RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Satisfaction due to price.(17 posts)

Satisfaction due to price.Icefrk13
Apr 25, 2002 10:33 AM
This is just a question to the masses. How many people are out ther that will say a product is the sh!t because they spent way to much money on it. Hmmmm

Matt
Not I...eschelon
Apr 25, 2002 10:41 AM
I am downright annoyed...but in this hobby, you get what you pay for.
let's rephrase...mr_spin
Apr 25, 2002 10:44 AM
You bought something you don't like. How much more money would you have to spend on it before you start liking it?
Personally, I'd be more liable to say something stunk...floatch
Apr 25, 2002 10:45 AM
if it didn't live up to my expectations after spending lots of money!
And the inverse...mwood
Apr 25, 2002 11:13 AM
I LOVE stuff that you get cheap/free which works extremely well.
E.G. I have a grand total of $300 approx. in my road bike. It is a Shimano 600 equipped (works perfectly with STI), Cannondale 2.8 series racing 900 which was given to me, ex-wheelset and saddle. One set of Mavic Cosmos and a Selle Italia saddle later, I'm in business on a light, responsive, bike which fills my needs for the 40-60 mile rides with lots of climbing involved that I typically do. Does beat you up on long rides though and earns negative poser points...particularly when I wear my mtb helmet.
Agreedlaffeaux
Apr 25, 2002 11:37 AM
If something is cheap, my expectations are low, and if it is a crappy product, I'm not disappointed. However, if I pay a lot for it, my expectations are high, and if it stinks I say so. I recently (6 months) ago bought a full-suspension frame. After a few months of trying to get it to climb the way I expect a mountain bike to climb, I'm giving up and selling the frame. Why continue to pour money into a lost cause. Cut your loses and move on. Thanks to eBay, it's a lot easier to do these days.
Somethings yes, others noDave Hickey
Apr 25, 2002 10:48 AM
IMHO,
Chris King Headsets- $100+ Hands down, the best component compared to the competition. The most worry free component on my bike.

As much as I like the looks of the Campy Carbon cranks, I cannot see spending $799 for a crankset. I saw the new World Cycling catalog and they're list Colnago carbon cranks for $899. Other than looks or cool factor, I don't think they're that much better than alloy cranks.
Somethings yes, others nopaper warrior
Apr 25, 2002 12:56 PM
Ritchey headsets- $30. the most worry free component on my bike as well.
Somethings yes, others noelviento
Apr 25, 2002 2:16 PM
I had a $35 made in China bike for about 6 years. Rode about 10 miles every day during high school and used it for other errands. Never had any problem with the headset either, except for changing the bearings once. I just have not had much trouble with headsets although people seem to think it's one of the most important components.
re: Satisfaction due to price.weiwentg
Apr 25, 2002 11:28 AM
there is such a thing - a psychological phenomenon known as cognitive dissonance. to use a cycling example, the cognitions 'I spent $3000 on a TCR 0' and 'my TCR is a piece of crap' are dissonant - they cannot exist together. what happens is that we will change one of the dissonant cognitions - e.g. 'my TCR ROCKS!!!!!'.
of course, I got my TCR pretty cheap, so if it were a piece of crap I would not hesitate to say so. I would've said Litespeed, but we all know what would happen :P
not trying to pull anyone's chain here. that was tongue in cheek.
One personality trait of the species poseur typicalis.Quack
Apr 25, 2002 11:30 AM
Giving something merit based on nothing but the cost would definitely fall into the poseur's bag of tricks. Now, if the component actually is superior in some respect and just happened to cost a lot of money, that's different. A realist would be completely honest with his/herself about the true value of an item and not deceive others to save face for being taken for a financial ride.
I like stuff that worksgtx
Apr 25, 2002 11:45 AM
I have very high expectations when it comes to frames, tires, shoes and pedals--and I'm generally willing to spend whatever it takes to get the best stuff for my purposes (within reason--I have no problem spending $250 for shoes but would begin to question the spending more than $1200 or so on a frame/fork--I also tend to keep/use things for a very long time). The rest of the stuff just has to meet my basic weight and durability requirements--for these items, the more I spend, the more I expect (ie lower weight and better durability). Most of the stuff I use I have been using for many many years--I have no issues with these items and don't really think about them that much (for example Concor seats, Cinelli bars and stems, Mavic rims, etc.).
good stuff for good prices, and model-year issues with bike gearJS Haiku Shop
Apr 25, 2002 11:59 AM
those nike shoes that were $89 when they came out two years ago were <$20 when i got them new, online, last summer. they work like i'd expect $40 (retail) shoes would, so i figure i got an ok deal.

the hydration pack that retailed at $90 when it came out last year was <$50 when i got it new, online, this year. it was worth $90, but i would not have paid the full amount. i'd have been happy to pay $75 for it.

the specialized mtb shoes that were $65+ last year are now $14 online. same shoes, just not the current model-year. hmmm............

ah, those elite ciussi bottle cages. i love those cages. $14-16 at local shops, $7.50 online. i know this is not a local shop versus catalog/internet thread, but it's applicable to the topic. i figure these things are worth about $5 each, but i'm willing to pay $7.50 because it feels like i'm stealing them, and i like those brass buttons.
Um, nope.djg
Apr 25, 2002 12:03 PM
I don't mean that I'm immune to marketing/hype/opinions of others--the magic objective rider--but generally, when I pay lots for something my expectations go up. If they're not met, I'm not happy. I'm not going to try to con some other poor sap into getting suckered (just seems kind of nuts to me).
re: Satisfaction due to price.NJRoad
Apr 25, 2002 12:19 PM
I think I actually enjoy things more when I know I got such a bargain. Never thought I'd drop $180 for a pair of Sidi's, but I had no problem with paying $120 at my LBS when they were the last pair (which just happened to be my size) in a color that has been called "twinkle toes blue". But they fit and they're not as goofy (argueably) as my MTB shoes on a road bike.
It is obvious. Bike manufacturers have acheived perfection.Sintesi
Apr 25, 2002 12:26 PM
Have you noticed the number of 5 star reviews for almost every bike and product in the review section?

Actually this may not be so far off the mark. The quality of goods has gone up considerably and the avg. bike shmo (me) is easily pacified until the next doodad comes out.
re: Satisfaction due to price.Icefrk13
Apr 25, 2002 1:37 PM
My reason for this post was just to see what others thought. This line of conversation was brought up at work regarding some computer parts. And a couple of the guys admitted in hind site that they were not honest with othr about how the felt due to the price the paid.