RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Gregg! Urgent request! From Silent Majority!(18 posts)

Gregg! Urgent request! From Silent Majority!scottfree
Apr 15, 2002 5:15 PM
Would you please start a separate Colorado Cyclist babe/hot chicks discussion group so RandyRon can get his jollies?
Discussion group?Ahimsa
Apr 15, 2002 5:17 PM
How about a seperate web site?

www.coloradocyclistcataloguechickreview.com

A.
re: indeedsctri
Apr 15, 2002 5:34 PM
agreed, furthermore, see my comments at the bottom of his paola pezza thread.

rc
If you aren't interestedgrandemamou
Apr 15, 2002 5:48 PM
and I'm not. Just ignore it. It's the only way to make trolls and silly topics disappear.
Also, while you're at it:Jekyll
Apr 15, 2002 6:15 PM
Create a "progressives only" forum as well.
A board where sexism or anything so construed would be instantly struck. We cannot continue on this course of offending the sensibilities of the male, female and transgendered individuals at this board.
A board that eschews any topic regarding non-human powered vehicles, where global warming is accepted science, where eating meat and any vegetable or fruit that has not naturally fallen to mother earth is accepted as murder.
Also, since any kind of discrimination on the basis of lifestyle should not be condoned, the following ism's need to be eradicated as well (I believe that my fellow progressives can all agree that the following are by nature rather than nurture):

Shimanoism
Campyism
Steelism
Aluniumism
Titaniumism
Carbon Fiberism
Compactism
Litespeedism
Trekism
Cannondaleism
Clincherism
Tubularism
Ksyriumism

As we build this utopian community by discussing synthetic, non-fossil based covers for our saddles and the virtues of bamboo bikes we could continue our list of ism's to assure that inclusiveness becomes our call to justice, as in just us.

Entrance to the board should require a membership essay. Suggested topics could be "The Virtues of Adrienne Rich," "Why Camille Paglia is a Bitch," "A Short Summary of Earth In The Balance," "Why Capitalism Sucks," or "Barbie: The Archetype for Feminine Oppression." All essays will be related to by a commune of members not to be graded but rather to be felt and discussed.

Oh what fun this board would be! We could probably even locate Eugene to moderate the it.

Can't we all lighten up for a bit? So what if there is a little human frailty (OK in Ron's case, a lot if it) that tinges the board once in a while? How many times can we do the Ti vs. Al vs. Steel vs. Cf or Campy vs. Shimano without interjecting a little humor, tasteless as it may seem to some of the readers. The fact that on this board most posters know the others and that they know more about them than their bike and component preferences makes it more "real" and interesting.
Lazy, Ron, Trollman liven things up, regardless of how much you may want to pull them through the screen and strangle them at times. It makes this more than a sterile discussion of lubes and chains but rather a conversation.

Just my .02

Mike
An outstanding positionscottfree
Apr 15, 2002 6:22 PM
I can't disagree with. Even as a card-carrying leftist, I despise the totalitarian bent of political correctness. Your points are all well taken. And there's nothing at all wrong with good natured ribaldry among friends.

BUT, as part of this conversation, I just wanted to say I find old Ron's relentless masturbatory leering tiresome.
An outstanding positionRadicalRonPruitt
Apr 15, 2002 6:28 PM
FYI, I don't need to pleasure my own self. I like to look at the girl from Colorado Cyclist and imagine my wife is her. It is my only hope of getting a little enjoyment out of the cruel joke that is my marriage.
An outstanding positionBikeViking
Apr 15, 2002 6:38 PM
That's pretty hardcore man!! WHy are you still married if you feel that way? Having been in a similar boat a few years ago, I can certainly relate.
An outstanding positionRadicalRonPruitt
Apr 15, 2002 6:41 PM
I can't afford another divorce. They cost lots of money not only in the short term but in the long term as well. That's why I started riding. It keeps me away from the bike. I do week long trips like the AIDS ride and RAGBRAI just to stay out of the house.
No wonder your marriage is a mess...Uncle Tim
Apr 15, 2002 8:04 PM
Your comments are just a little too weird for this message board. You are creeping me out. Maybe you have the same effect on the women you know, even the ones you marry.
No wonder your marriage is a mess...RadicalRonPruitt
Apr 16, 2002 3:51 AM
What is it that is creeping you out?
Also, while you're at it:RadicalRonPruitt
Apr 15, 2002 6:25 PM
That was totally GROOVY!
Right on, Mike!guido
Apr 15, 2002 7:01 PM
I've been following the adventures of Eugene recently and rather think the other posters gave him a complex. He's a smart kid, who tries to put together ideas and concepts, and seems to appreciate different points of view (he's "cosmically conscious").

What makes any community interesting is not what everyone has in common, but the variety of experiences, assumptions, points of view, that everyone brings to the discussion, debate, forum, whatever. If Eugene is 16, as he said he is, give the kid a break, as some of you somewhat wistfully seem to have done with Trollman.

No one needs to be obsessed with political correctness now that the mating season is well underway, as indirectly you seem to be suggesting. So yeah, let the tastless humor roll!
Great post, man! (nm)Leisure
Apr 15, 2002 7:55 PM
i too support tasteless humorishmael
Apr 15, 2002 8:41 PM
these days i scroll down the page without any interest perked.....where is the old fuji bike girl, all this talk of the colorado mag girl and the maybe lesbian being attractive is crap...and who put up that pic about 6 months ago (still vivid in my memmory) of someone in the bathtub shooting nasty diarea in the air....i think it was you. weiwang (sp) you broke your collarbone...it was supposedly a mispost, im sure some of you remember it..how bout we have non-bike post day where you have to put something controversial up and we can all argue about it and then get back to the same old the next day..
i too support tasteless humorRadicalRonPruitt
Apr 16, 2002 3:52 AM
I don't think I could handle the diarea pic. Let's not go that far.
"The tragedy of the commons."? ....128
Apr 16, 2002 5:45 AM
BTW, article featuring Harris Cyclery and our furry friend Sheldon in the Boston Globe last weekend...(re how their web site generates some business)
and an article in the current GQ about overweight people and cycling; havn't read it, looked weird though....
too hot for a hot topic!gregg
Apr 16, 2002 7:59 AM
I've stayed away from putting the Colorado Cyclist Girl threads as hot topics, 'cuz they are too hot already!

I forwarded the "females RoadbikeREVIEW members answer to all the CC girl posts" to the other ladies in our office here. They seemed to enjoy it. Fairness and equality right?

How 'bout a Fan Club?

-g