RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any Info on these Bikes?(Viner Comp., Zeus, Yeti, Cinelli and more)(19 posts)

Any Info on these Bikes?(Viner Comp., Zeus, Yeti, Cinelli and more)ADKBiker
Apr 24, 2002 8:40 AM
I been shopping around for a bike for a while now. And I decided to go with a Lemond Zurich (nice bike!). But I ran into a web site that has Italian and USA Bikes for $1600 or Less. Some of the manufacturers/Bikes are Viner Competition, Viner T10 Pro Team V5, Zeus Roubaix, Yeti Road Project, Cinelli, Pegoretti, Palosanto, Basso and more. I have heard a few of these brands but don't know too much about them. Is there anyone out there that rides these bike and can give their opinion on the bike. Should I consider one of these bikes or go with the Lemond? These is going to be my first road bike (Mtn. biked for 12 years). Any info?
Thanks!
Viner and GVHjstonebarger
Apr 24, 2002 8:54 AM
As far as the bikes go, I can only personally vouch for Viner--they're very nice bikes from a very reputable dealer. I own two Viner frames (ProTeam and Evolution) and highly recommend them.

From your description I'm guessing that the website you refer to is GVH. You can't go wrong with Gary Hobbs. If you have specific questions he seems more than happy to help you out. His work is impeccable. The only reason I would buy from anyone else would be to support a local bike shop.
gvh bikes arent the bestishmael
Apr 24, 2002 1:27 PM
another person on here and i have had bad experiences with him..yes he's a nice guy to talk to but thats not enough
Be specific please!Justride
Apr 24, 2002 8:15 PM
With all due respect for your opinion, I feel you should be more specific about your problems with GVH if you are going to keep posting negative comments with no details. I know a lot of people that have had great experiences buying from him. Seems like basic fair play to me. IMHO.
Be specific please!Duke249
Apr 25, 2002 5:04 AM
Go back into the road bike photo gallery and look for a Red Cinelli Genius. There were many comments posted on the poor service from GVHBikes.
Be specific please!ishmael
Apr 25, 2002 5:14 AM
being specific everytime gets long...the last time i posted a negative comment was when i listed (and another fellow list also) our beef with him...i dont remember his problems exactly but like mine it was something that was not overlookable, it seemed he knew what he was doing when he sent a slightly bum bike...my problems were that the chain rubbed the frame in the smallest cog (the chainstay wasnt pinched) and the seat post binder didnt hold the post without adding a washer to the seatbinder bolt, which he did and in doing so took the paint off..now that i remember more, he also offered to replace the casette with a record one as a solution to the rubbing problem, he said it was more tightly spaced than the chorus one i had....not only does this sound doubtful now that i know more about bikes but also I THOUGHT I HAD JUST BOUGHT A RECORD CASETTE!!! the rest of the bike is record, but it seems i had gotten a chorus casette..he offered to reimburse me for the chainstay pinch job if i took it to a local builder and he sent me a different casette and i had to sent back the old one ...i didnt speak up like i shouldve, business deals make me uncomfortable and im too easy to conceed...i didnt get the frame pinched but instead had it ride with the rear wheel seated at the lowest point in the dropout with the adjustment screws to support it, im not sure (id like to know) but this doesnt seem like there intended purpose, alot of weight on little screws...
Specifics? Here are mine.terry b
Apr 25, 2002 5:30 AM
How about this - my fun experience with a used Calfee Tetra Pro.

1) Go out for my first ride and suffer from severe rubbing in the FD any time I'm out of the saddle. Check the crank bolt - it's essentially hand tight. Torque it to the right spec - inner CR rubs on the stay. Talk to him, his answer, "you should be fine with it slightly loose, or you can ship it back and I'll put some spacers on it."

I messed around with this for weeks before I called Calfee. Craig's answer, "oh yea, older frames do not work with the splined bottom bracket. Your choice - spacers or grind away a little of the stay.

I finally decided it was due to the triple, so I converted to a double. Big surprise came when I stripped out my BB wrench trying to get the BB out. New splined tool and a 24 inch crescent wrench later and guess what - aluminum BB cups installed in a Ti shell with no Ti Prep, grease or whatever. Lucky I got it out at all. Anyway, same problem with double crank, ended up sanding down the stay.

2)cracked and frayed front brake cable housing. aksed him about it, didn't take the bait and did not offer to replace.
(we'll blame UPS for this)

3)left his shop with the chain rubbing so bad in 53x11 as to make it unuseable. He gladly swapped me out for a 12 that worked, but it never should have left the shop.

4)Headset nut delivered finger tight.

5)Front wheel with a 1" (yes inch) wobble. (Let's blame UPS again)

6)most petty of all, the bar tape was wrapped backwards.

7)dumb little things like wire beaded tires in the build package.

I think he's a really nice guy, great to talk to and he has good deals. Unfortunately a deal that's too good to be true is often that. Certainly was in my case. No ones defaming him as a person, but I do think his mechanical skills leave something to be desired.

