take a stand in support of gays?
Oh Mommalousha,Lazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 11:59 AM
forst of all i don't think that words in an of themselves are wrong or bad. It is the actions behind them that are the issue. So if gay men call each other fags and queers, they don't take offense. Being hetero in my opinion doesn't exclude me from using those terms if my inherent beliefs are not of hate but of acceptance. They are only words and no homosexuals who know me get insulted because they know and understand my true feelings. So you are way off base.
As far as the Christian Fundamentalists, I said I would leave the hate mongering up to them. Of course they wouldn't support gays. My comment was a joke and used as an insult because most men do and would take offense to being called gay if they weren't.
As for my family, my sense of humor is accepted because I am genuine and honest. I can get away with things I say because they know the real feelings and have a sense of humor which so many lack here. Oh yeah, you're a douchebag LOL.
Oh, I seemickey-mac
Apr 28, 2002 12:12 PM
So if you're a white guy who's not racist, it's all right to walk into a room full of blacks and yell: "What's up n!%%@*s!" And by your reasoning, I supposed it would be all right to tell people on this board that they're stupider than Irish/Mexicans/Chinese/Nigerians/pick an ethnicity if some people might take offense to being told that they are stupider than that particular ethnnic group.
You know, you gotta be kidding me.Lazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 1:34 PM
First off, stop with you summations implying that I would use comments against a whole nationality. I have ony called indviduals here stupid or morons and never generalized. A$$holes come from all nationalities, you're proof of that Mickey. You are way too politically correct.
The dreaded "N" word argument is so old and passe. I am of the ideology that if black people don't like the word they shouldn't use it themselves. I recognize it is leverage in many ways and sort of like a fraternal order in which "we can use it but no one else can". I can respect that, but it is childish. So many hip hop white kids use the word now as a term of endearment because of the musical influences. Who fu(kin cares already. As long as they are not hateful and violent so be it.
I like how you try to make it appear like I am a bigot and racist when I have never said anything of the sort directed at a particular group. I worked with inner city emotionally disturbed kids and their families and in geriatrics. What have you done for the disadvantaged?????
I never bring this up because it is my job and I don't look for credit, but honsetly have you been in the trenches and help real inner city kids and families?????
You have a hard time following logical argumentsmickey-mac
Apr 28, 2002 2:10 PM
Your mind works in strange and mysterious ways. You have a hard time focusing on one issue and always revert to childish name-calling. Based on your "work" here, I'd be surprised if you're able to do anything constructive for any emotionally disturbed children.
You know nothing of me for one,Lazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 2:18 PM
secondly, your pathetic attempt to attach my name to all that BS is ridiculous. You extrapolate from my jokingly asking if the guy got his name from the gay bar to use of the "N" word. Pathetic, but you are a scumbag lawyer so it in your nature.
And yes, I am great at what I do because I am not hindered by ridiculous politically correct ideologies that would get in the way of me truly empathizing with others. You see, my best friend who is Puerto Rican loves Puerto Rican jokes no matter how offensive others may perceive it to be. He gets it just as I can laugh at a good Italian joke.
Like, Why do Italian guys have mustaches????

