RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Weekend Ride Write-up: Tierra Bella Metric (Gilroy, CA)(20 posts)

Weekend Ride Write-up: Tierra Bella Metric (Gilroy, CA)gregg
Apr 15, 2002 12:28 PM
I'll be posting some pictures and some comments about the Tierra Bella fundraiser ride put on every year by the Almaden Cycle Touring Club. The ride was this past Saturday in Gilroy, CA. I elected to do the Metric (100km, which is about 62 miles), since I haven't been riding a whole heck of a lot.

Weather was beautiful, and the event was a success, judging from the turnout.



Got to Gavilan College at 7:45 and boy was registration crowded!



DOH! Forgot my jersey at home, sitting on my computer chair! Borrow $20 from my brother-in-law to buy an ACTC classic jersey. Not a bad jersey for $20!
scenery and greenerygregg
Apr 15, 2002 12:33 PM
I have lived in the SF-SJ Bay Area all my life, and sometimes you forget how simply beautiful the rural roads can be. I'm a total novice photographer, but hopefully some of these pics will relay the splendor of mother nature.



and another:



It was difficult to take the camera out of the jersey pocket, and take it out of the case, and then turn it on, focus and all that stuff. But I think I started to get a hang of it, after a while.



A pic of my bro-in-law:
Make me homesick...Brooks
Apr 15, 2002 2:15 PM
I grew up in the Eastbay, loved riding around Diablo, Briones, the hills towards Sunol, etc. Still snow on the ground here in Utah, but the roads are mostly dry. I loved the weather in the Bay Area, the oak trees and new green grass. Hey, Gregg, your brother-in-law has the same Specialized Allez Epic that I have! Although I also have a more recent addition to the bike herd.

Looks like it was fun.
Brooks
Next time, try a disposablepmf1
Apr 16, 2002 6:53 AM
They take pretty decent pictures, they're light and compact, easy to pull in and out of the jersey pocket (no case) and if you drop it, so what. I've taken lots of riding action pictures with them.
good suggestion but for me...gregg
Apr 16, 2002 8:01 AM
...time is critical to get it up on the site well it's still fresh. Being able to plug the camera directly to the computer and upload the pictures is so much more convenient than dropping off the film, picking it up, scanning it, etc...
first rest stop: Gilroy Hot Springsgregg
Apr 15, 2002 12:38 PM
After about 19 miles and a decent climb up to the Gilroy Hot Springs, we had Rest Stop number 1.
Here are some various pics of the crowd:





The guy in the C'dale jerseys not too sure 'bout the drinks:



The guy on the left says, "no autographs, please!"
the foodgregg
Apr 15, 2002 12:45 PM
Many people complained about the food (or rather, the lack thereof). And I have to say, I agree. I've ridden the Tierra Bella once before, and I remember the food being better.

On their website, one of the members of the ACTC apologizes for the food short-comings and says that they will work to improve for next year. I'm sure they will, and I know they worked hard on a smoothly run event, other than that one issue. I'm not sure, but I think they had close to 2200 entrants? Definitely a challenge to hold an event for some many people on a staff of volunteer help.

I was sorry to see that they had run out of the great nutbread that they always have, and we noted the absence of any fruits at the first rest stop (no bananas, oranges, apples).

I was happy to see the old bagels and cream cheese:



And the standard pb&j:



I was suprised to see Cup O' Styro!
an unfortunate accidentgregg
Apr 15, 2002 12:55 PM
Leaving the Hot Springs rest stop, we began our first real decent of the ride. About 2 minutes into it, a volunteer is warning us to slow down for an accident about half mile ahead.

"Oh no," I think to myself. "Sure hope it's not a cyclist". But deep down, you know already know otherwise.

I only go 'bout a quarter mile and I can see this:


Helicopter coming in for a landing right as I round the bend.



Not a good site. I feel a little guilty for some reason as I stop to take these pictures. It's not that I hope to see blood or anything like that. It's just that this poor fellow has had a horrendous, possibly life-threatening accident, and here I am taking pictures of it. I validate my actions by saying that perhaps this will serve as a reminder to the RoadbikeREVIEW community to always be careful of what CAN happen when we're out doing what we all love to do. Please everyone, ride safe.

