RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Should I wear bibs?(30 posts)

Should I wear bibs?Mike M
Apr 17, 2002 8:58 AM
Always worn shorts, considering buying some bibs. What are advantages, disadvantages.

Thanks!
Don't do it!!!JBurton
Apr 17, 2002 9:11 AM
You will never go back to shorts and you will have to replace your entire set of riding clothes!! Expensive move!

Seriously, bibs are super comfortable, assuming you get a good pair. There is no cutting of the waistline on long rides. One complaint I have heard is from taller riders. They say the straps on some bibs are not long enough and actually hurt their shoulders on longer rides. But, I am not tall and have zero complaints. Oh yeah, you don't look very cool in them without a top on. My girlfriend laughs and laughs...but who goes outside without a jersey?

I wear Voler bibs...www.velowear.com. I've heard good things about Progetto and Izumi, also. Voler's are quite a bit less expensive and have lasted me two seasons with proper care. I have three pair that I rotate.
Only if you drool a lot. nmonespeed
Apr 17, 2002 9:15 AM
re: Should I wear bibs?BikeViking
Apr 17, 2002 9:17 AM
I agree! I just made the jump to Voler bibs and I love them. I just ordered another pair, hoping to keep the "wardrobe" at 4 - 5 pair.

You'll never go back to shorts, I promise.
I really like bibs but........JS
Apr 17, 2002 9:18 AM
I don't wear them when I race because.......now get this, I always have to go to the bathroom right before the start of a race and if you ever tried to "go" quickly with bibs on you know what I'm talking about. You basically have to completely undress, in a small porta potty just to go. I almost missed a race because of this. Bibs are more comfortable around the waist and feel less constricting on your breathing.
Try this....Dave Hickey
Apr 17, 2002 9:21 AM
I lift up the leg and pee. It's easier than undressing.
The ... ahem ... delicate question.McAndrus
Apr 17, 2002 9:46 AM
Here's something I've always wondered. Quite often I see pro riders, shall we say, relieving themselves while on the bike - usually with another riding giving a gentle push on the backside.

I've never personally seen anyone do this. I know one guy who tried to learn the talent but gave up when all he could do was water his shoes.

I imagine that if I were wearing regular shorts, with a lot of practice I could learn how to do this. But, how do pros do this in bibs?
The ... ahem ... delicate question.Dave Hickey
Apr 17, 2002 9:54 AM
The same way I do, through the leg hole. It really isn't that hard. I'm wearing shorts a work today(not cycling shorts). When I need to go to the john, It's a lot easier to lift up the leg and pee through the leg hole. Cycling shorts/bibs are a little harder, but it's easier than undressing .
what about the girls?colker
Apr 17, 2002 10:44 AM
hmmm?
Hmmm....McAndrus
Apr 17, 2002 10:55 AM
I'll have to give that a try. Thanks, and wish me luck.
The ... ahem ... delicate question.McAndrus
Apr 17, 2002 9:50 AM
Here's something I've always wondered. Quite often I see pro riders, shall we say, relieving themselves while on the bike - usually with another riding giving a gentle push on the backside.

I've never personally seen anyone do this. I know one guy who tried to learn the talent but gave up when all he could do was water his shoes.