So they can look like their mothers. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Like I said, you just don't get it.mickey-mac
Apr 28, 2002 2:22 PM
And continuing this discussion is a complete waste of time.
OH I know, you are just sooooooooooooooooooooooLazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 2:55 PM
above me that I couldn't possibly get it. It is funny that the genesis of our bad relationship started because of you obsessiveness to know whether I was posting under various names. You would continually instigate and even now seem to follow me around and chime in even when you were not an active part of the thread. Do I comment on your posts???? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO only in retaliation to the ones you chime in on me. So stop commenting after each one. You cannot help yourself you neurotic maniac.
You know I am right, you obsessive bastard. You cannot mind your own business for the life of you.
You don't get it. Stop posting responses to me and live your life you loser. Man are you a pain in the A$$. You still have that tracking device planted in you wife's purse??? I think it is called HoJack.
Oh, I seeSoultrain
Apr 29, 2002 2:07 AM
While your b/s'ing I have done what you just said. I do say to my black friends "what's up my nigga's?" Because they know that I am not racist it doesn't bother them. I have not been attacked or even thought to be a racist,because they see how I treat everyone the same, check that I do have a problem with closed minded people.
Often times I will attack them because they will not see another point of view,even when it is easy to see if they would just open their eyes. Don't stereo type me either.
Have a nice day.
I got news for you,Mr. Richard Weed...Lone Gunman
Apr 28, 2002 1:32 PM
The use of those terms in most professional places of business constitute the large step towards creating a "hostile work environment" and could very easily get your ticket punched for termination. It is nothing short of using slang terms to defame or depict any person of their race, color, creed, sexual orientation, or religion. Your true colors are showing and they need a paint job, just like your Litespeed.
Ha ha ha, this is exactly what Mickey-macdoucheLazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 1:42 PM
would want you to believe. Idiots and way to gullible. Lemmings I say. Mickey-mac brought up the topic based on his own interpretation and now you read into it like I made disparaging comments towards a group.
STOP IT. LOL Jokingly asking if Anvil got his name from a gay bar in New York doesn't make me homophobic. HAHAHAHA
Idiots, if you only knew. LOL
Mickey mac raised the issue of blacks and the word "NI$%er and automatically you associate that with me. HAHAHA
ridiculous and so easily mislead. Re-read the posts moron and you will see Mickey's lame attempt to manipulate and distort. This is why I say some of you people think you are smarter than you actually are. LOL
My Litespeed is beautiful the way it is dickhead. I have a guady Guinea frame. Yeah I said Guinea. I am Italian myself, is that alright???????????????????? OR am I prejudice against dumd Italian guys?
You see, there lies the problem...Lone Gunman
Apr 28, 2002 3:29 PM
There is no difference between using the term in the form of a joke or an insult. The fact that you even have to use the terms again shows you, as the terms you use to depict others. And by using those terms in a joke or otherwise is your sorry attempt to control people in your tiny 3 second world. It will catch up with you, I promise.
LG and Mickey-mac got it wired here.jtolleson
Apr 28, 2002 3:46 PM
As one of the board's ... what was it Harlett said ... sisters of sappho, let me just say DITTO to everyone who has pointed out to you (LZ) that using anti-gay references as a joke is no joke to gay folks.

Some of your best friends are gay, right? Puh-leeze.

Pick a different junior high form of insult. I really don't give a crap that you say in your heart you don't mean it. Still feeds the bigotry monster in my book, and the more you've tried to defend yourself the more ridiculous your position has gotten.
jtTOLL, IF YOU READ MY EARLIER POSTLazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 5:08 PM
I said that my biological father and my sister are gay. Another retard.
C'mon Lazy........Len J
Apr 28, 2002 6:02 PM
is everyone that expresses an opinion different from yours a "retard".

jtolleson says "using anti-gay references as a joke is no joke to gay folks". She was telling you that it was offensive to her, that when you use an anti-gay reference, she fells offended. "Still feeds the bigotry monster in my book" is a pretty clear way of putting it (if you ask me).
So she mixed up best friends with father & sister, I think her point is still valid. And I really don't get the name calling.

I'm sure I'm now going to be (In your book) a politically correct douchbag, or a-hole or some other lesser intelligence derogatory name after this post, but I for one am just tired of this repititive dance that you seem incapable or unwilling to change. You make a comment. Someone disagrees. You take it personal, call them a name & tell everyone how smart you are and how well adjusted you are and how this is all a joke that everyone else takes way to serious & how we all should lighten up. & the dance goes on & on & on.

As I've said before to you, you can add much value to this board when you just give your oponion, but when you decide to dance with the pigs, you're going to get dirty too. Don't get mad at the pigs when you decide to get into the mud.

I really am getting tired of this Dance.

Len
You know what Len,Lazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 7:37 PM
I actually respect what you said here and in the past. However, I disagree with you about feeding the bigotry monster thing because people in my circle tend to joke wih one another no matter what the topic.
Gay, Puerto Rican, whatever, we all joke and the use of these "horrible" words are a way for true friends to remain close. Please don't say you don't know how guys in particular rip on one another. You know what I am tallking about. Me and my best friends will take the one most obvious flaw in each other and rag on each other to no end. That is what guys tend to do.
As far as my gay reference, I still don't see what was so bad. There was no value judgement (obviously because of who my family are) about homosexuality being wrong etc. It was vulgar, but not hateful towards homosexuals in the least.
I agree though with you that these argument never end, and I am a total ball buster. And jokes about questioning a guy's sexuality has absoulutely nothing to do with being homophobic. Gay men are notorious in my circles in joking with straight men about "giving it a try" and inferring that some guys are "latent homosexuals". The problem is, that I actually know this from experience and most of the people on this board have interfaced less with homosexuals and minorities than I have in my life and don't know what real relationships are like. That is my estimation and that is where the political correctness blinds reality.
You know what Lazy,Len J
Apr 29, 2002 4:19 AM
I do understand this "joking between close friends" that you speak of. However, this is an open forum, and your comments do sometimes cross over. When you use what can be intrepreted as bigoted (towards a particular group) comments on this type of forum, for every individual that understands your motivation, there are many more that will take offense & even more that will agree with the bigoted comment. This is where, as jtolleson said it "feeds the bigotry monster". Like it or not, every thing we do here either makes it better or makes it worse.

