RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ride for the Roses(16 posts)

Ride for the Rosesjawa
Apr 16, 2002 3:56 PM
I am on the steering commitee for the Ride for the roses and was wondering what everyone that was there thought of the event? How did you like the course? Was there enough support? Were the course markings clear?

Just thought I would ask so we can improve again next year.

Thanks

john W
re: Ride for the RosesDave Hickey
Apr 16, 2002 4:16 PM
John, It was very well run. I went to the Health Expo and did the ride on Sunday morning. My only suggestion would be to hold the Health and Wellness Expo in a larger building.
As for the ride itself, the rest stops were great and there were people at every turn of the course directing the riders. The local police were very friendly and did a great job of directing traffic.

As a cancer survivor, this event is very important to me. I've ridden in 2000 and 2002 and they only imporvment would be to move the Health and Wellness Expo back to the facility it was held in in 2000.
re: Ride for the Rosestexbaz
Apr 16, 2002 4:49 PM
I rode the The RFR this weekend for my first time. I have ridden the HHH here in Texas 4 times so I tend to use this it as a measuring stick (sorry)and of course the City of Wichita Falls is alot bigger organization than LAF So, I do understand. I also try to do a rally here in Texas at least twice a month during the season so we have had lots to compare this one to.

1. The directions and routes to the Expo center where the ride actually took place, could be a little better especially with all the construction in the area.

2. The course for the 70 mile was great! I wish I would have done the 100 mile but, to early in the season.

3. The refreshments after the ride especially, the Fat tire beer, and Subway sandwiches hit the spot.

4. Wish they had some portable showers for after the ride plus have the ride on a Saturday if they are not going to have the downtown Crit races on friday or Sat.

5. Loose the screemin guitar palyin national anthem, put in some real vocals, maybe even some of the survivors, fmailies, friends could get together and do some harmanizing.

6. City and county sherrif support were excellant, great sag support,way to go....

7. Some of the rest stops were ok, they could use a theme type like the last rest stop with the Austin Powers music just bringing in the riders, really adds fun to the ride. All the volunteers at the rest stops were great!

8. The downtown area where you could by the LAF gear was way to small, And $20.00 for a T shirt with lance giving the look was pretty steep,it really should have been the ride shirt.

9. It would be nice, if lance could spend more time with some of other groups prior to the ride, I mean, the Kids, the smaller milage groups, they need the inspiration to carry on.

I really enjoyed the ride. I stayed Saturday night in Austin because the the web page said that we had to register no later than Saturday, but on Sunday they had registration tents up so I could have saved 80 bucks Oh well! It was for a great cause and I will definetly support it in the future. I would even like to contribute to the Peleton Project,hopefully I can.

Job well done John, Say Hello to LA

Mike
Keep the Guitar Player! (nm)Gregory Taylor
Apr 17, 2002 5:21 AM
re: Ride for the RosesChen2
Apr 16, 2002 5:32 PM
It's hard to criticize such a great well organized ride, but..., to make it even better, I suggest that you put all rest stops in paved areas. Like a lot of other people I walked the 1/4 mile to the porta-johns on that last rest stop. The food and refreshments there were not being enjoyed as much as the other stops because of the gravel road. And there was too much congestion where the gravel met the pavement with riders spilling out on the road. But it was really a great ride and we plan to come back next year and I won't complain again. Thanks to all of the volunteers.
~Al
re: Ride for the RosesDaveL
Apr 16, 2002 5:47 PM
This is the first organized event like this I've ever done. I took it easy-the 5k and 40 miles. I thought you all did a fine job. The "in honor of" plaques are a nice touch. My brother and I presented ours to our cancer-fighting mom. It gives the ride and run a higher purpose. I do agree that the Expo needs to be in a bigger facility, and it's too bad the crit. could not be done. But considering the size and complexity of the weekend, those really aren't complaints. I'll be back next year for sure.
re: Ride for the RosesNeedSpeed
Apr 16, 2002 7:17 PM
John,

Thanks for an awesome Ride for the Roses. I did the 70 last year and Sunday was my first century. Great time. The course was great with the rolling hills. There was maybe on ly one stretch of road that was pretty bad with lots of potholes that could either cause flats or worse an injury due to catching a rim, but otherwise the course was great.

I too, suggest that the Expo be held in a larger building. Last year, walking through the Expo with your bike was no problem. This year, it was. I was actually asked to leave because I had my bike with me. It was too late for me to take my bike back to my hotel and then come back in time to hear the Survivorship panel, so I had to miss it. I was very disappointed in that. Otherwise, the weekend was great.
re: Ride for the Rosesjtolleson
Apr 16, 2002 7:45 PM
Fabulous event. Very well marked route and lots of supports. The bathroom line at the 24 mile aid station indicated to me that 2-3 more portajohns might've helped, but that's a small matter. My gluten intolerant (wheat allergy) partner had no food option at the party (other than fruit) which was a mild bummer. And yes, you've probably heard a million times that the Expo venue was too small.

