RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


opinions on Schwinn Fastback limited(10 posts)

opinions on Schwinn Fastback limitedhrosvit
Apr 16, 2002 8:08 PM
I have been thinking about buying a Schwinn Fastback limited from Supergo since they have them on sale. I am a little leery of the integrated headset. Does anyone have any opinions/experience with the integrated headsets and/or the frame in general?

Thanks
Schwinn Fastback limited - at WalMart sooncentury2
Apr 17, 2002 1:53 AM
Schwinn and GT will soon be in Target & WalMart ~ call me silly - but I would just as soon not ride a label sold in those stores
Schwinn Fastback limited - at WalMart soonhrosvit
Apr 17, 2002 2:29 AM
I, fortunately, am more concerned with the quality of the frame I am riding than the perception of the label. The possibility that the name will be mass-produced and sold in retail chains in the future has absolutely no bearing on the qulity of the frames which were made before the Schwinn/GT names were sold. Isn't quality construction the factor that should control your decision? Are we all shallow enough that their being sold in WalMart in the future should matter?
well said. couldnt agree more.SteveO
Apr 17, 2002 3:08 AM
Shallow??? It's about the cool factor...eschelon
Apr 17, 2002 8:23 AM
It's not about the shallow factor...it's about the cool factor...the cool factor is what keeps the spice in the romance of your bike and you together and having a good time. Maybe you are the "low maintenance" type where so long as the bike is good quality you could care less if it said Huffy on it. Many of us are the "high maintenance" type where we like to pay extra to motivate ourselves to keep riding our bikes and feel great about it...we're all mice and we constantly need cheese to be happy.
re: opinions on Schwinn Fastback limitedMel Erickson
Apr 17, 2002 4:49 AM
I don't think there's anything inherently wrong with the integrated design and you can get replacements, at least for now. I think the frame is a good one, as have been all of Schwinns better frames. It doesn't stand out in the crowd but at the price Supergo and others are selling them it makes them an attractive buy. My only concern would be the availability of headset parts, not now but down the road. However, at the price you pay now that may not be much of an issue.
Since so many dealers are dropping Schwinn. . .teacherguy
Apr 17, 2002 5:17 AM
it might be hard to get particular parts, esp. a frame that should be under warranty. Just a thought.
Integrated headset confusion.Spoke Wrench
Apr 17, 2002 5:24 AM
There are two quite different prodicts that are commonly called "integrated headsets."

The first is a propriatory product in which replacements can only be obtained from the frame manufacturer. Given the bicycle industries history of frequently unavailable replacement parts for three year old bikes, I personally wouldn't want one of these.

The second is more accurately called a "semi integrated headset," or what I call a "hidden headset." This is pretty much the same product we've been using all along. The only significant difference is the cups are pressed down inside an oversized headtube rather than above and below.

I'm not an expert on Schwinns, but I suspect it has the "hidden headset." If so, I wouldn't worry. Generic replacements are readily available.
I have one...Wannabe
Apr 17, 2002 6:25 AM
I have the Fastback Limited. It is one sweet ride. I love it. I too got an unreal deal on it. I love all the bike snobs that look down on it. Makes me feel GREAT! Even guys in my own club didn't really take notice of it until they hefted it (2.5lb frame + D/A). Hopefully by next year I'll be as fast as this bike. With that price at supergo for a frame, almost tempted to get another! Such a total deal. My bike fully equipped with D/A, Velomax Orions, etc, was $1600.

As for the headset, don't worry, it's not proprietary. I've already replaced mine once (due to my own fault).

Any questions about this bike, let me know. It is a top-flite ride and a blue-collar sleeper.

Andy
fourlakes_99@yahoo.com
re: opinions on Schwinn Fastback limitedWannabe
Apr 18, 2002 5:36 AM
The headset on mine is a cane creek, not a chris king...

Andy