It's obviously your choice, and you certainly have the right to say whatever you please. Just recognize that your message is going to continue to be diluted by the baggage that you surround it with as long as you continue to "tickle the dragon", take the bait, make the abrasive comments, & name call.

Just my .02 FWIW

Len
So, what's your point?jtolleson
Apr 29, 2002 9:43 AM
My siblings and parents are no more permitted, in my mind, to make "fag" or "dyke" jokes because they have a lesbian relative than anyone else.

What, you think you get an "honorary queer" ticket because you have gay family?

Bigoted is as bigoted does, and using bigoted humor is definitely bigoted doing.

So to speak. But thanks for the super keen junior high insult... calling me a "retard?" That's low even for you.
Lone Gunman, you have got to be kidding me.Lazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 3:51 PM
If everyone thought like you would be no comedy (modern day that is). So Richard Pryor, Eddie Murphy and Chris Rock wouldn't have a job. What fantasy world are you living in? Case in point, Chris Rock does a joke about the difference between a black person and a ni%$er (he is black of course but his audience is 90% white mind you, all of whom laugh their asses off).
He goes onto say that "ni$%ers are always blaming the media for their problems, that's funny last time I went to the ATM at 4 in the morning, I wasn't looking over my shoulder for the media, I was looking out for ni$%ers.
The audience were pissing their pants. Now, are they all racist for laughing at this?????? Is he "wrong" for using this in his material? No sir you are an idiot with no sense of humor. Sorry but if you still think Bob Hope is funny, then you gotta step into this century. All great comics have ethnic humor raising the sterotypes of their own people and all people of all colors laugh at these comedians. That is the way it is.
HBO, Def comedy Jam, BET comedy show and the Comey channel would have to be closed down if everyone thought like you. You are void of any humor and may as well be dead if you cannot see my point. I have long been a "student" of comedy and see humor in everyone for Allan King (old fart), Three Stooges to Chris Rock and Howard Stern. Lighten up man. You are the joke.
GREGG - PLEASE GET RID IF THIS GUY nmDougSloan
Apr 29, 2002 5:46 AM
Snore (NM)vitusdude
Apr 29, 2002 6:36 AM
I won't name names either but their initials are...Sintesi at home
Apr 28, 2002 7:32 AM
Tuffnick and ishmael! I'm glad you too (heh) found each other but what happened? When did you decide to foresake our beautiful language?
Could not agree more.Chen2
Apr 28, 2002 7:45 AM
When posting on the forums I often reach for my 1960 Webster's because I hate to make mistakes, still I often fail. But at least I try. I hate to see people who are too "Lazy" to try.
~Al
Your pomposity exceeds you actual level ofLazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 7:56 AM
intelligence. A prime example of people obsessed with the minutia and being blind to the bigger picture. What am I in high school english class again???? Come talk to me when you can correct me on anything of real importance or at least prove you are intelligent yourself. Until then you should be quiet because appearances are often deceiving.
I am a writer by vocation and avocation...Djudd
Apr 28, 2002 8:31 AM
and taught middle school grammar for a time and still teach adult education grammar. One of my pet peeves is grammar, usage and spelling (I can live with syntax errors, barely). There are numerous errors, I think, that could be reduced by simply editing one's post before submission. However, due to the format of posting and replying, editing is low on the list of functions i.e. one often replies to a post in a state of urgency and in a conversational tone.

