RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


catalog rant and shorts question(11 posts)

catalog rant and shorts questionzooog
Apr 25, 2002 8:32 AM
I have been checking out dif't e-sites and what is out there and the difference in shipping charges just astound me. One place charges a reasonable shipping charge and another is just outrageous. One place wanted $9.95 for a PI jersey to be shipped. I cannot understand how they can justify some of these rates---this was my rant

Shorts question....any opinion on velowear shorts Vs. a eourpean made short specifically a nilani and santini(spelling??) I checked out sdeals.com and they have some nice deals(shipping and tax is reasonable). Just wondering any ones opinion. I could not find any US based e-sites with these brands except bikejerseys.com and I cannot accept their return policies. Any other euproean or US site that can be recommended would be appreciated
My opinion -RhodyRider
Apr 25, 2002 8:49 AM
I think Voler shorts (I wear bibs) are actually a bit better made and more comfortable than the Santini bibs I have. Mind you, Santini are quite nice, but the Voler Cantara pad just fits me better. The construction is top-notch, and the fabric is a perfect thickness. I've personally found no better value & fit than Voler. Plenty of color choices, and some designs too. (FYI I wear size XL, I'm almost 6'2" and 215#.)
bikejerseys.comsteve1244
Apr 25, 2002 8:55 AM
FWIW, I've placed two orders w/bikejerseys.com, one for two jerseys and another for a pair of Santini bibs and Nalini shorts. I really like the quality of the clothing, especially the Santini bibs.

I found their shipping to be quite reasonable and their customer service to be top-notch. Taking into account their pricing and the quality of the goods they sell, I think they're a great option that you might want to look at again.
bikejerseys.com-dittodzrider
Apr 25, 2002 9:29 AM
I also like the Santini Oltre bibs and with their guidance got a good fit. The straps are much sturdier than the Nalini straps and don't slip off my shoulders every few seconds when I'm not on the bike. Long Cycles has some good deals too.
If you are worried about correct fit from bikejerseys..Lone Gunman
Apr 25, 2002 9:23 AM
deal with Hank, he asks some specific body measurement questions and gets it right because he knows what he sells very well. Weight and measurements are key with them.
and gladly swaps them out if they don't fitterry b
Apr 25, 2002 9:55 AM
as has happened with me on a couple of occasions. Hank is absolutely the best as are his products and prices.
voler ...tarwheel
Apr 25, 2002 9:42 AM
Check out the voler shorts, bibs and jerseys at www.velowear.com. Their clothes are very good quality and priced reasonably. They have a good fitting chart posted on their website. And if the clothes don't fit, they include a postage paid envelope for returns or exchanges.
second that...heloise
Apr 25, 2002 11:53 AM
plus if you sign up for their e-mail list you get offers of free shipping.
once i missed the 'free shipping' date by a day or two, and the salesperson included it anyways. very cool!
re: catalog rant and shorts questionflying
Apr 25, 2002 11:32 AM
Try living in Hawaii !!
Colorado Cyclist treats us like we are in Russia or something.
I had wanted to try one of their Powerline bibs.
They wanted 18 bucks to ship it !!!!!!!!!!!
Forget it they will not see a dime from me. I even wrote them & said " Hey dont you think this is excessivee? "
They said well sorry ;-( They send priority air mail to apo's or military but nobody else.

Yet I buy stuff from Excel sports in Colorado all the time & their shipping is always way resonable.

Another good one has been World Cycling Productions.
They have always done me well in shipping & even recently refunded me 15 bucks when I got a DeMarchi Jersey on closeout that dropped another 15 in price while mine was in transit. Nice of them eh?

As for your question I have Voler,Santini,Nalini & Castelli. They are all great I tend to wear the Santini & Nalini's most though. I got them at http://www.bikejerseys.com/cyclingjerseys/

Hank is really great to deal with & only charged 6 bucks for Priority Air Mail + gave free candy & water bottle!!
Hard to beat that deal eh?

Good Luck,
Mike
re: catalog rant and shorts questionsteve1244
Apr 25, 2002 12:23 PM
Dude --

Where in Hawaii do you live? Is the riding good? My wife and I spent our honeymoon on Kauai and Maui in November of last year. One of the saddest days of my life was the day we had to leave.

Only problem, I'd weigh 300 lbs. if I lived there. All that potato-mac salad and lau lau wouldn't be good for my figure.
re: catalog rant and shorts questionflying
Apr 25, 2002 10:32 PM
I am on the Big Island of Hawaii.
The one with the active Volcanoes ;-)

Yeah you gotta watch the food it can get ya. Taste too good.
Kaui & Maui are beautiful.
I always spent my summers camping on Kaui when I was a kid.
I have been to Maui twice to race the Cycle to the Sun.
0 to 10,023 feet in 36 miles. Ouch ;-)