I imagine that if I were wearing regular shorts, with a lot of practice I could learn how to do this. But, how do pros do this in bibs?
what he said...but if it's # 2 then all bets are off (nm)ColnagoFE
Apr 17, 2002 9:59 AM
what he said...but if it's # 2 then all bets are off (nm)Dave Hickey
Apr 17, 2002 11:43 AM
I assumed he meant #1. I don't know about you, but I cannot #2 quickly. I need a copy of Cyclesport or Procycling
Nope, #2 (nm)JS
Apr 17, 2002 12:19 PM
NM
For those who need a visualLowend
Apr 17, 2002 11:57 AM
I know, I know. Wrong sport. But you get the idea.
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/Gottogo(2).jpg
Or this:look271
Apr 17, 2002 4:14 PM
Pull the front of the bibs down. I have several pairs and this works just fine. You don't have to be a rocket scientist to figure this out!
I really like bibs but........ohmk1
Apr 17, 2002 9:22 AM
You have to get ones with a low waistband so the meats easily come out if you have to pee.
Its only 2'' long?pmf1
Apr 17, 2002 10:47 AM
Just roll up the leg, stick "it" out the side, and go. I've seen pictures of pros doing this while on the bike. I usually at least hide behind a bush
Castelli bibsDave Hickey
Apr 17, 2002 9:18 AM
I wear Castelli bibs. They are extremely comfortable. If you suffer from "dulops" syndrome, they keep you gut from spilling over the top of your shorts.
Assos bibsohmk1
Apr 17, 2002 9:23 AM
Actually my very favorite bibs are from Assos-they are so awsome, but ridiculously expensive. Believe it or not, Nashbar makes adecent pair of bibs as well.
Performance or Volerpmf1
Apr 17, 2002 9:48 AM
I bought one pair of bibs two years ago. Anymore, its all I wear. Both Performance and Voler make good ones for around $60. The Performance ones are on sale for $50 (don't get the ones with gel inserts). I've tried Santini, but the pad gets pancaked and is too thin. I hear Asshoe (assos) are good, but I'm not paying $150 for bibs that sell for $60 in Europe (someone is cashing in big time on these).

Try a pair of Performance or Voler and see if you like them. What the hell, its not a lot of money. I like them lots better than shorts.
Performance or VolerMike M
Apr 17, 2002 10:06 AM
What is wrong with the gel inserts?
Performance or Volerpmf1
Apr 17, 2002 10:43 AM
The Performance shorts with gel inserts have HUGE inserts in them. They aren't necessary and probably would even get uncomfortable on a long ride. Gloves with gel inserts get hard after a while -- the shorts might as well (not good). Do you buy a saddle with large gel pads? No. Its not necessary. Plus, the pad in both Performance and Voler is very similar (if not identical) and comfortable.
I only buy Performance ELITE series--no gels (nm)ColnagoFE
Apr 17, 2002 12:45 PM
The gelLone Gunman
Apr 17, 2002 11:13 AM
I have found creates a pressure point and squeezes out to the sides of the pad area. I have 2 pair and they are without a doubt the most miserable bibs I own. I removed the gel from one pair after it came loose and twisted, balled, pooled in the pad area. It would always form a lump right in the middle where I sat and pushed on the sensitive nerves.
Only when you are eating really messy foods. NMeschelon
Apr 17, 2002 9:49 AM
re: Way more comfortable on the bike.dzrider
Apr 17, 2002 10:24 AM
Straps slide off when I'm walking around so I keep shorts for commuting or days when I'm on and off the bike. Otherwise it's bibs forever! I like Santini or Giordana best for the money.
I find bibs much moregrandemamou
Apr 17, 2002 11:16 AM
comfortable than shorts especially on longer rides. The only disadvantage is, as several have mentioned, potty time. Number 1 is no problem. Number 2 requires you to get undressed. It gets real interesting trying to take off all the winter gear in port a potty.

IMO bibs are worth the occasional hassle.
re: Should I wear bibs?justina
Apr 17, 2002 1:34 PM
I have both. Only wear the shorts when the bib gets so stinky it needs a bath and an airing out. I hand wash, lasts longer, better for the pad. I love the bib, not only is it super comfortable on the bike but you look like an emaciated Grecco-Roman Wrestler with your shirt off. Here's the only rub, I find when walking around off the bike I get a rather uncomfortable front-wedgie. Slipping the shoulder straps off fixes the problem though.
Aaah, the front wedgie!I Love Shimano
Apr 17, 2002 6:19 PM
This is a mildy annoying side effect, I was wondering why no one ever mentioned this before.