Additionally, as reading and listening in our culture are continuously devalued and television and mindlessly reacting are more valued we will have more and more unreadable posts.
Two more quick points: I see more and more misspelled signs and flyers and other casually and formally distributed material. Secondly, compared to other sites I've been on there are less errors here than some others.Some other places are completely unintelligible

Thank you
harumph, I presume you mean, "fewer" errors.apamin
Apr 28, 2002 8:44 AM
let's clean up your act. signed: grammar fascist

and people are too carful about gerunds either
I repeat, conversational, less is less, thank you friend...nmDjudd
Apr 28, 2002 8:57 AM
use words for precisely what they meanapamin
Apr 28, 2002 9:27 AM
and know the meanings as well:

>Don't use reticient when you mean reluctant,
>imply when you mean infer,
>don't shoot off a canon,
>don't sentence someone to be hung for a crime,
>and above all, don't stand on your principals.

Now, I am going to lay down and take knap.
Djudd, I am sure me and you would normally bumpLazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 10:53 AM
heads, but Imipramin is a jerk off. Don't waste you breath because he or she will never admit they are wrong. Blinded by their own arrogance.
Your pomposity exceeds you actual level ofmwood
Apr 28, 2002 8:48 AM
Mr. Lazywriter-
There appears to be a substantial disparity between your suggested attitude in relation to posting on a discussion board (stemming from the posting's triviality, its lacking significance in the "big picture") and the level of emotional involvement you display in your own posts, which tend to be vitriolic and more than a little paranoid.
The constant references to "intelligence", the clear thread of feelings of persecution leading to attack...it may be helpful to reflect on what is driving these behaviors prior to issuing yet another challenge for a duel on your megalomaniacal plane.
BTW, I find your posts very interesting, please keep 'em coming!
interesting? now that is an empty word for certain.apamin
Apr 28, 2002 8:57 AM
Vitriolic, yes. Remember, it you are starving for attention you might be suffering from emancipation. signed: ms. malaprop.
Can you say Anal?Ron B
Apr 28, 2002 8:20 AM
Grammar is not necessarily a function of intelligence, nor should it lead to the credibility of a poster on this board.

How does my grammar contribute to my credibility as a poster on this board? If I miss spell a word does that mean I don't know how a bike rides? If I forget a period does that mean I don't know how to train properly? If I don't use quotes properly does that mean I don't know race tactics?

Personally, I would venture to say that those who are most knowledgeable about how a bike rides, feel and fits would have less grammatical skills than somebody that has perfect grammar. The reason? They have spent more time on the road than somebody with perfect grammar and less time in the classroom. They don't care about grammar, only how they can be faster.

Take a look at professional athletics. If I wanted to know about football, basketball or baseball I would want to talk with a pro player/coach. Chances are many of them would have trouble spelling their own name let alone using proper grammar. Does this make them less credible? According to you, YES!

Good grammar is more a function of an anal personality than understanding the rules of spelling and grammar. I generally am conscious of my grammar and spelling only for the reason that I don't like having people such as your self pointing out my grammatical errors. Quite frankly I never gave much attention to english classes and really don't care a whole lot about grammar. I do however have a graduate degree and made it through grad school just fine with my limited grammar skills.

Please take a chill pill and try riding a little more rather than worrying about whether somebody used the correct spelling for a word or misplaced a comma.
If you miss a period you should see a doctor.apamin
Apr 28, 2002 8:29 AM
that's my advice.
I have to disagree...Djudd
Apr 28, 2002 8:54 AM
There is nothing pompous or anal about writing grammatically correct posts. The format is writing and reading, so writing becomes manifestly important. If you are in a dialogue where speaking and responding is important and one party is not speaking clearly, then misunderstandings become more common. This is fact. One does not have to be perfect but being clear and at least trying is polite and makes response easier.

Thank you
Good shot.Soultrain
Apr 29, 2002 2:17 AM
THAT was funny!
Read this post. Ron, couldn't have said it better myself.Lazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 9:04 AM
People come to this board for a certain level of entertainment. Not to fu(king worry wheter or not a comma is in the right place. Like I said before, typos or a conscious ommision of a key grammatical rule has no bearing on how intelligent one is or on the amount of carefulness that would go into checking a document of actual importance. I have been riding road bikes for almost 20 years now and find many of my fellow road riders awfully anal-retentive and pompous. I think it has a lot to do with why they chose cycling as a recreation or sport.
If you think about it, bicycles are a perfect "vehicle" (no pun intended) for an anal-retentive, obsessed with detail weinie to get involved with as far as a hobby is concerned. The mechanisms involved, the precision of the components, the geometry of frames, the angular lines and how the whole bike works in unison for one distinct purpose. It is an obsessive compulsive's wet dream(you know who you are there buddy, LOL). It is this type of person that would actually care about grammar on some insignificant message board.
I think a more legitimate pet peeve is annoying people who care about stupid crap like spelling erros on a bicycling forum.
About yourself.Steve98501
Apr 29, 2002 2:34 PM
Lazywriter,

