RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Parkinsons Disease(14 posts)

Parkinsons Diseasenetso
Apr 19, 2002 9:43 AM
How many of you have Parkinsons? I was diagnosed approximately 3 years ago. Balance and speech are my main problems, hand shakes if I get really tired but not noticeably. I am able to ride my bike, cannot jog. What are your experiences?
re: Parkinsons Diseasemerckx56
Apr 19, 2002 9:50 AM
my grandfather had parkinson's and he had head shakes! his head moved all the time, except when he concentrated hard on doing something with his hands. fight the good fight brother! this is why stem cell research is sooo important. there will be a cure one day! if you haven't already, go get michael j. fox's book. he talks a lot about parkinson's. it's a very entertaining and poignant read.
godspeed!
re: Parkinsons DiseaseSlipstream
Apr 19, 2002 10:05 AM
Netso, my heart goes out to you. To me, true champions are those who take the blows and somehow deal with life's adversities. And there are plenty of you on this board.

Mercks said it better than I. Godspeed to each and every one of you.

I ran into an old friend last night and asked her how her hubby was doing. She just turned pale and her eyes welled up with tears. She said he has cancer that has spread throughout his body. She said he has been receiving treatment for over a year but his condidion is now terminal. I was dumbfounded, because the last time I saw him he was in great shape and had just finished a tennis match.

How quickly things can change.
re: Parkinsons DiseaseRanierBeer
Apr 19, 2002 10:24 AM
Congratulations on being determined to not let this condition take away the things you enjoy!
Doesn't Davis Phinney have Parkinson's?Len J
Apr 19, 2002 10:59 AM
I thought I read somewhere that he has Parkinson's. You probably can contact him through the Phinney Carpenter camp.

You guys with illnesses like this that don't let it get in the way of what you love are an inspiration.

As was said previously, Godspeed.

Len
yes, it is sadly true. -NMTig
Apr 19, 2002 5:33 PM
re: Parkinsons Diseasebrider
Apr 19, 2002 11:15 AM
My dad has Parkinsons, and both his parents did. Although they (whoever THEY is) say that it isn't hereditary, I have a hard time believeing it. Maybe it isn't genetically hereditary, but maybe through a shared environment.

Yup, Michael J. Fox and Davis Phinney. I had the priviledge of riding with Davis on Bainbridge Island a few years ago. Great guy. I wish him well. There ARE some effective treatments, but they're a time-limited thing (it's effective for 5 years, then you're on a faster downward slide). Hopefully they can find a cure soon. BTW, there's a foundation connected with Jay Van Andel (one of the founders of the Amway corporation) that's doing a lot of Parkinsons research. Might be worth looking into. Also, there's an online support group somewhere called "The Movers and Shakers."
re: Parkinsons Diseaseyeah right
Apr 19, 2002 1:46 PM
It's interesting to look at what effects different treatments have on people. My grandmother has parkinsons and is going down hill pretty quickly. On the other hand, a jazz musician I know and have had the good fortune to play with several times, Louie Bellson, has had the condition for years and did some experimental treatment, and he's doing great, actually better than a couple of years ago. Strange but sad stuff.
re: Parkinsons Diseasenetso
Apr 19, 2002 11:26 AM
The diagnosis was worse than the actuality. I have been able to do almost everything I did before. I was a professional bodybuilder, and I could not do it anymore. My handwriting went to hell. Other than that I can still ride, and that is the most important thing to me!
your typing hasn't suffered!merckx56
Apr 19, 2002 12:16 PM
seriously though, if you need anything or just moral support, this board is full of people who are caring, wise, and will give as much as they can give. cyclists are a rare bunch. we argue with each other on the bike, in the shop and on this board, but when the time comes, we will pull together to love and help one another. i feel honored to "know" some of the people one this board and to have been a party to their knowledge. i have cultivated friendships with people i otherwise would have never known.
keep kicking ass and taking names! you're only beat when you think you are!
good luckbianchi boy
Apr 19, 2002 7:25 PM
Sorry to hear that, but hopefully modern medicine will find some effective treatments. My wife (as well as 3 sisters and a sister-in-law) all developed breast cancer, but apparently have recovered. It's amazing the progress that has been made in some areas.

I am really ignorant about Parkinsons, but ought to know more because one of my grandmothers had it. We moved from Minnesota, where she lived, when I was 3, so I didn't get to know her much. But I remember that she was bed-ridden when we last visited when I was about 8.
Hang in there..DINOSAUR
Apr 20, 2002 5:36 AM
Gee, saw this posted yesterday and didn't know what to say. This is a good place to hang out. Lots of good people here. I've met freinds, one walked me through how to buy a bike that fits, and another one that lives in Canada that is going to visit me this summer with his family. I don't know that much about Parkinson's. Doesn't Michael J. Fox have that disease? I saw him on Oprah a couple a weeks ago. He said that it can be controlled by medication to a certain degree.
Don't know what else to say. We are the same age, I'm sure we have similar life experiences. Come on back and post. I use this forum mainly to keep my brain active.
Good luck
Dino
re: Parkinsons Diseasenetso
Apr 20, 2002 7:33 AM
Really what I wanted was your moral support, which I feel you gave. For someone that was physically active most of his life, this was a scary diagnosis. However, With your support and my wife's I will keep on riding.
re: Parkinsons Diseasepeloton
Apr 20, 2002 7:50 AM
Keep riding and keeping posting too. I've found your input on the subjects of physiology and nutrition to be very well said and always accurate. I also like to know that there are some other weight room types out there trying to keep up with the 135 pounders!

David Phinney seems to be doing well since his diagnosis. He has been doing commentary for OLN (or was it espn?) at some races. I know that MJ Fox and Montel Williams both have organizations to help with Parkinsons, as they are both afflicted. I have a friend who does genetic engineering, and he always has surprising news when I talk to him about a variety of disease research. Might not be too long before we have a breakthrough.