RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Carbon seatstays on alu/steel/ti...opinions?(18 posts)

Carbon seatstays on alu/steel/ti...opinions?Krypton
Apr 18, 2002 3:25 PM
In light of the recent "topics" on the board lately, I tought I would try something else...hum, maybe cycling related :-)

I recently bought a new bike (will pick it up first week of June) to give my 10 y/o road bike a much deserve rest. I looked for some time and finally settled on 3 different models. Went out, rode them and finally made my choice of an aluminium with carbon seatstays and carbon fork. Tried all Ti, all steel, all Alu also, all carbon, opted for combo carbon/alu.

The ride was great for me and my style of riding, my age, distances I usually do. The carbon dampens (spellcheck...hum, that's what happens being french Cdn...can't spell too well, sorry)the vibrations just enough to take the edge off but the frame still has the same "spunk" as an alu bike. So, I'm not looking to be convinced of buying it or not, since my choice is already made.

What I would like to know is, just for the sake of discussion, what do you think about the concept, fad, ugly, greatest thing since slice bread, good idea...

For me, on an aluminium frame, I think it's a good concept, as for ti or steel...hum, I'm not so sure. Ti and steel are already dampening (hummmm, really not sure about the spelling) the vibrations pretty good. So, why not get a steel or ti bike then? Well, for me, Ti prices where a bit to much (Tuscany/ultegra/Ksyriums ~ 4600$ CDN plus 15% tax), and steel, well, for no other reasons that it came down to an alu bike and a steel one, I chose the alu based on how it felt.

What's your take on the concept? I'd like to know

by the way, here's a pic of the frame

Joel
my opinion/review of the Merckx FugaTig
Apr 18, 2002 3:50 PM
I'll be lazy and just post the link to my past message. After riding an additional 530 miles since the first review, my observations and feelings remain the same, but enforced even more.

"Merckx Fuga review (long)" -Tig 3/23/02 11:44am
Great reviewKrypton
Apr 18, 2002 4:17 PM
You got my blood pumping when you talk about the lively ride. I like to climb, alot and to ride pretty hard. I can't wait to try it out for a long ride, but until then, I'll ride to old Specialized....

Thanks for the post
re: Carbon seatstays on alu/steel/ti...opinions?DINOSAUR
Apr 18, 2002 4:06 PM
One man's meat is anothers poison. I think it boils down to personal preference. I've been riding an aluminum bike for going on 4 seasons. I've found that for the type of roads I ride (especially when descending in pothole city) that alumimum just tends to take a toll on my old bones for an everyday ride. I was split between steel and titanium. I did a little research on carbon fiber seat stays. Some say you can't tell the difference, but with no experience test riding one of these bikes, I can't say one way or the other.
Some say that the cf seat stays are just a passing fancy. They probably said the same thing about cf forks. If you took the time to test ride and can tell the difference and like it, combined with the price is right, I'd do exactly what you are doing. I installed a ti railed saddle on my Klein and could tell the difference right off the bat.
No doubt al offers the most bang for the buck. I still prefer the ride of steel and am waiting for my new frame to arrive. I provide myself with little goals to give myself incentive to keep on cycling. 4 years from now I will be looking at ti bikes. I've found they are too expensive for my pocket book. One bike that really caught my attention was the Airborn Manhatten Project. CF seat stays on a ti bike, sounds interesting.
I kinda (not in dictionary either) did a lot of research based on my own preferences, and asked for advice when I narrowed down my choices and it came down to what suited my needs and what I wanted.
Sounds like you made a good choice, nice bike, don't know if I would have the patience to wait that long.
re: Carbon seatstays on alu/steel/ti...opinions?Krypton
Apr 18, 2002 4:24 PM
As you, when I put on a ti rail saddle on my bike, I felt it right away. So when I tried the carbon stays, they felt good right away. So for me it was a no brainer, the feeling was just right.