That you feel your pet peeve is more legitimate than someone else's says far more about your problems than those of the "annoying people" you respond to. So who decides which pet peeves are legitimate, and why should your opinion count any more than anyone's regarding something as personal as pet peeves? Neither you nor I can decide if someone's pet peeve is legitimate. It's theirs alone, unavailable to you and me. Your analytical reasoning reminds me of graduate degrees that can be mail ordered for $49.

Good luck. I think you need it.

My apologies to the rest of the board. I've violated my own rule against responding to obnoxious posts.
The relevance of grammar to RBR forumsJBurton
Apr 28, 2002 9:10 AM
Misuse of grammar is one of my pet peeves. I am amazed that professional sign makers make blatant errors like, "thank's for you're business". When my students email me with barely deciferable paragraphs, I fear for "college kind". No caps...or all caps, no matter...it's just annoying. And, the misuse, or total absence of commas makes for mistaken meaning, flow, or emphasis in the written word.

Having said that, I believe that "to each his own" would be more appropriate in this setting. I don't think that on a message board regarding cycling this should have been brought up. To have tendered this complaint on this forum is a serious faux pas, in my opinion. I am able to be an elitist with the best of them, but you have gone too far. Catching Doug Sloan or other respected posters on this forum with the occasional humorous typos can be funny...no harm done. But this post threatens to ostracize what could be a valuable element on RBR. You may have just sent the message to many, "If you make grammatical errors, we don't want you here to learn about this great sport." What about teenagers just getting into cycling who reference this board? Some of them are still learning about grammar. Would you require that they preview every sentence with grammer check before they ask about how to get into riding? Agreeing with previous posts, command of grammer has little to do with intelligence or bicycling knowledge. We may occasionally require clarification by a confusing post. Is that so difficult? Do we really want people to reference their basic grammer books to post here? We would lose the immediate passion, some of the humor, and we would ALL be guilty at some point. Hell, I probably made several mistakes in this paragraph alone.
Right on.mwood
Apr 28, 2002 9:20 AM
As long as the intended thought is decipherable, I'm with you.
It is the same pompousness that would lead one toLazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 9:28 AM
correct someone's grammar as it is for those to constantly find others in "unturths" about bicycling related posts (ie. what size frame, or wieght of a given bike blah blah)on this board. So many here think they are right and cannot and do not want to be proven otherwise. There seems to be a common trait amongst Roadies which I think stems from the odds that most Roadies here are educated, "successful" people who are competitive by nature and have to be "better" than the next person in everything they do.
I laugh because in my own case, people assume I am some ignorant Guinea from Brooklyn because of my sharp toungue and cynical and sarcastic nature when in reality I am probably smarter than most of those passing judgement on me.
Now I know I will get all kinds of responses that I am some insecure, narcissistic, obnoxious a$$ but as you know, I could care less. Like I said, the smartest guy I ever knew worked in a factory and I have had brilliant professors in undergraduate and graduate school.
My pet peeve is psuedo-intellectuals. You all know who your are.
psuedo-intellectuals?apamin
Apr 28, 2002 9:33 AM
Why you pompous equerry's a$$. You insecure, narcissistic, obnoxious a$$. You ignorant Guinea from Brooklyn. You have nothing but a sharp toungue and cynical and sarcastic nature.

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

I love it!
apamin, you are exaclty the type of person I amLazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 9:54 AM
referring to as evidenced by your little exchange with Djudd on this thread. No matter how smart and witty you think youi may be, there is always someone smarter. Unless of course you are Albert Einstein but he didn't have a pretentious bone in his body. You are on the official Douchebag list.
I thought you were merely an unnatural ingurgitation of your ownapamin
Apr 28, 2002 10:05 AM
offspring. All along I could have swore you were from the South not NY.

Now, just who is keeping this list? I want to make sure they spell my name right. Also, I want to make sure they know what it means. You, of all, ought to know.

