RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Let's plan a DC RBR weekend. Who's in?(31 posts)

Let's plan a DC RBR weekend. Who's in?MB1
Apr 22, 2002 3:57 AM
There seemed to be enough interest last week to make it worth doing. How about we try to put something together for the perhaps the third weekend in June (the 15 & 16).

If Greg Taylor will lead a Saturday 100K, I can lead a 50 mile city tour on Sunday. Looks like I'll be working Saturdays by then. Alternatly Miss M could lead a Saturday 300K (what, you think I am joking?).

For the city tour I'm thinking meeting at the Roosevelt Island parking lot early, riding up the Capital Crescent trail (with a breakfast stop at the Georgetown bagel Bakery) and down Rock Creek to the monuments. High points of the tour could be visiting the various monuments, the Congressional Cemetery, and a ride to the top of the Washington Monument (via elevator...sorry). Lunch at Eastern Market.

Who is in, what sort of suggestions do you have?

I figure we could plan the ride on the RBR ride page over the next couple of weeks and have a firm plan and schedule by May 15th.
Oh yea, we will need to name it too.MB1
Apr 22, 2002 3:59 AM
I'm thinking "The Dog Gone Good! Ride!" as a tribute to a departed name poster.
if there's a posse from NYc id like to hitch a ride NmSpirito
Apr 22, 2002 4:11 AM
Better start your posse now. Someone has to be the Sheriff. nmMB1
Apr 22, 2002 7:54 AM
I'm In!SamDC
Apr 22, 2002 5:25 AM
Tentatively, I'd like to include myself for at least half of the route. I don't foresee anything happening that weekend (but you never know). You'll need tickets for the Washington Monument. However, they can be reserved over the internet.
I'll take care of the Monument tickets.MB1
Apr 22, 2002 5:38 AM
That is one of the reasons we will need a list of riders and some lead time. Or I could just post a bunch of pictures.
re: sounds greatcyclopathic
Apr 22, 2002 5:38 AM
if Miss M is in I could lead Skyline double starting and finishing in Front Royal(and no I am not joking).
Front Royal ain't DC. Try again. nmMB1
Apr 22, 2002 5:41 AM
we can ride to Front Royal, can't we? nmcyclopathic
Apr 22, 2002 4:00 PM
Hm.. 70 miles west of DCDuane Gran
Apr 22, 2002 7:21 PM
I routinely train on skyline drive around Front Royal, but it isn't practical to ride from DC to FR.
re: yeahcyclopathic
Apr 23, 2002 3:15 AM
and 46mi on W&OD + the rest on busy roads isn't the best time spent. However the break point is doing Skyline roundtrip will put you at ~21-23,000' of climbing, not for timid. And yes ride doesn't start at DC ;)
I am pretty sure Keith goes from Alexandria to Skyline.MB1
Apr 23, 2002 3:30 AM
Then turns around and goes home. All in the same day. Of course he has done RAAM 3 times....
I am no matchcyclopathic
Apr 23, 2002 5:04 AM
to him, I can only last 50-80mi at his pace. Even then I doubt DC to FR + full skyline is doable under 24hr. First you can't go really fast on W&OD, traffic lights around FR and then of cause the skyline.

btw, how do you ride from DC to Thurmond? I am tired driving there..
From our house to Thurmont is 80 miles.MB1
Apr 23, 2002 8:13 AM
We have done the round trip several times. Just get to Hyattstown and follow any of Cristas routes from there.
That's the weekend of the Aids Ride, which I have committed tobill
Apr 22, 2002 5:54 AM
doing this year (revealing myself to be a pointy-headed liberal instead of a hard-core roadie). Well, everybody's got to be somewhere. If it does happen that weekend, I'll be bummed, but I'll get over it.
Nothing is firm yet, including the date.MB1
Apr 22, 2002 5:57 AM
Still it would be pretty good to meet the AIDS ride at the base of the Washington Monument-I think that is where it ends.
Yeah me too.djg
Apr 22, 2002 9:24 AM
Another weekend and I'd put in for the family leave, but I'll be doing the AIDS Ride, with the fabled "Bill," June 13-16.
I'm in...pending a calander check...Gregory Taylor
Apr 22, 2002 7:42 AM
If I can swing it with the schedule, I'd be glad to lead a 100k ride. I'll see if I can interest a few of the Team Lardbutt guys to help out.

