RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Unicycle(18 posts)

UnicycleSkip
Apr 23, 2002 3:30 PM
Anyone ride a unicycle?
"Anyone ride a unicycle?"Ahimsa
Apr 23, 2002 3:33 PM
Only in my clown suit.

Cheers!

A. (Rainbow wig stapled to my helmet)
just got back from my jousting matchSlipstream
Apr 23, 2002 5:37 PM
how do you like my helmet? I use it for cycling too but I don't think it has a safety rating.
2 or 3 times a week lately...its part of my religionishmael
Apr 23, 2002 4:50 PM
tightrope walk too, im into that stuff
Do you only ride east?Ahimsa
Apr 23, 2002 4:55 PM
What religion are you? Barnumanbailish?

A.
it mellows me out and keeps me from getting too seriousishmael
Apr 23, 2002 5:07 PM
i mostly do it at night so i dont have to deal with all the reactions....you ride too so you know everyone thinks your a circus performer or something...mostly they like it but i dont feel like involving myself with them all the time...its nice to commute on, it beats walking...its no race machine, but it satisfies some other desire..can you go backwards
I learned to ride one instead of studying one semester...JBurton
Apr 23, 2002 8:37 PM
that's why I barely passed "Health"! Seriously, good party trick. There are a few good ones being made out there, too!
re: UnicycleJoshua
Apr 23, 2002 5:44 PM
I was given one for christmas when I was in seventh grade. I rode it all the time for a few years. I rode the uni more than my bicycle. Any ways its been years since I have been on one, I often think about buying one to show the kids what old dad can do. Hmmmmmmmm maybe I will look on e-bay now
re: UnicycleWolfgang4
Apr 24, 2002 5:38 AM
http://www.unibikereview.com
Yep!Jefferson
Apr 24, 2002 6:13 AM
I learned to ride one when I was 12. I pretty much stopped riding when I was 16. I am 34 now and I was challenged by my kids to ride in the local Octoberfest parade last year. I had to learn to free mount the 6' unicycle with out the help of freinds or buildings to lean on. I had 1 week to figure it out. I actually had a blast entertaining the kids along the route.
Yep!Jefferson
Apr 24, 2002 6:15 AM
I forgot to attach the picture of me on the 6' uni in the parade
COOL! Thought they'd make you dress up for the parade:) NMmikebikr
Apr 24, 2002 6:39 AM
COOL! Thought they'd make you dress up for the parade:) NMJefferson
Apr 24, 2002 8:33 AM
I thought they would too. I ended up wearing my office clothes. Ha ha. The yellow shirt and gloves are Pearl Izumi! I had to wear my bike shorts underneath because riding on that saddle for 1 1/2 miles of main street is sooo uncomfortable. The rest is homemade. Of course I have not had that much hair since high school. No one loves a bald clown. Amazing how freaked out little kids get around clowns. Too many horror movies I guess.
COOL! Thought they'd make you dress up for the parade:) NMmikebikr
Apr 24, 2002 8:55 AM
Especially an 8 foot tal one on unicycle. I'm sure a lot of kids in your home town woke up screeming that night.

BTW. That was pretty cool. How much harder is riding a 6' tall uni??
not much harderJefferson
Apr 24, 2002 11:13 AM
The hardest part is overcoming the fear of falling the first time. You actually have more time to react to the wheel moving under you than on a small unicycle. They are fun to ride. Helps with your balance. Track stands on the road bike seem like nothing.
eh??AllUpHill
Apr 24, 2002 10:42 AM
Is is possible for you to describe how the heck you free mount a 6' unicycle? Does it resemble pole vaulting? I just cannot picture how it could be done...
Free mountJefferson
Apr 24, 2002 11:10 AM
It is like climbing a ladder with one wheel. I had no idea how to do it one week before the parade. I searched the internet and found this site. http://www.unicycling.org/unicycling/mg.html
I put on all my mountain bike gear and spent 3 hours until I nailed it. Now it is rather easy.
Kris Holme is amazing!mikebikr
Apr 24, 2002 6:15 AM
He's the guy in the North Shore MTB videos. He rides all kinds of stuff I couldn't even walk on. 1" wide rails, Bridge support rails 300' high. Nasty single track, over logs. Down the side of volacnoes. He hucks it off of 10' drops. Incredible stuff.

I got one for XMAS this year. I can now ride for about 15' w/o biting it. But its taken me about 10 hours of practice to get this far.