RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Weekend Ride Write-Up: Primavera Century (Fremont, CA)(17 posts)

Weekend Ride Write-Up: Primavera Century (Fremont, CA)gregg
Apr 22, 2002 11:59 AM
I'll be posting some pictures and some comments about the Primavera Century put on every year by the Fremont Freewheelers. The ride was this past Sunday in Fremont, CA. I elected to do the Century (100mi, 6100 ft' of elev). Started the ride at 7:45am, had to get up darn early!

I didn't take as many scenery pics this time, felt a little bit more time pressure since I was doing the century instead of the metric. And the climbing was quite a bit harder than last week.

Good, mellow warm up out of Fremont, into Milpitas than up to the Calaveras Reservoir.

First rest stop was at the Ed Levin Park.

Glad to see that they had some quality bagels this week, with good variety.



And no shortage of fruits here:



View of the crowd:
Bob and his bikegregg
Apr 22, 2002 12:06 PM
While looking at the elevation map,



I met a fellow named Bob. Bob was psyched about getting his picture taken and up on the web.



Bob had broken his collarbone recently and decided not to ride the Primavera, after having ridden the Tierra Bella last week also.

The ride continued up past Calaveras where we stopped in Sunol.

Some quality sweets here:



Many thanks to the riders from Peninsula Velo for the good, courteous, safe pull to the rest stop.



Back on the bike for a 19 mile stretch to this waterstop:
some interesting scenerygregg
Apr 22, 2002 12:12 PM
Just past the waterstop, another rider and I stopped as this little guy was crossing the road:



The other rider was quite the Dr. Doolittle, as he proceeded to pick up the snake by the tail and carry him across the road to the brush on the other side. Taking pictures are as close as I come to snakes.

Here's something you don't see on every ride:



This was a full Sunday in effect at Club Moto, one of the more popular moto-cross tracks in the Valley. Unique because of the lights that allow racing at night.



Good to see the kids out there too.



And some scenery of the windmills through Altamont pass.
Rio-Lovell Winery Lunch Stopgregg
Apr 22, 2002 12:19 PM
After 67.4 miles, lunch was a welcome site.
Don't see too many bike racks like this at your local winery.



A very pretty spot for lunch



Secret sauce for the soup??



I couldn't imagine riding a tandem for so many miles, but these people really hauled



One nice touch that the Primavera had, was mechanics at each of the rest stops. Every stop I went, the mechanic was busy helping somebody out.
more lunch pics and finishgregg
Apr 22, 2002 12:31 PM
Another nice touch was the fact that you could do some wine tasting and order some wine and have it bagged and waiting for you at the finish.



One of the few scenery shots I have, the vineyards:



30 minute stop for lunch and rest, than back to the ride.



21 miles to the last stop at Palo Verde. I am elated to see Oreos, as there was no sugars to be had with lunch. Down some cookies, rest for a few, than up the last climb at Palomares Canyon. I must apologize for my lack of pictures after the lunch stop, at this time I was feeling pretty worked, and just tried to concentrate on the climb home. Only 15 miles left to go. "Heck," I tell myself, "my little girl can do 15 miles".

Needless to say, the last 15 miles were the toughest. I am able to catch a pull up the hill from a lady with similar gearing. A fun downhill back to town and battle a head wind for the last 3.2 miles. Back to James Logan High and I feel good. Surprisingly, I feel as if I have more left in the tank than last week, but the soreness won't creep in until later. Another tasty lasagne dinner and head home. What no free ice cream? All kidding aside, a well organized ride and a fun time for all. I'm sure I'll be back.

-gregg
gkato@roadbikereview.com

(p.s. Yo CliffO, sorry we didn't get a chance to hook up.)
more lunch pics and finishCliff Oates
Apr 23, 2002 5:22 PM
Gregg,

Palomares is a heck of a hill to hit at 90 miles, huh? A few people were walking it when I got there last year. It kind of hurt for me at 52 miles this year, but I'm also not in any particular kind of shape this year (other than maybe slightly rounded). FWIW, the last 1 mile of the hill is around 14%. I did the 100 mile route in 2001 that sent us up North to Moraga and back down through the Oakland and San Leandro Hills via Pinehurst and Redwood rather than out to Livermore. The Primavera is a well organized ride over roads I know quite well, so it's for sure a favorite of mine. The cookies at the Sunol rest stop were _very_ good, as was the fresh strawberries and pineapple at the Palos Verdes stop (the entrance to Palomares Canyon).

I got off to a somewhat earlier start than you and I think we hit the road around 7:15 or so. One member of our group and I finished up the metric around 1 or so after waiting far too long at the first rest stop for one of our group to leave (he and the other guy finished somewhere far behind us).

Heading up to Chico next week? That's where I'll be. FWIW, the Wente Vineyards Road Race and Criterium is in Livermore this weekend too.

Cliff
re: Weekend Ride Write-Up: Primavera Century (Fremont, CA)VW
Apr 22, 2002 1:48 PM
Hi Gregg,

Those are nice pictures. I was there doing the 100 miler, but I started around 7:00am. I was pretty slow though, so you probably passed me somewhere along the way. I finished around 3:30pm.

Hope you don't mind if I download some of your pictures and post them in my website to show my friends and family members. I didn't carry a camera ... but then, I would be too busy keep moving rather than stopping to take pictures!

Did you do the Tierra Bella the week before? I hope you were early since there was a problem with food and water at the first two rest stops. I worked the Gavilan parking lot so I didn't get to ride. Anyways, I did't need the abuse from my fellow club members at every rest stop.

VW
yes, did Tierra Bella last weekgregg
Apr 22, 2002 3:57 PM
Thread for that one is here:

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efa37bb

No problem, you can use the pictures. Don't think I past you, really. I was just cruising for the most part. I started at 7:45 and finished at 4:45pm. Parking lot was pretty scarce by the time I left.

Yeah, I got to the Tierra Bella kinda late. Left the parking lot at 8:45am last week. I got water and food at the first two stops, but there wasn't a whole lot left when I was leaving.

Live and learn is the opinion that I got from one member on the ACTC site.

-gregg
yes, did Tierra Bella last weekgrzy
Apr 24, 2002 10:04 AM
Ahhh, a late start is never a good strategy for doing organized centuries. One flat and you go hungry.
re: Weekend Ride Write-Up: Primavera Century (Fremont, CA)Bike Fool
Apr 22, 2002 3:30 PM
Thanks for pics, Gregg, looks like you had a swell time on a well supported century!
Wow Gregg....-JC-
Apr 22, 2002 11:29 PM
You're a stud.

When are you going to ride with us?

-John
stud? no. Just a guy that likes to ride....gregg
Apr 23, 2002 8:11 AM
...where do you ride at?
HEY!-JC-
Apr 23, 2002 9:52 PM
Its john you retard. We discussed this at the luau.
Oh, didn't recognize you w/o the JCintheBA handle!gregg
Apr 25, 2002 9:10 AM
Anytime man! How 'bout this Saturday am?
Ready for the Devil?grzy
Apr 24, 2002 10:02 AM
Hey, just three shopping days left until the Devil Mountain Double and A Taste of the Devil (double metric).

200+ miles and 18,500' of vertical......

Gotta be nuts to do it this early in the season, but the Stage Race awaits.
yeah, I saw that website...maybe "A Taste" but....gregg
Apr 25, 2002 9:11 AM
...like you said, it's definitely early.
yeah, I saw that website...maybe "A Taste" but....grzy
Apr 25, 2002 9:23 AM
Call me nuts - if it goes well I'll be 1/3 of the way to the Stage Race, if not a double metric isn't so bad.