RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What's the Best Chain Lube?(26 posts)

What's the Best Chain Lube?Scummer
Apr 10, 2002 5:32 AM
I'm contemplating going back to chain lube from a parifin based chain wax/spray (like that used on Motorcycles). While I like many aspects of the spray lube/wax, I think a more viscous lube may be worth trying. I ride only on the road, and never in the rain if I can help it. Suggestions? Thanks!
re: What's the Best Chain Lube?eschelon
Apr 10, 2002 5:40 AM
I prefer Pedros Dry Chain Lube...comes in an aerosol can...works great...keeps the crap off of my drive train. White Lightening is crap. It drys thick and chunky on my chain and also attracts more dirt and crap onto my chain than using petrol-based teflon wet lubes or WD-40. Plus, I'm one of those types of persons that likes to keep his chain and drive train shiney-chrome and White Lightening keeps everything looking dirty.
Campy vs. Shimanopmf1
Apr 10, 2002 5:52 AM
Everyone has their favorite, and they all work about as well. Try some different ones and see what you like. Fortunately, lube isn't expensive. Get it in a drip bottle and apply it to the chain rollers.
re: What's the Best Chain Lube?heloise
Apr 10, 2002 5:53 AM
Pedro's Ice Wax for dry conditions.

Slippery Spit for wet.

IMHO
Pro LinkGalibier
Apr 10, 2002 6:31 AM
That's what I like. Bicycling reviewed some chain lubes here: http://www.bicycling.com/daily/pod/pod_061801.shtml.
Agreed. Eets guud sheet, mon. nmRoyGBiv
Apr 10, 2002 6:52 AM
WD-40 , reallysurf
Apr 10, 2002 6:58 AM
WD-40 , reallyClydeTri
Apr 10, 2002 8:04 AM
NOT! WD-40 is a penetrant..not a lubricant
agree, yet disagree...SteveO
Apr 10, 2002 8:29 AM
wd40 is, technically, a penetrant, but it does have lubricating qualities.

Ive used WD-40 exclusively on my motorcycle chains. My last chain held about 60,000 miles. My current has about 35 with no signs of stretch. Both prettymuch unheard of in the cycling world (except by those who use WD40).

having said that, i use tri-flow on the bicycle.
Motorcycle Chains...Nessism
Apr 10, 2002 9:24 AM
...are sealed by O-rings inside the rollers keeping the factory installed lube inside where it belongs. Lube on the outside of o-ring chains is needed to keep the chain from rusting and lube the sprockets. Frankly, 60k on a motorcycle chain is outstanding life. Did the sprockets last that entire time using only WD-40?
Motorcycle Chains...SteveO
Apr 10, 2002 9:33 AM
I sold the bike with the original sprocket (it WAS fairly worn, but never replaced).

It Was a nighthawk750; no excessive power, and was used primarly as a long-range commuter (80 miles RT). Im sure these were factors in chain/sprocket life.

My current bike sill has original sprocket; no appreciable wear.
oh yeah...SteveO
Apr 10, 2002 9:38 AM
i spray the chain every friday evening; 400 miles on the nose.
WD-40 , reallysalmonwheel
Apr 10, 2002 9:07 AM
Actually, I've used WD-40( in a pinch, desperate not thinking) and it worked quite well, just didn't last very long. I was surprised. I use it generally for cleaning purposes but......
re: What's the Best Chain Lube?surf
Apr 10, 2002 6:59 AM
Pro LinkBob in Indiana
Apr 10, 2002 7:00 AM
By reputation only as I've yet to use it, but have heard and read that it is fantastic. As I recall, they have a very cool, informative web-site explaining the advantages. Plan to use it this season for sure.

Here's the link:

http://www.progoldmfr.com/
Its just funny smelling oilpmf1
Apr 10, 2002 7:21 AM
I tried it and don't understand what all the excitement is. Its just funny smelling oil ... Oh, I mean "metal treatment". Gimme a break. It didn't go on as dry as Finish Line and seemed to attract lots more dirt. For some reason, it has a huge following here.

Bicycling Mag gave White Lightening 4/5 stars.
Its just funny smelling oilgtx
Apr 10, 2002 8:49 AM
seems to work best if you apply it the day before--kind of like Boeshield. But I've had great luck with Prolink--it's my current fav for my road bikes. Speaking of funny smelling oil, I think Finish Line put some kind of perfume in their Cross Coutry wet lube--my fav for the mtb.
AgreedMcAndrus
Apr 10, 2002 9:40 AM
Based on the fine reputation, I bought a bottle and tried it for two months. I got tired of taking my chain off, cleaning it, putting it back on, taking my cassette off, cleaning it, putting it back on - every stinking weekend.

I'm back with White Lightning. It's noisier but I can't hear it with the wind blowing in my ears.
Maybe it is, but it works.look271
Apr 10, 2002 4:31 PM
I have an old Nishiki that I bought from a shop, used. They typically lube their chains with Triflow. I just relubed it with Prolink and the shifting difference is VERY noticable. It shifts much better with the Prolink and I did nothing else to the bike except relube the chain.
Dura-Lubespeedisgood
Apr 10, 2002 7:31 AM
I've had good luck with this stuff and it's hella cheap compared to cycling specific brands. I think I paid $4 for a double 12-ounce pack that's lasted me over a year and a half. The upside is that I can afford to lube my chain after each wet/dirty ride because I can remove the chain using a Powerlink (Shimano chain.) I think frequent cleaning of the chain helps increase it's longevity a little. Plus, it looks better, even if the rest of the bike is caked in road grit :)

That said, I really liked Prolink when I used it. Seemed to work better then Tri-flow, WD-40 (surprise, it's designed for Water Displacement [WD]), and prolly even the Dura-Lube, except for price.

My nickel (inflation.)

Oh yeah, Dura-Lube sounds more appropriate to use on Dura-Ace . . .
re: What's the Best Chain Lube?Slipstream
Apr 10, 2002 7:38 AM
This is a repost from Mar 18 re. best lubricant:

Lubricant is an area of considerable controversy. Different people will tell you different things.

Which is best? Use different lubes for different conditions. All-condition lubes typically will not meet the claims of the manufacturer. Wax-based lubes tend to build up and get sticky, trapping dirt. Self-cleaning wax-based lubes only work if your initial application is on a clean chain; if not you're in for trouble.

Less is more. Too much and you attract and hold dirt. It is then pulled through your drivetrain and causes wear. It is easy to over-apply aerosol chain lubricants.

With the exception of extremely dirty or wet conditions--T-9 Boeshield is a great product. It stays clean and washes off easily once dirty. Also, it can be used near plastics and rubber and without damage.
re: air tool oildzrider
Apr 10, 2002 7:45 AM
Costs much less than fancy staff, lasts a while in the rain, doesn't hold much dirt and keeps my chain quiet. I get it at the hardware store or auto parts store and pour it into an old Pro-Link bottle.
Boeshield T-9 (nm)Chen2
Apr 10, 2002 10:27 AM
prolink nmk mand
Apr 10, 2002 10:52 AM
nm
re: What's the Best Chain Lube?metty108
Apr 10, 2002 11:33 AM
GT-85, says on the can "the No1 choice of professionals"
and it smells nice, also a damn good degreaser.

Paul
I thought it was just a matter of timeColnagoFE
Apr 10, 2002 2:33 PM
before someone posted the "homemade prolink" recipe. This one is getting as old as Campy/Shimano.