RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


nashbar pedals(7 posts)

nashbar pedalsJoshua
Apr 21, 2002 4:12 AM
I was wondering if any one has ever tried the nashbar look wannabe pedals. I would really like some looks however I dont Have 150+ for pedals and the nashbars are only around 20.00 I know you get what you pay for most of the time but I thought I would put this question out there and see if any one has experience with them.

One other unrelated question, is there a good on line source to get a vaude backpack either splash 25 or a siena 30 or 40
As always thanks in advance for the help
re: nashbar pedalsMVN
Apr 21, 2002 4:40 AM
Check out the reviews on this site for LOOK pedals. I recently got PP337's and have been very satisfied with them. They are $99.99 retail, but I've seen them on eBay for $65.00. If I remember correctly, one reviewer said he changed all his Nashbar pedals to LOOKs because the performance was much better. I think in this case it's worth it to spend a little extra to get good pedals with a good reputation. Hope that helps.
re: nashbar pedalsSnakebit
Apr 21, 2002 5:43 AM
You might check out Xpedia.com in the UK. They have some low prices on Look pedals. Also Chucks Bicycle Closeouts had some Looks and some look like Looks in your price range. I got some Welgos from Chuck last year and they work fine.
re: nashbar pedalsAlpedhuez55
Apr 21, 2002 6:06 AM
I have them on my bike. I wanted to see how I would like a look style pedal. They work OK. I do have a problem keeping my cleats tightened down on my SIDI shoes though. I did not have this problem on my old Nike shoes though. I plan on moving to the real thing soon though.
Mike Y.
re: nashbar pedalsIcefrk13
Apr 21, 2002 9:09 AM
Go to GVHbikes.com ... i so not know but he had the Campy's on sale. I hpicked up the Campy daytonia for 59.00. I like them alot. ... I had nashbar mtn pedals on my old hardtail MTB and they seamed to work ok.
re: nashbar pedalswsexson
Apr 21, 2002 10:02 PM
I bought a pair of them a couple of weeks ago to replace the cheap SPD style pedals that came on my bike. I didn't want to spend a bunch of cash on a pair of real LOOKs without trying them out first. So far I like them pretty well, but I have never used any good road pedals before.

I would say go ahead and get them if you want to try the LOOK style pedals out. If you are sure that you want that style, spend the extra money on a better set.
GarbageAlexx
Apr 22, 2002 3:43 AM
The pair of Wellgo pedals I bought about 2 years ago (exactly the same as Nashbar and Forte brand pedals) was a pile of $hit. The platic cleat clamp on the back broke after only 3 days. They were extremely hard to release, and the bearings inside were cr@p. I wouldn't touch these things with a 10 foot pole!