RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Digital Cameras(15 posts)

Digital Camerasjpa
Apr 26, 2002 1:00 PM
What are some of the best digital cameras for cyclists, snowboarders, skiers, etc. What do you folks use?
I don't use a digital...Gregory Taylor
Apr 26, 2002 1:36 PM
I usually buy one of those cheap disposable cameras. Then, instead of getting prints, my local camera shop will put the images onto CD. Yes, I could eventually buy a digital with the money that I spend at the photo shop, but there is also an excellent chance that I would wind up destroying the digital camera romping around on my bike. I've destroyed more than one disposable camera this way...
Just beginning to learn mine...retro
Apr 26, 2002 1:54 PM
I got a Kodak DX3700 for Christmas, but I've had a lot of stuff going on, so I'm just beginning to fool around with it in a semi-serious way.
Picture quality (so far; it may improve) is a notch behind my good point-and-shoot Olympus, but a fairly small notch. Considering the speed and convenience of digital, I've been pleasantly surprised at how it handles fairly difficult conditions of light and contrast. I used to be a pretty serious photographer, even did it for a (meager) living for awhile, and I'm critical of focus--I like SHARP photos. No complaints about that.
It's limited by the lack of optical zoom or a telephoto lens (it does have digital zoom, which I don't like at all), and by the almost complete automation of the picture-taking process, which doesn't give you much room for creativity (it was a gift; I might have bought a slightly more versatile one for myself). The Kodak software that came with it is pretty basic, but you can buy or download other programs that do much more.
Does that sound negative? I don't mean it to--I'm very happy with the camera, mostly because I can take pictures and see them or send them instantly. Image quality is quite good (fine 5x7 prints on my cheap printer, and acceptable 8x10s). I'm still essentially a film guy because I've done that for so long, but I'd buy a digital again in a second.
re: Digital Camerasfirstrax
Apr 26, 2002 1:40 PM
For cyclists, snowboarders, skiers, etc use a disposable and get your prints on CD. Crashing sucks when you carry a 500.00 camera.
re: Digital CamerasJohnG
Apr 26, 2002 1:45 PM
there's a link at the bottom of the main RBR page to the digital camera web site.

Get an inexpensive (<$200) fixed focal length digi and you'll do just fine. It's been a couple of years since I bought mine but I wouldn't be surprised if you can find a sub $200 2 mega-pixel camera.

IMHO, digi is the only way to go for a cheap portable.

JohnG
re: Digital CamerasStmbtDave
Apr 26, 2002 1:47 PM
I've had great luck with a Canon Digital Elph. I originally had an S100 and recently upgraded to an S330. It's the smallest camera with 2 mega pixals. It fits great in a jersey pocket and I keep it in a zip lock bag to keep out the moisture. Yes, it's a lot more $$ than a disposable but I like being able to review the picture and retaking it if I want.
second thatterry b
Apr 26, 2002 8:01 PM
I love mine. size of a pack of cards, metal, great pix.
I use an...MrCelloBoy
Apr 26, 2002 3:08 PM
Olympus C-3040z with a Lowepro DeWitt Jones Chest Strap. This inexpensive and ingenious strap holds the camera against your chest and releases easily for shots while riding. I can re-secure it with one hand.
The Olympus C-series cameras are great quality, not too big and have a great array of manual overrides for those who know how to use them.
re: Digital CamerasMe Dot Org
Apr 26, 2002 3:40 PM
This week I bought an Olympus D-510z for $249 (2.1 Megapixel). 3x Optical Zoom (Careful of cameras which only have Digital Zoom, it can look very pixelated).

I almost got the Canon Elph is a little smaller and lighter. I think the Olympus is a slightly better value, but it does weigh a few ounces more.

Check out the sister site pcphotoreview.com for reviews and more info...
ditto the D-510Z, nice camera....IAmtnbikr
Apr 26, 2002 6:31 PM
I had ordered a Fuji FinePix 2600 in December, only to be in backorder limbo forever. Then the camera shop dropped the price on the Olympus to the same as the Fuji which was alreadly paid for. I like the Olympus, my guess is the Fuji would have been fine too, if it ever had showed up.
Nikon Coolpix 2500jkh
Apr 26, 2002 4:09 PM
I was about to buy the Coolpix 775 until I saw this on Dell's site for $345 shipped.

It's stylish, small, light weight and very good picture quality. My sister has a Canon S300. It's as good, if not better than, as the cp2500; but it costs $100 more.

Go to www.dpphoto.com for reviews.
Check it out!!!coonass
Apr 26, 2002 5:27 PM
www.dpreview.com for reviews
www.epinions.com for best price
www.nextag.com for best pricing
re: Digital Cameras KODAK DX600century2
Apr 26, 2002 6:15 PM
this is a nice camera for a low price
easy downloads - quality pics
re: Digital CamerasDaveG
Apr 27, 2002 5:30 AM
I have an Olympus D230 which works just fine, is 2Mpixels and is under $200. HOWEVER, if you meant a camera to take along with you on rides/tours, I would still recommend a convential, inexpensive 35mm. Bad things can happen to cameras on rides. You can get a acceptable autofocus camera for $60 or less and if something bad happens the pain is reduced. On tour, you would either needs to take multiple memory cards with you with digital or have access to a computer. With 35mm you can mail the rolls home or to the developer.
Just went through this..Jekyll
Apr 27, 2002 6:14 AM
I wanted a small, cheap, OK quality camera to take snap shots during rides (mostly MTB). Eventual destruction of said camera in a fall was a large consideration in the amount to be spent.
For the price of 5 disposables (~$50) I got a Canon Elph APS which weighs around 4oz and is roughly the size of a standard deck of cards. Takes good pictures (for a point and shoot), cheap and I will not cry if I fall on it off road.
I have a digital camera built in to my Sony Camcorder which works fairly well but at $1400 I would really hate to land on it.