RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How should you place your butt on a bike saddle?(18 posts)

How should you place your butt on a bike saddle?aet
Apr 11, 2002 10:39 AM
serious question as i struggle to find the right saddle and how i should sit on it. do you try to place your butt bones as far back as you can on the wider part of the saddle or do you sit somewhat forward? should there be any pressure at all on your crotch?
if you have a saddle with a cutout or recessed area, should your crotch be forward on that area?
male or female? (nm)rideslikeagirl
Apr 11, 2002 10:51 AM
male (nm)aet
Apr 11, 2002 11:54 AM
re: I move around a lot.dzrider
Apr 11, 2002 11:40 AM
Back for climbing, further back if I'm working to stay low in a headwind, just shifting around to stay comfortable. I was not happy with a cutout, seemed to make a few spots around the edge of the hole much more uncomfortable with only a little improvement any where else. I don't think of myself as sitting on the saddle as much as I think of myself propped or balanced between the saddle, pedals and bars.
re: I move around a lot.koala
Apr 11, 2002 2:07 PM
I move forward when I spin and back when i need power. It just seems to work for me, its nothing but trial and error.
re: How should you place your butt on a bike saddle?speedisgood
Apr 12, 2002 5:02 AM
I'm with the others here--back for more power, forward for more speed. It feels the best when I can get my ischial tuberosities ("sit bones") over the middle-rear of the saddle. I only sit more forward for short periods, usually in races.

BTW, I ride on a Flite saddle mostly. A new bike came with a Fizik Pave and it's much narrower in the middle part, like it doesn't flare as gradually as the Flite going from front to back. Anyway, it's not very comfortable unless I can get my butt way back to the wide part.

Tilt is also major. I try to find the balance so that I sit mostly on my sit bones with only slight, comfortable pressure on the crotch.

Hope this helps; good luck!
i've wondered this, too, and the catch-all answer seems to beJS Haiku Shop
Apr 12, 2002 6:11 AM
get the bike on a trainer, spin for 10 minutes while in a good, in-depth conversation with someone. stop spinning. where are you on the saddle?

personally, i've moved from the specialized bg comp (cutout) to a san marco regal. also using a san marco squadra on the ss road bike. i think the width and firmness of these (slightly wider than the bg comp, i think) versus the more narrow profile and cushier-make of the specialized saddle make my butt happy. this has yet to be tested over 70 miles. i took the bg comps out to 125, and they hurt my arse starting around 80 miles. just imaho (in my arse's humble opinion).
good to see the use of arse rather than assscruffyduncan
Apr 12, 2002 6:17 AM
are you british or is this usage spreading over the pond?
you can't say "ASS" on this forum. repeat: no "ASS" on forum...JS Haiku Shop
Apr 12, 2002 6:19 AM
nope, i just like to say "arse". guess it's spreading over the pond. the word, that is--not the actual arse. :-)
lolscruffyduncan
Apr 12, 2002 6:38 AM
saddle / ass poem :o)JS Haiku Shop
Apr 12, 2002 6:46 AM
where to sit on the saddle
the question that was passed
very important that we deicide
how to rest our mass
cutout, standard, or leather stretched
over ti, steel, or brass
ride for ten minutes, then make notice
of the position of your ASS
how do you like the Regal?tarwheel
Apr 12, 2002 6:47 AM
The Regal is one of the best looking saddles out there, in my opinion, but they sure are hard to find. I've been trying to snag one on eBay for months, and they always get bid up beyond my price range. I hate to pay retail because saddles are so iffy -- you can easily drop $75 on one and then find out after just a few rides that it doesn't fit right.
it's schweet!JS Haiku Shop
Apr 12, 2002 7:13 AM
told one of the regular group riders that i had to get a wide saddle to fit my wide butt, she said it's just wide *sit bones* (grin). actually, it's quite comfy. took a couple rides to get the position just right, and a couple more rides to either break it in or break me in (i think the latter, as the saddle is based on a plastic frame, not suspended leather like the brooks), but now it's invisible during the ride. most recenly on the specialized bg comp (i had one on both of my road bikes, and on the mtb), i was having discomfort in as little as 15-30 miles. the most i've done on the regal so far is ~30 miles, but with no problems whatsoever.

incidentally, the san marco *squadra* replaces a concor light that was stock on my surly, which was tiny and felt like sitting on a piece of wood, at least to me. i have done 70+ on the squadra (on the single speed) with only very minor soreness, probably due to the tilt/etc. not being dialed-in just right.

check sdeals.com for good prices on these saddles. i got the regal from them for $40, including shipping. it arrived two weeks later, no problems, good as new. so long as you're in no rush, it's a super price. if it doesn't fit, sell it on ebay!...or sell it to me...
sdeals ... and saddle haikutarwheel
Apr 12, 2002 8:22 AM
Is the Regal saddle they have for $35 the titanium rail version? If so, that's a great price. The last one I was watching on eBay sold for more than $60, not including shipping.

got the saddle blues
no, my butt is not too big
iv'e got wide seat bones
nope, it's not the Ti version...JS Haiku Shop
Apr 12, 2002 11:44 AM
not getting the Ti
don't mean you can't tie one one
on May fourth, my friend

aren't you in NC?
the drive to Chattanooga
isn't that far, hey?
agree on the sit bone width (another hiney post)lonefrontranger
Apr 12, 2002 8:27 AM
I'm going to borrow a term I heard Missy Elliott use in an interview once. I'm a HEALTHY woman. Ask anyone who's ridden behind me. I got assferdays, and maybe even a couple weeks. That being said, I've ridden Flite saddles since they started making them, and now have SLRs on 2 of my bikes.

Why would I submit my naughty bits to these skinny little torture devices that look about as comfortable as sitting on the business end of a razor blade? Because despite all the copious padding I have on the nether end, I'm skeletally graced with narrow sit bones. Wide women's saddles merely cause undending pressure / chafing and make my feet go numb. On the MTB, I have problems getting back off the saddle unless it's a super narrow one. My short legs and big thighs don't help.

It took me several years and a lot of saddle issues to figure this out. Once I found the Flites and their ilk to be comfy, I've never gone back.
and preeety!colker
Apr 12, 2002 9:51 AM
such a beautifull shape. the rivets are classy.
there's something in the pa(u)dding that makes the regal extremely comfortable. it isolates road harshness.
my other favourite is the selle italia turbomatic. harder and smaller than the regal but also very comfy on the day to day riding schedules.
lol: "something in the pa(u)dding" nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 12, 2002 11:46 AM