I'll be interested to see if we get any reports when people start pulling their bottom brackets for routine maintenance.
another thingishmael
Apr 25, 2002 6:03 AM
i forgot to mention that the tires that came with it were definately and obviously defective...they were so loose on the rims that i could easily stick a couple finger through to the other side of the rim under the tire... within 10 minutes of getting on the bike they blew off the rim, thank god it wasnt during that insanely excited fast turn i took...i had to send these back too..
Thanks!Justride
Apr 25, 2002 8:26 AM
I am glad you all took the time to be specific about your problems with Gary. As I stated I know of several people that were very happy with their dealings with him. With the info. you have presented maybe future customers refered by posts on this forum will be more cautious and maybe Gary will get wind of this feedback and try to address these type of issues before they happen.
Thanks!terry b
Apr 25, 2002 9:47 AM
As cycling consumers, I think we sometimes mistake "being a good guy" with "being a good bike mechanic." Gary is a really nice guy - helpful, reasonable, bends over backwards to make the deal easy. I've bought other bikes from guys on line who had zero customer service skills but when that bike arrived it was professionally built with no out of the box problems. Being a nice guy isn't going to help you when the BB needs routine replacement after 2 years and the cups are soft welded to the shell. I never would've discovered the BB installation problem had I not had the overt crank issue. As I said earlier, we'll see how his reputation holds up if some of the happy customers discover the same internal things I found on mine.
re: Any Info on these Bikes?(Viner Comp., Zeus, Yeti, Cinelli and more)t-bill
Apr 24, 2002 9:33 AM
I considered buying a bike from GVH. I heard very good things about him on this site. I sent him a few e-mails and he always replied promptly and knowledgably. In the end I decided to buy a used bike... also on this site. Used bikes are a great way to get a very good deal, but you definitely have to do your homework. Anyway... I bought a Cinelli Supercorsa and love it. I really like the ride of steel, and love the Italian styling. The tubing is diminutive - even for a steel bike - and is lugged. It's great for me (185 lbs. and not a racer), but might not be great for a heavier rider.

Best of luck!
Yetijtolleson
Apr 24, 2002 9:39 AM
Is leaving the road bike biz this year. To me, I'd snag a Yeti at a closeout price, but not for full retail. If you ever had a frame warranty claim (yes, I know, they aren't common) there would be no replacement frame to get.
I have a VinerIcefrk13
Apr 24, 2002 9:44 AM
I have a Viner evolution and I love it. Bought from Gary Hobbs best bike ever and he fit me over the phone better than any on at any of the LBS I had been at.
Well, if it fits, there'sdjg
Apr 24, 2002 9:49 AM
nothing wrong with the Lemond. A friend of mine has a custom Pegoretti (I can't actually remember the model, but it's built from Deda's EOM 16.5 tubes, which are pretty trick). Close to my size, but a bit small, and my test ride was brief, but I'd say it's a top quality steel road bike--very smooth, but also very stiff in the bb/rear triangle. Pegoretti has a very good rep for a smaller Italian builder. Same friend also has an old Litespeed.

Viner, Cinelli (now owned by Columbus), and Basso have been around a long time. All make some good road bikes--though what suits you is beyond me. Zeus is a Spanish company--I believe it's the same company as Orbea (which the Euskatel Euskadi team rides).
Where are these bikes made?ADKBiker
Apr 24, 2002 11:31 AM
Where are these bikes made? (Viner, Zeus, Pegoretti, Cinelli, Basso). Are they made in Italy, Taiwan, or some where else? Does any one know if they have lifetime warranty? Thanks
Where are these bikes made?Icefrk13
Apr 24, 2002 11:39 AM
Viner is made in Italy. there website is http://www.viner.it/viner1.htm I am not sure about the others. I think one of the other posters had mentioned it above.
Where are these bikes made?t-bill
Apr 24, 2002 11:47 AM
I believe that Zeus is Spanish and all the rest are Italian. Whether the all the repsective companies' bikes are acutally manufactured in the home country or not is questionable. Most probably are with those companies.

You'll have to check with the companies (web-sites), or call/e-mail Gary at GVH for warranty info.
i ride a Casati Cometawernma
Apr 24, 2002 4:55 PM
I just got it today from GVH Bikes. The bike is beautiful. I set it up and tested it out for about 3 miles this afternoon. The bike feels great and GVH's service was excellent. I plan on riding about 20 miles tomorrow and will be able to evaluate the feel of the bike a little better.
re: Any Info on these Bikes?(Viner Comp., Zeus, Yeti, Cinelli and more)Mack
Apr 24, 2002 6:28 PM
I'd get the Zurich. What a sweet bike! I'm assuming you've ridden one and like it? Why bother guessing with internet deals? I'd also strongly recommend buying from a local bike shop for a whole bunch of reasons - test rides, service, support the cycling community, etc.

Good luck!