You all should applaud yourselves for the relative ease of parking, the well marked and low traffic route, the appropriately spaced (and well stocked) aid stations. You can't be held responsible for potholes (of which there were outrageous amounts, but that's the tradeoff for a low traffic road).

I'd like to see a start earlier than 8 am. To me, that's pretty late for an organized cycling event.

Hope to return.

Julie in Denver.
One more thing...jtolleson
Apr 17, 2002 7:13 AM
Photos for sale! This is one of the few major cycling events I've done where there wasn't a "smile for the camera" spot on the route with an opportunity to purchase your photo at the end.

Great additional income for LAF, and great souvenir for the rider. Why not?
There are photo's for saleDave Hickey
Apr 17, 2002 7:33 AM
Check out this link. They are supposed to have everyone sorted by registration number. It sounds like a big task. I'll believe it when I see it.

www.kreutzphotography.com
Thanks, Dave! I'll check it out.jtolleson
Apr 17, 2002 8:37 AM
Now, I've I can just remember my rider number....
like everyone else...dustin73
Apr 16, 2002 8:42 PM
Expo back to the Convention Center. do you know if the v-ball tourney was a one time thing?

that's all i can offer 'cause i just ran the 5K. that was my first organized run-type thing. i thought it was cool.

do you know the story behind the crit?
crit storyjawa
Apr 17, 2002 6:51 PM
The story behind the crit is that it is very difficult to plan in addition to the ride on sunday. Many of the items from the crit are used at the expo center on sunday and cannot be setup until the crit is done and cleaned up. Also the crit did not raise alot of money and it also was not the best venue to promote the LAF message. That said, there is a group close to the LAF that is going to try to organize it agin next year. Lance is in favor of it as he enjoys the crit. Well have to weait and see what happens.
re: Ride for the RosesBirddog
Apr 16, 2002 9:28 PM
It was the 2nd year for 8 of us and we pretty much agreed that over all it was a great ride. I like the way the start works, it kept feeding people onto the course smoothly, unlike HTH where it is crazy. The traffic cones worked well at seperating cars from riders and gave us a generous amount of pavement. We did the 70, and didn't care too much for the rough 3 to 4 miles out in the middle of the route, but we also understand the problems in designing a course. One of the rest stops (mentioned above) was woefully lacking in Portapottys. START ON TIME!!! no need for photographers to hold up the start some 20 minutes, that stuff can be done earlier, it made our late check out a close call. It wasn't the size of the Expo, it was the fact that it wasn't air-conditioned that bugged me. Over all, it was an improvement over last year, and we'll be back.
re: Ride for the Rosesmoneyman
Apr 17, 2002 6:11 AM
I really enjoyed the ride. The course was fast, the rollers were fun, and the bad roads made me think of Paris-Roubaix, sans the rain and mud. The vounteers at the rest areas and on the course were OUTSTANDING! The roads were well marked, and I never felt threatend by the motorized traffic. The men and women in uniform did a great job of maintaining order. The best part of the ride was the massage I got afterwards!

Michael Ward ROCKS and should be kept because:

1. He is now officially a tradition;
2. His rendition of the Star Spangled Banner is different, yet full of respect for the Flag;
3. He is a tremendous supporter of the LAF.

See you next April.

Matt Potter
Peloton Project 2000, 2001, 2002
Great job this year!js5280
Apr 18, 2002 10:53 AM
This is my 2nd year to attend the ride (2001,2002) and I really enjoyed the course, the volunteers, and the officers who help marshal the 100 mile course. Everyone was really friendly and helpful. The course were probably the best marked I've seen at a ride, nice job on the signs including the Loose Gravel ones where appropriate. The course was fun and the right level of challenge for an early season event. Rest areas were spaced appropriately and well stocked. I will be back! I ran the 5K as well and it was also set up just as well. Lastly the red rose at the end of the ride (not sure if it was because I was Peloton member and/or a survivor) was a nice touch.

There are a couple areas for improvement. The biggest being getting to the ride! Traffic was really bad again this year. We took the suggested route which was backed up a long ways. We even gave ourselves an extra 30-45 minutes for traffic this year. We missed the the kick-off ceremonies and start of the 100 mile race, fortunately we still had time to do the 100 mile course but there was almost nothing left at the post-ride party to eat (around 4pm I think). It seems like the venue where we start should be able to get 8000-ish people in and out quickly. There were many entrances but it appears only one was being used for incoming traffic. There's got to be a better way! The other complaint was the lack of food at the post-ride party which was somewhat aggravated by our late start, but I heard from others that got in earlier there wasn't much left. Ditto on the larger venue for the Expo. Thanks for the all the great work, even w/ these few items, it was a very successful and enjoyable weekend and I plan to be back for many more rides.

Best regards,
John Spangler
Denver, CO