I don't know any details of the accident, but I couldn't see any other vehicles. The accident occured on a right hand downhill corner. The fallen rider was about 20 yards over the barrier in the field.

A lot of police (about 5 cars)



Two fire trucks, 1 ambulance. You can bet that I took it a LOT easier on the downhill after that.
an unfortunate accidentmr_spin
Apr 15, 2002 2:12 PM
That must have been some accident. I thought at first they might have rolled down the hill, but there is a barbed wire fence there. They had to have flown over it!

I did Tierra Bella five years in a row, and I recall seeing at least two accidents in basically the same place. Canada Road is a fun, twisting, screaming descent, but only if you know it! It was a lot worse before they repaved parts of it.

The whole loop up to Gilroy Hot Springs is such a great place to ride. Especially now. There's a hint of all the poppies in bloom in these shots. It's still too early in the morning to see them in full glory.
rest stop #2: Omargregg
Apr 15, 2002 1:01 PM
Through some trees and then onto the straights.



Omar Road was the site of the second rest-stop.
(Hey, CliffO. nice, clean Waterford in this pic)



Cyclists come in all sizes and shapes, this guy was giant (and hungry!)



Food here was more of the same, just missed out on the last of the bananas here.
Slam down a pb and j and I'm on my way.

More of the crowd.
Who is the Triton!!!OwenMeany
Apr 15, 2002 2:12 PM
I am an ol'ucsd cycling triton...looks like a fella we call "tall-jon"....
rest stop #2: OmarCliff Oates
Apr 15, 2002 5:46 PM
My Waterford is blue. I was kicking myself for not being there, because the weather was absolutely magnificent last weekend. My usual riding bud and a friend of his did the metric also. Will you be doing the Primavera this coming weekend, gregg?

(for Brooks, some East Bay pics: my ride pages)
yes, Primavera Century.gregg
Apr 16, 2002 8:03 AM
My brother-in-law will be doing the metric, but I will be doing the Century. Are you riding it too?

LMK.
(gkato@roadbikereview.com)

-gregg
Primavera CenturyCliff Oates
Apr 16, 2002 2:24 PM
gregg,

I'm just doing the metric. I'm backing off my riding a little this year and I don't have 100 miles in me right now. My riding bud wants to do the Davis double, so he's in for the century. My guess is we'll hook up with the owner of Dublin Cyclery and a couple of other guys and make it a comfort cruise.

Cliff
rest stop #3: Coyotegregg
Apr 15, 2002 1:07 PM
A looongg straight stretch after the Omar stop. Through the lush valleys of Gilroy.



Across the road from rest stop #3 was a nice orchard:



At least the food at the Coyote Rest Stop was a little different:



And a close-up of my lunch (that's a ham and cheese burrito).
food?RideLots
Apr 15, 2002 2:03 PM
All that food for 62 miles? Wow. If I ate like that I'd puke it up all over the road. :-)
yeah, I'm a real porker, these days!gregg
Apr 15, 2002 2:06 PM
I find the extra weight helps on the downhills.
finish and more foodgregg
Apr 15, 2002 1:17 PM
Feeling good coming out of Coyote, my brother-in-law are feeling good so we decide to skip the last rest stop at Machado. Keeping a good pace, we follow the straights back towards Gavilan. Don't have much pictures of this stretch for two reasons. It wasn't as scenic as the first two thirds of the ride, and also because of the fact that I have an appt. at 3pm that I have to get back home for.

We make it back to the truck at 1:30pm and head for the food.
Overheard in the chow line: "Okay, now I forgive them for the food at the rest stops."

The finish meal is your choice of veggie or meat lasagne, garlic bread, and salad. In fact, I was SOO hungry, I forgot to take a picture of the meal!



This photographer took some good pictures. He has a good one of me on his site, but I'll wait till I get permission before I post it.



And what's a good, hard ride without the massage! $17 bucks for 20 minutes, a bargain (too bad I have to hurry home.)



And one parting shot of the campus.
Thanks! Now I'm sorry I didn't do it- (nm)rideslikeagirl
Apr 15, 2002 1:23 PM
re: Weekend Ride Write-up: Tierra Bella Metric (Gilroy, CA)Rubberbandman
Apr 15, 2002 3:56 PM
Thanks for the photos, that was pretty cool. I haven't ridden an organized century in a long time but after viewing the photos I'm seriously considering it.