RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


mtb pedals on new road bike(9 posts)

mtb pedals on new road bikef86sabjf
Apr 24, 2002 3:45 PM
hi Everyone

Trying to keep peace with my wife.She's LETTING me step off of my $300 mountain bike and step up to a cannondale road bike.
She asked me what i would need and i started rattling off
new shoes and pedals,helmet!!!!!!!Enter the big hairy eyeball from my wife {oops big mistake}Do you think i should stay married or get the stuff.Oh Yeah will I get laughed off my new bike for wearing mtb shoes and pedals?Oh well back to my knitting

Thanks
jeff
I really dig my new eggbeaters... -NMfloatch
Apr 24, 2002 3:54 PM
re: mtb pedals on new road bikelaffeaux
Apr 24, 2002 3:56 PM
I ride with old 737 mountain SPDs and mountain shoes all the time. I've never had anyone laugh at me. Mountain pedals weight more, but in my opinion are much easier to get into and are easier to walk around in. Unless you race, I'm not sure why you'd use anything else.
What kind of pedals?czardonic
Apr 24, 2002 3:59 PM
Could be that you only need to replace the shoes, which I think would get you more bang for your buck, style wise.

I can't imagine concerning myself with the opinion of someone who laughed at me for using MTB gear on a road bike. I'd say just go with what you've got if it is going to be a point of contention around the house.
What kind of pedals?f86sabjf
Apr 24, 2002 4:06 PM
Hi czardonic

I'm using time mtb pedals and cannondale mtb shoes.I guess your right about the concern part, they have to catch me first and if they do i'll just try and get a tow when they go buy.As far as contention is concerned she would just say no way and i would say yes mam.Its worked pretty good for 10 years.

Thanks
Jeff
What kind of pedals?czardonic
Apr 24, 2002 5:17 PM
For both situations i'd go with "if it ain't broke. . ."

I am currently graduating from mtb to road too. I just built up a road-frame based fixed commuter and even with one gear I feel like I'm on a rocket compared to my old rig. Fun stuff.
re: mtb pedals on new road bikeLC
Apr 24, 2002 4:35 PM
I road that way for years and it was not till I started racing that I felt strong enough to feel like changing did any good. Unless I am climbing in the big ring, or some hard effort like that I can not really tell much difference. I did have fairly stiff MTB shoes though.
re: mtb pedals on new road bikedavee
Apr 24, 2002 5:19 PM
I use mtb pedals and shoes, and could have made 3 mortgage payments with the $$ I spent on my bike. Of course, I also have a handlebar bag, mirror, and often ride wearing $10 sun glasses and cotton t-shirts, so my opinion is certainly suspect. Nonetheless, I say if it works for you, use it.
here's a good combinationAllUpHill
Apr 24, 2002 7:34 PM
A guy I know took his bike to a race a few weeks ago thusly equipped: Klein road frame, Record cranks, XT rear deraileur & cassette (for the 30-something tooth cog), Dura Ace everything else. Hmm, come to think of it, he had mtb pedals of some kind on there too. He normally rides with a road cassette and derailleur, but wanted the extra low end for this ride without putting on a triple. I'd never seen such a wide variety of parts on one bike before, but no one cared or commented (or noticed for the most part). I thought it was kind of quool actually.

Is "thusly" a word ?