RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Time spent on Roadbikereview(8 posts)

Time spent on RoadbikereviewWoof the dog
Apr 18, 2002 4:20 PM
I am sitting here after a ride and instead of stretching like I should I am typing this message. Probably the single most important question I am asking is that people have way too much time on their hands. Don't you ever ride your bikes or go run around with your buddies? I can't keep up with the flow of information on this site, summertime is almost here. Every time you open it up, there it is! - the dreaded serotta question or what should I name my bike or how elaborate Doug's messages are. I praise you for helping out me and others with questions, and I envy your commitment to this second, fulltime job. But oh my god!

Sincerely

Woof, the grade-C-honey-producing dog.
only when at workKrypton
Apr 18, 2002 4:29 PM
I spend almost all my time in front of the computer at work, so while I work, I check the board, if a topic catches my interest, I'll respond....but if I'm out of the office, or in meetings, I come back and it's not easy reading them all...let's just say I'm a fast reader and typer ;-)
re: Time spent on RoadbikereviewDINOSAUR
Apr 18, 2002 4:38 PM
I found that the more I ride, the less time I spend on bike forums. I often wonder if this site is about cycling, or a place for people to screw off while at work? Some of us need a soap box to stand on once and awhile (myself included). It's just when that soap box gets too high you should be fearful of falling.

I often wonder if a non-cycling person would take a peak at this site and see some of the topics debated, they would think we are all crazy.

Well, I know I'm crazy. Now I'm going to go look for a fire hydrant while standing on a soap box, not an easy feat on a cold windy day...

Much to do about nothing...
re: Time spent on Roadbikereviewbic
Apr 18, 2002 5:21 PM
I've found it's much easier to just sit here and down a few Becks then get on my bike and ride. This way I can sound like I ride without anyone knowing I can't. What was the name of those jeans that advertised a scouch (ms) more room!
for me bothgrandemamou
Apr 19, 2002 2:58 AM
A way to screw off at work and talk about cycling. Most of the time I spend here is at work. I could find other ways to goof off, most days I just prefer to lurk here. I do log in, in the mornings while I'm waiting for to take my kids to school. With wife,kids,job and cycling there is too much going on at home to waste time here. I usually stick to the components and general boards there is just too much out there.

I have to admit I sometimes have to dig through alot of crap to get that one golden nugget. But I have found it pretty worthwile. There are other forums but this is by far the most active and lively.
Goofing Offvitusdude
Apr 19, 2002 5:02 AM
I don't let being on the computer cut into my riding time. I almost only visit this site when I am at work. I love to goof off. I surprised my employer tolerates it -- except for the fact they are totally ignorant of my misbehavior. I am truly evil and should be punished. I just can't help myself -- this site is so entertaining.
100% of my time hereI Love Shimano
Apr 18, 2002 5:12 PM
is during work hours. So you can say that my company is paying for my internet connection and is also paying me to surf all day long. Of course, I still do my work. I fI don't meet my deadlines, they will take my internet connection away!
re: Time spent on RoadbikereviewMiklos
Apr 19, 2002 6:15 AM
Almost 100% of the time I spend on this board is at work. No riding time is lost.

Most of the time I just lurk. There is some great imformation exchanged here. Most of what does not contain usefull information still has a high entertainment value.

I would like to thank any and all who have taken the time to answer my questions, help me with my problems and listen to my stories.

Miklos