RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I know, Old Question - DA or Record(13 posts)

I know, Old Question - DA or RecordB2
Apr 23, 2002 6:54 PM
Well I finally bit the big one. I just ordered a C40. I am curently running DA on a Colnago Ovalmaster and am very satisfied with the group. I had intended on building the C40 with DA also, but started having second thoughts. Am I being overly critical in thinking it DA just isn't "right" for a C40?

The price difference is negligible between DA and Record. Which would you get and why?

Thanks,
Bryan
re: I know, Old Question - DA or Recordboneman
Apr 23, 2002 11:10 PM
The thought of Italian components on an Italian frame is personal rather than functional. If you're even thinking about it, perhaps you should go ahead and buy the Campagnolo but then again you have DA on the Ovalmaster.

The biggest issue for me, cassette compatibility, actually lack thereof, is probably the biggest decision you have to make if you already have wheels for Shimano 8/9 cassettes. There are a few specialty manufacturers for 10 speed cassettes for use on a Shimano type freehub but the cog combinations were not to my liking as I no longer race.

I ride both DA-9 and Campy Record 10. Sure, there are differences but for me, the biggest are 9 cogs versus 10 cogs. After that, it's the chain and need to use the Campy tool for their Perma Link. The chain, and questions about durability were initially my biggest concern. However, its turned out to be a non-issue. Both gruppos perform well and are highly functional. The look cool factor, for me, is definitely in favor of Campy with their carbon levers and rear derailleur body.

I live in Europe and DA is still less expensive. Cost wise, Chorus is more competitive when compared to DA. Performance differences between Chorus and Record are not great.

You might find these two links to be helpful although the first is decidely pro-Campy.





Good luck with this ever so vexing question.
re: I know, Old Question - DA or Recordpmf1
Apr 24, 2002 6:20 AM
I have DA on my C-40. Good enough for Mapei, good enough for me.

In all honesty, the only reason I chose it over Record (which does look cooler) is that I have 2 other DA bikes. My wife also has a DA bike (and I built her up a C-40 as well --- no, they don't match). We have lots of Shimano compatable wheels, tools, cassettes, etc. The cost is just too big to justify. And, Record does cost about $400 more. That adds up when you're doing two bikes.

If the price were the same, I'd get the Record, sell it on e-bay and put DA on the bike.

ps -- you're going to be pleased with the bike.
This record owner says DA.djg
Apr 24, 2002 8:15 AM
I have no complaints about my record group--works well, looks cool. But anybody that tells you that switching from Shimano to Campy will radically change your life (or even your experience of cycling) is delusional. Having used Shimano in the past, I'm inclined to say: (a) there's nothing wrong with it; (b) compatibility between bikes can be pretty useful--that would settle it for me; and (c) you might as well stick with what's already working for you.
agree...that's mostly why i stick with campyColnagoFE
Apr 24, 2002 9:38 AM
I'm used to it. I assume if I had DA I'd keep buying DA. Why relearn how to shift if you don't need to?
Ya'll are being way too civil. This is a ..............Dave Hickey
Apr 24, 2002 10:33 AM
Campy vs Shimano debate. Just kidding. The reason I keep using Dura Ace is it's because that's what I'm use to. I wouldn't want to spend $1000 for Record and find out I liked Dura Ace better.
DA is cheaper to boot.grzy
Apr 24, 2002 1:07 PM
Gotta look at the cost of buying components and the required tools. At least with DA tools almost everything works for the MTB world. If you run Campy for the road and own an MTB then you need two sets of specific tools. Just compare the price of rear deraieurs and ask yourself if it's really worth it. Then price the Permalink chain tool and really ask yourself if it's worth it. Some will say that you don't need the tool or to even run the Campy 10 chain, but the point is still the same. Look at the BB tools.
DA or RecordMrCrud
Apr 24, 2002 8:48 AM
I have to agree, both are pretty much on par for overall quality. Where they differ though is in feel. Campy in general feels a lot more solid. When shifting, the change in gears is more positive. I also love that fact that everything Campy makes is fully re-buildable and you can get most parts pretty quick ( a big plus for shifters if you ask me, i've seen too many Shimano shifters break, and they only sell them by the pair!! ouch! )

To give you an idea on the flexibility of Campy, i have 97 Record shifters. If i want to get the 10spd group, i can simply change one little part ( part costs around 50$ ) in my right shifter, and voila, 10spd shifters!!

The choice is really up to you, but the best way to really know is to try both side by side.

Mr.Crud
Thanks for the InputB2
Apr 24, 2002 10:50 AM
Sounds like no one is set on one versus the other.

I can get the Record group for $920 (with headset & without hubs) so I'm not really thinking the price difference is enough to sway me one way or the other.

I'll probably sell the Ovalmaster as a complete bike so I won't have old components to transfer or compatiblity issues to deal with.

I do however own a Flight Deck computer and like it. If I went with Campy, I'd have to buy a new one. Unlike Shimano, it appears that they don't use the virtual cadence and therefore require a sensor and magnet at the cranks. Doesn't sound very appealing.

I'll probably get flamed on this one, but I like the idea of 13/29 cassette. I ride a lot of steep hills and am currently using a 12/27 DA cassette. If I decide later that the 13/29 is too far over the line, I can always buy a more "standard" cassette at a later date.

having said all that, I'm still not sure which way to go. I'll have to decide in the next couple weeks.

Thanks for the input,
Bryan
Thanks for the InputJS Haiku Shop
Apr 24, 2002 11:37 AM
i'm far from a c40 with record. more like inexpensive aluminum with 105, but pretty much the same types of issues. buying a (an additional) new bike, and finally decided on campy. have two aluminum/105 bikes at home, so not worried about backups in case one is down for work or waiting for parts. so, instead of ultegra (wasn't considering DA), i opted for chorus.

if this is not a concern for you, then why not record? what it came down to for me was the threat of regret. i'm pretty sure i won't regret chorus, but would likely have regretted NOT getting chorus, even if i was happy with ultegra on the new bike. aside from that, variety is good. i agree that there are obvious issues with learning different techniques with shifting and otherwise, but, really--unless you're at a high-level of racing on this bike, what's the harm? i think it will be a nice change and put a little extra interest in my rides.

also, i agree on your 13/29 thoughts. good to have nearly-triple gearing if you want it, but swap out with lower gears and closer range when you don't. i'm going with the 13/29 from the start, and will invest in a taller cassette later.
re: I know, Old Question - DA or RecordGalibier
Apr 24, 2002 12:13 PM
I use DA, mostly out of habit. However, if I were to buy a C40, I'd put Record on it. Just my opinion.
Some things just need to be a certain wayDougSloan
Apr 24, 2002 1:21 PM
I have 2 bikes with DA and one with Record. They both work equally well.

However, you are probably buying a C40 rather than a Trek for a reason, and it has nothing to do with durability, ride, performance, weight, or anything like that.

Here is what it should look like, in my opinion: http://www.midcalracing.com/c40.htm
re: I know, Old Question - DA or Recordmackgoo
Apr 24, 2002 1:35 PM
Campy. Because it's the only option.