We have lots of options... If we are using the Roosevelt Island Parking Lot as the launching pad, an EARLY ride down the GW Parkway trail, through Alexandria, past Mount Vernon, through Belvoir, and maybe down to Mason Neck, should yield about 65 or so miles round trip. The downside is that there are some stretches of road (Telegraph particularly) that have a decent volume of traffic. Alexandria has lots of food options, including at least one microbrewery.

The other default ride would be a jaunt down the W&OD to Leesburg for Lunch or Purcellville for Pancakes. It doesn't really get pretty until past Herndon...and you run into the MUT - traffic problem on the weekends. However, there are no scary roads to deal with, and we could also include a trip to the Old Dominion Brewery in Ashburn.
We'll leave the Saturday ride up to you.MB1
Apr 22, 2002 7:49 AM
We will settle on the dates when 5-10 folks sign on. I intend to use Roosevelt Island as a starting point for Sunday, anything goes for Saturday.
Great!Gregory Taylor
Apr 22, 2002 8:18 AM
I was assuming that we could try and pick a central meeting point that folks could ride a bike to without having to brave DC/NoVa traffic. This may be a fond wish, however.

Another thought would be to see what kind of a group we get before choosing a route. My dipsomaniacial predelections may not be shared by the rest of the group.
I could fire up the grill for everybody Saturday afternoon.MB1
Apr 22, 2002 8:29 AM
I live just behind Georgetown University. Let's see who logs on first.
I'm in. Keep me posted........Len J
Apr 22, 2002 8:36 AM
as the wife & I may make a weekend out of it & will need a hotel in D.C.

Len
Rats! Coming into DC the 17-23 to visit friends/family. nmBrooks
Apr 22, 2002 8:50 AM
What month? Lets ride!MB1
Apr 22, 2002 9:59 AM
franthis@iwon.com
June. Right after the RBR get-together rides.Brooks
Apr 22, 2002 2:11 PM
thanks for taking the bull by the horns, MB1gregg
Apr 22, 2002 11:09 AM
Unfortunately, I won't be able to make it, but I can send some swag.

Not a lot, but I could send some RoadbikeREVIEW t-shirts, caps, and socks. And possibly a few other small items as well.

Thanks,

-gregg
gkato@roadbikereview.com
I got my heart set on some waterbottles ;-) nmMB1
Apr 22, 2002 11:51 AM
The man's a saint, I tell ya ...Humma Hah
Apr 22, 2002 4:01 PM
... MB1 is making a career out of this sort of thing, being of service to his fellow cyclists. After he and Miss M let me suck wheel on the cruiser behind them for 152 miles last fall, I've nominated him for the Nobel Prize for cycling. And he put on 2 NSA-OCE centuries last year that I know of.
depends on the datetarwheel
Apr 22, 2002 12:56 PM
I'm all for it, but June 15-16 would not be a good weekend for me. My brother and I are doing a weeklong bike tour in Wisconsin from June 23-29, and I couldn't be gone from home 3 weekends in a row. However, my schedule is essentially open from mid-May to early June.
Sounds fun ... I'll have to beg permission ...Humma Hah
Apr 22, 2002 3:57 PM
... Sweetiepie has got me landscaping the back yard and doing house repairs every available weekend, as we prepare to sell the house (its worth it for the sweet 1-car 4-bike garage on the new house).

300k on the cruiser? Just barely possible to possibly impossible. Don't wait for me at the finish, I'll bring both batteries for the light.
2 HR park limit at Roosevelt island lot N/Mcurlybike
May 18, 2002 3:54 AM