RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


new computer time. wireless. suggestions?(13 posts)

new computer time. wireless. suggestions?JS Haiku Shop
Apr 25, 2002 12:37 PM
i've read the reviews and also done a search on the board, and read all the results.

so, i'm looking at the cateye cordless 2, or the cateye cordless 2. really, also considering the '02 specialized computers, though the "elite" has a corded sensor for cadence.

experiences? other suggestions? i'm wanting a clean look. it's going on a chromed fork, and the bike is campy equipped (no flight deck).

TIA
for what it's worth...DougSloan
Apr 25, 2002 1:01 PM
I have a couple of Cateye Cordless II's, Mity 3's, the one with the hr monitor built in, and the altimeter one. All of the corded ones use the same mount and wiring, which means they are interchangeable.

I had lots of problems with the cordless ones; it seems their transmission distance is very short. They would not reach the computer on aerobars.

The Mity 3 is pretty straight forward. The best thing is that it has very large numbers, making it easier to read.

The hr moniter version is nice because you don't have to wear or mount a separate watch-type monitor. It's very clean. The downside is that the numbers are pretty small and hard to read. It also does hr averaging, but no limit alarms. I like to have an upper limit alarm, especially, for timetrials.

The altimeter version is nice if you ride in very hilly or mountainous terrain, especially if you are on new routes. Ever been on one of those long climbs where you find more and more climbing around every turn? With this, if you know the summit altitude, you know how much more climbing you have to go. It works pretty well.

I had lots of problems with Specialized, mounts breaking, transmission, etc. I don't trust them, but the more recent ones may have gotten better.
for what it's worth...JS Haiku Shop
Apr 25, 2002 1:07 PM
thanks. i also have several of the mity 3s and have used the enduro 2, which is pretty much the same. also bought a couple of the velo 1s when they were being blown-out, stored the heads, and used the cradles/mounts as either replacments or mounts for a second bike. this grew into using a "pool of computers" and recording each ride's info in a ride log with bike-specific information (which bike used, which wheelset, etc.), to track wear and for maintenance. i was considering breaking with this for the new bike, but--what you're saying matches to the negatives in the archives and reviews, and brings me back to the mity 3 again...which i can get for $15.

thanks!
follow-up for Doug:woodes
Apr 26, 2002 3:56 AM
I also like the clean concept of an integrated HR monitor and computer. Is the Cateye accurate? The reviews on this site are mixed at best. Thanks
accurate?DougSloan
Apr 26, 2002 5:29 AM
Not sure what you mean. I have no reason not to believe it's accurate. I always calibrate my speedos with rollout measurments. As for the hr monitor, I never tried to "calibrate."
I've done bothterry b
Apr 25, 2002 1:18 PM
Great experience with both the Cateye Cordless (2 bikes) and the Specialized Speedzone wireless (4 bikes.) Also have used Trek's wireless and a wireless unit by VDO from Bicycle World (nice presentation but somewhat confusing.)

No transmission or accuracy problems. I like the way the Specialized works from a setting and button standpoint but the Cateye is not that obtuse. I don't think the Cateye has a speed comparator (are you riding +/- your average) but again that might be minor.
re: new computer time. wireless. suggestions?Jekyll
Apr 25, 2002 3:08 PM
I've had good luck with Sigma wireless (1400, 1200, Targa). No transmission or interference problems (with itself, other computers or heart rate monitors).
I also have an Enduro 2 which works great and have had a pair of Specialized (forget which ones, but they were wired) which died pretty quickly (bad mode buttons on both).
As an aside, has anyone seen a wireless computer that tracks altitude? I had looked at the Ciclosport CM 414 Alti M Downloadable Computer/Altimeter ( http://www.performancebike.com/shop/Profile.html?SKU=14275 )which is wired but does seem to have a lot of bang for a LOT of buck.... Anyone seen something like this in a wireless package?
It is wireless.Ian
Apr 26, 2002 4:25 AM
That Ciclosport computer is wireless, I have one. The grade and altitude functions are great, plus the watts / power feature is cool.

Ian
Hey Ian....Jekyll
Apr 26, 2002 7:19 AM
Thanks for the info. Do you have the downloadable version (414 M)? If so, what do you think of the computer interface - is it worth the extra bucks?

Thanks
Axiom 8.0Wzooog
Apr 25, 2002 3:35 PM
I have used an Performance Axiom 8.0 wireless for about 1 year. Flawless so far. Easy to use but it doesn't come with ALL functions like cadence. And I think they are on sale right now...good luck
Ditto on the Axiom 8.0WCartman
Apr 25, 2002 6:09 PM
Going on year three w/ mine.
Ditto on the ditto for Axiom 8.0Wbianchi boy
Apr 25, 2002 7:35 PM
1-1/2 years now with the Axiom wireless with no problems. Hard to beat for $40, although it doesn't have cadence.
re: new computer time. wireless. suggestions?Maverick
Apr 25, 2002 9:22 PM
get the cateye cordless, it's bullet proof. no problems so far. i don't trust the specialized coz i've heard lots of problems fr my fellow riders. it's unreliable.