Me smart? Me witty? Nah, just having fun. Now, tell me you don't have a belly laugh over all the ruckus you create.
Douchebags are to clean out fetted vaginasLazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 10:58 AM
but the medically community has recently created a conspiracy stating that this practice was unsafe for women to do. Therefore wreaking (reeking as well) havoc on the olfactory bulbs of the male species.
Apamin, go take your medication now and go to sleep. You are not making sense.
"The more ignorant you are the quicker you fight." Will Rogersapamin
Apr 28, 2002 11:13 AM
I suppose you feel that people hit you below the belt. The only problem is that you belt is around your neck.
Your wit is old and tired.Lazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 11:46 AM
In this century, you certainly are not funny. Humor evolves my friend but apparently you must have been sleeping for the past 50 years. Ignorant? That is relative as is humor. However, I am a good judge of what is funny and you for sure are not. You do take the cake for being annoying though. Congratulations and
You're just a Gibsonian cyberpunkClanApis
Apr 28, 2002 11:59 AM
who is dimly aware anything except himself.
Your wit is old and tired.DougSloan
Apr 29, 2002 5:55 AM
Attn: Gregg4bykn
Apr 28, 2002 10:41 AM
Please move this thread to the "GrammarReviewForum."
Not that it is intentional, but I am glad I have supportLazywriter
Apr 28, 2002 10:51 AM
on this one. Man are some of you annoying. Wah Wah Wah, you don't use a comma, or you used there incorrectly. Jesus Fu(king Christ already. Teach your kids to be just like you so they will get the sh$% kicked out of them in school.
One thing to be grammatically correct, and another to be socially retarded. Call me the Humble Police because all you arrogant bastards need to be punched in the back of the head, really hard to quiet your rhetoric.
heyDougSloan
Apr 29, 2002 5:41 AM
Lazywriter, your posts are getting pretty obnoxious and crude. You may get your jollies posting obscenities and crude comments, but to most of us it's nothing more than adolescent graffiti. Your posts in this thread are for the most part juvenile, immature, and are just plain crude.

If you want to be taken seriously, if you want your opinion to count for anything, try cleaning it up and toning it down a bit. It's getting pretty out of hand. You could, with a little thought and effort, make the same points more effectively without all the rude comments and childish name-calling.

Doug
Jeez guys.Sintesi at home
Apr 28, 2002 12:00 PM
The intent of the Kerry's post is that, basically, it's hard to follow what they guy is saying. Is it too much to ask that someone try and get their point across in a way that others can understand? Let us all agree that one must be clear and at least try to be cogent. That's all. This isn't about ridiculous pedantism or sniping about spelling. Kerry's point is well taken from my perspective. Tuffnick is enthusiastic, no doubt, but we can't understand what he's trying to say. Perfect grammar is one thing, basic grammar is another. Let's get a grip here.
Agreedtuffnick
Apr 28, 2002 1:49 PM
Especially, after an accident, my ideas may not come out as well as they should.

Thank you,
Nick Corcoran
Driving Force Behind Podiumbound.ca
im with nickishmael
Apr 28, 2002 2:11 PM
after my numerous accidents i cant be held accountable for anything i do....but, i do recognize all the different spellings mentioned in the first post...go white boy go white boy...i refuse to punctuate on principle, this isnt class and its my party and ill do what i want

john murphy
driving force behind my behind

nick im still waiting for the second by second run-down of the accident..i love gore...your video web page isnt working yet, will that be up there?...i hope so...although that would be funny "and here is nick crashing, please send some money for poor nick"
ACCIDENT!!!tuffnick
Apr 28, 2002 4:18 PM
haha... ya its not working yet. Business is picking up for a lot of companies and the guy who's making it has other projects on the go so I'll for sure get him to get it going... or just email me... nick@podiumbound.ca and I can send it to anyone even. Its a 10 sec clip in quicktime and is under 100 kb so it won't kill your email inbox!

