RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Giant TCR(8 posts)

Giant TCRjswhern
Apr 8, 2002 4:53 AM
Any posters ride and have any feedback in regards to the TCR?
re: Giant TCRSpoke Wrench
Apr 8, 2002 5:30 AM
That's been a fairly commonly reviewed bike. I'd say the consensus among owners is that they like them but that's pretty much the story about every bike.

The thing I'd advise you to be extreamly careful about is the sizing. Most shop guys are much more familiar with fitting traditional geometry road bikes and consequently it looks to me like many TCR riders are getting bigger bikes than Giant recommends. As a general rule, if you don't have a good amount of seat post sticking out of the frame and if the fitter didn't fool around quite a bit with the stem, I'd doubt that you got a good fit. Checking standover height is meaningless on a TCR.
re: Giant TCRcyclopathic
Apr 8, 2002 5:44 AM
Spoke is right do the search you'll dig out enough.

I've had one and sold not because of fit it was too harsh for century riding. Very light good bike for crits or road races. Aero would make a good TT bike.

With respect to fitting check Giant site also go with the shop which sells high end MTB they ought to have more experience in fitting. Dealer should swap stem/seatpost good luck
re: Giant TCRJohnG
Apr 8, 2002 6:28 AM
I've got a medium ONCE replica. The TT is just a tad longer than I prefer so I don't use the bike all that much.

The bike is very light, quite stiff, and actually VERY comfy by AL standards. I've done 150 mile days on the bike and didn't feel like the bike beat me up at all. As a comparison I sold my Dale Cadd5 frame because it was just WAY too harsh. IMHO, the TCR is a much more comfy frame than the Dale.

Keep in mind the TCR is just a tad twitchy and high speed. Anything over 45 mph takes concentration!!!

********* Size the bike by TT length and if you can't be fit properly with an 11-12 cm stem then I'd suggest looking elsewhere.

YMMV
JohnG
re: Giant TCRclintb
Apr 8, 2002 9:32 AM
I've been riding a 60cm C-dale 2.8 crit frame since around 95 and just got an 01 TCR Zero in Large. So far I think the TCR definately is more stable. I don't have a computer on it yet, so I can't claim that I'm any faster, but it sure feels like it. Must have something to do with the fact that it's around 5lbs lighter than the C-dale.

Overall, I really like the frame. Comfortable, stiff enough, really light, anodized (not easily scratched), sized well for me. Get this...I'm 6'4" and it fits better than my 60cm C-dale. Don't know how I got so lucky on that one.
TCRmixinbeatz
Apr 8, 2002 11:27 AM
I have been riding a TCR 0 for about 4 months. I have put well over a thousand miles on it so far and I love it. It is the perfect crit/RR bike for me. If I was not a competitive cyclist, I would probably still ride my steel bianchi most of the time, but the advantages for racing are well worth the ride. Don't get me wrong the TCR rides, and handles great for an aluminum bike, but does require a little more attention on the fast decents and the sprints. If you decide to pick one up, measure based on the top tube length and not stand over. I am 6 foot tall and the rep tried to talk me into a Large, but a medium with a 120mm stem fits like a glove. Also make sure you get the right seatpost length, it is a little tricky at first.
TCR!!!! GO FOR IT!!!!`weiwentg
Apr 8, 2002 3:37 PM
assuming you fit, anyway. if so, you'll be hard pressed to find a better bike for the money.
re: Giant TCRGeekRoadie
Apr 8, 2002 6:09 PM
Based on the reviews I read at this site, I picked up a TCR last year. I'd have to say that the bike is a blast to ride. A light touch is definitely important since handling is pretty snappy especially at high speeds. It climbs well and seems faster than other bikes that I have. Pretty darn good value IF you can get one to fit properly. Don't limit yourself to one size if you are 'tweener. I should be medium according to Giant's guidlines, but found that a small fit much better. Make sure that you get the dealer to dial you in with the correct seatpost size.

hth
Mike