As for waiting that long, well, I could always use a credit card, but I like the feeling of paying cash. So I'll torture myself for another month and a half...if I start posting messages on the board that are completly irrational, its probably because I've gone loony from the waiting ;-)
you'll see alot bikes with Columbus CF seatstayscyclopathic
Apr 18, 2002 4:11 PM
I have Ti frame with CC seatstays and agree with your assessment. Frame replaced Al and side effect was that I pumped rear tire pressure from 90 to 120psi without loosing any comfort. So far the longest ride was 130mi on rough pavement and it felt great (same route on Al killed my knees). It feels as comfortable as steel yet noticeably stiffer. I think it is next great thing after carbon forks.
re: Carbon seatstays on alu/steel/ti...opinions?Caper
Apr 18, 2002 4:51 PM
Joel, where are you from, New Brunswick? I noticed the 15% tax, so it's got to be one of two provinces. I'm in Cape Breton, BTW.
re: Carbon seatstays on alu/steel/ti...opinions?Krypton
Apr 18, 2002 4:57 PM
Nope, I'm in Quebec, I'll passing through NB this summer going to Nova Scotia...
Foco Steel With Carve Carbon Stays:Me Dot Org
Apr 18, 2002 5:53 PM
This is the most comfortable frame I've ever ridden. The carbon does feel a little less lively than steel. The tradeoff is a smoother ride over rough surfaces.

Would I do it again? Probably. Is it overkill on a steel frame? Possibly. Would I do it on an aluminum frame? Definitely.
Who is the manufacturer? (NM)mikebikr
Apr 19, 2002 4:14 AM
At this point in time...Ron B
Apr 18, 2002 8:03 PM
At this point in time I'm a believer in the concept.

I have an aluminum frame with carbon stays and it is the best riding frame I've ever ridden. I've had mid level steel frame and a full aluminum frame and enjoy the combo quite a bit.

Quite honestly I was very unimpressed with the steel frame and like the ride of the aluminum frame better.

My biggest question is the longevity of the aluminum/carbon frames. Will the glue hold up for years to come? If you put the frame in a trainer will it last like a normal frame or fall apart quicker?

For now though, I really love the ride. It gives a very smooth ride while keeping a stiff bottom bracket that allows good sprinting and climbing.
re: Carbon seatstays on alu/steel/ti...opinions?mackgoo
Apr 19, 2002 1:58 AM
Cycling plus discussed this a while back. Their conclusion was that there was no real functional advantage or dissadvantage for the rider. There was one for the manufacturer, they felt with the carbon stays that it was cheaper to build. Particularly the ones with the single mount point at the seat tube.
believerterry b
Apr 19, 2002 5:23 AM
with 1000s of miles on mine over the past year I believe that the frame offers some dampening of road noise while retaining the positive feel of a steel (or aluminum) frame.

while many will say the addition of CF does nothing, what's important is whether or not you like the way the frame feels. and if a given frame with CF feels good, and if that given frame only comes with CF, then the argument of whether or not the CF of doing anything becomes moot. if you can't get the frame you like without CF stays, then the presence of CF is immaterial.

they don't generally cost more (plenty of plush steel frames equal or surpass my Opera), and if you think they look pretty cool, why not?
re: Carbon seatstaysRayBan
Apr 19, 2002 5:55 AM
Somebody already mentioned it, and I totally agree Carbon seatstays are the best addition since carbon forks. I DO feel a difference. I've got a steel frame with carbon fork and stay and the ride is great. It fits me, I am setup very well on it, and the carbon dampens the ride just enough when need be.
re: Carbon seatstays on alu/steel/ti...opinions?Tifosiman
Apr 19, 2002 6:21 AM
For reference, the reason Carbon Stays are used on Ti frames is not to dampen, but actually to stiffen up the rear a bit. The frame still has that classic "ti feel", until you stand to sprint out of the saddle, and then it would perform much better than a standard Ti frame..

Just my 2 cents.

Tifosiman
looks cool...mostly a marketing gimmick and heavier (nm)ColnagoFE
Apr 19, 2002 7:01 AM
re: heaviercyclopathic
Apr 19, 2002 8:13 AM
it adds 90g to Al frame and takes 60g off steel according to Columbus. Ti probably breaks even.

with respect to how gimmicky it is it depends on application. If you're riding smooth roads 40-70mi you'd be ok with any frame and yes it would be gimmick.
DependsNessism
Apr 19, 2002 9:02 AM
The weight difference depends on what type of stays and dropouts are used. For the most part though, they are heavier - including for steel frames. Check out the following link for some good information.

http://search.bikelist.org/getmsg.asp?Filename=framebuilders.10110.0199.eml

Ed