-Nick
Driving force Nicks behind! And also podiumbound.ca because to make a career of cycling especially as an amateur marketting is crucial! And what could be a very cool story one day :) As if hitting my head at 60 km/h isn't already though!
Ha haSintesi at home
Apr 28, 2002 4:25 PM
youb gonna be ridin soon? i like to see that when??? hey, ishmael, you seen that thing about moby dick??? w/ j luc picard?1 looser. okat=y not to bad. it was good. they tried. anyway wish the best to tuff and you. don't let them step on you. !!!!
you also are impossible to understand...ishmael
Apr 28, 2002 4:57 PM
moby dick?...nope i dont watch the tube much...nick-send me the clip johnfrancismurphy2000@yahoo.com...you can send any porn you have on hand too...yes too..not to..or two..im down..
you also are impossible to understand...Sintesi at home
Apr 28, 2002 5:37 PM
hmm.. anyway moby dick was an imporant novel w/ patrick stewart as the starting lead. too bad you did'nt see it. don't know about porno though. if your interested i guess thats cool but idont really get into that. wats with nick thouhg? i'd check out clip but my intenet not so good. why dont you tell me wat its about. much appreciated. i like to ride where u at??
philly is where i amishmael
Apr 29, 2002 5:00 AM
whats with nick?..i dont know, he crashed badly and wants money to race in junior worlds or nationals (i forget which)....what about moby dick, yes ive heard of the book but what about it, does it hold a special place in your heart...
ACCIDENT!!!ishmael
Apr 29, 2002 5:13 AM
i got your mail but i erased it by mistake..but i think you forgot to send the attachment, i do need one right, i dont know much about computers....you said that your glad you seperated from your bike, i just got speedplay pedals and the fact that i could crash and not seperate from my bike kind of scares me, it doesnt seem good...maybe you should just put up your crash on roadbikereview for everyone to view..
Agreed...tuffnick
Apr 29, 2002 10:38 AM
Getting it on here would be great. But how?

Anyways just getting it on the my website is ideal... in 2 formats eventually.

I'm posting an update at the top of the forum.

Nick
-driving force behind PODIUMBOUND.CA powered by Lexicom @ lexi.net AND his own recovery :)
READ THISliu02bhs
Apr 28, 2002 3:19 PM
Since there are so many post on this topic already, I'm not sure how many will read this one.
I do believe grammar is important and everything, but for some people (I for one), it just doesn't make sense. A good comparison would be asking a liberal arts student to do a higher level calculus problem.
Furthermore, when most of us sit down to reply to one of the posts, grammar is not what we have in mind. Come on, people, it's not like we are writing our thesis paper here. Plus, I'm used to typing incoherent sentences because of AIM (AOL Instant Messanger).
Gregg: Please add a spell checker...Bruno S
Apr 28, 2002 8:30 PM
Hotmail has one that works on-line. Sometimes I cut and paste to Word to spell check but its a hasle. An optional spell checker that would work when you are previewing posts would be very nice.
also, grammar checker and attitude checker. :-) nmDougSloan
Apr 29, 2002 5:18 AM
re: A complaint.mackgoo
Apr 29, 2002 4:11 AM
Go for a ride.
re: A complaint.Spoke Wrench
Apr 29, 2002 5:23 AM
I agree to a point, but I also think you can miss a really beautiful forest if you allow yourself to be distracted by a few scraggly trees.
Arrogancespeed-chump
Apr 29, 2002 5:24 AM
From Lazywriter:
"all you arrogant bastards need to be punched in the back
of the head."

From Meriam Webster -
"Arrogant" -exaggerating or disposed to exaggerate one's own worth or importance in an overbearing manner

Back to Lazywriter -
"I am probably smarter than most of those passing judgement
on me"

"I laugh my ass off when I score higher than her on tests"

"Shut up. Sit down"

"Come talk to me when you can correct me on anything of real
importance or at least prove you are intelligent yourself"

"my 'ignorant' ass is considerably more intelligent"

Now let's go back and review the definition of arrogant.
Humble police, indeed. Lazy, you crack me up. If I knew
your adress, I'd send you a medal for being so damn smart.

I stand in awe.

Your humble servant,
Zachary Broussard
Have this discussion on grammarreview.commikebikr
Apr 29, 2002 5:30 AM
I read this forum for information on bikes not English.

If you are so much above us, look elsewhere to find your intellectual equals.
Welcome to "geekreview.com"Largo
Apr 29, 2002 5:50 AM
This is too much. Get a life!!!
Y'all need to go for a nice long ride!Kristin
Apr 29, 2002 5:44 AM
I haven't seen such an extreme case of cabin fever since the blizzard of '78. You have my permission to leave work early today ('cepting Dino, of course). Elevate those heart rates and reduce that blood pressure.
agreeDougSloan
Apr 29, 2002 6:31 AM
There is a difference between mistakes and total laziness. I think the point is to make at least some effort to make your writing readable and somewhat intelligent looking, not to worry about every little detail of typing, spelling, and grammar. No doubt we all will make mistakes. I think it would be pretty idiotic to nitpick others' mistakes. But, some posts are so bad they are difficult to read.