RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


My first century... I think =)(68 posts)

My first century... I think =)b_spiwak
Apr 8, 2002 4:47 AM
In about three weeks, I will be riding the local MS 150; it's 150 miles in 2 days. My first question is this: can this be considered a century?

Second Question: What should I expect? What sorts of things should I keep in mind? Thanks....
Century riding...floatch
Apr 8, 2002 5:06 AM
Personally, I wouldn't consider it a century unless I started with zero and ended the day with 100+ miles on my computer. That's not to say you couldn't stop to eat, relax, stretch, etc. You could probably backtrack 25 miles or so to make one day a century ride.
I would probably look forward to headwinds, uphills, railroad tracks that cross the road at a 45 degree angle, rough broken concrete, rain, sleet, snow, and the occasional dog. ;)
Keep in mind that riding is ALWAYS better than work, and that even if the ride is killing you, it could always be worse. I know you were probably looking for sepcific advice, so the best I can give you is to have fun!
Riding "always" better than workPaulCL
Apr 8, 2002 5:40 AM
Not necessarily. I've had great days at work that later allow me the guilt free pleasure of riding. And, I've had horrible rides that in the midst of, I would love to be at work.
Case in point: Yesterday's ride. 45 miles. 35 degrees. Windy. Me: just got over a week of the flu (body aches, fever, chills, etc) - two days of feeling great before riding. Half way through the ride, I was toast. I would have given anything to be sitting in my office.
re: My first century... I think =)pmf1
Apr 8, 2002 5:08 AM
No, a century is 100 miles ridden in one day. However, if you can ride 75 miles comfortably (esp back to back), then you should be able to do a century. Keep your eyes open for an organized one in your area and go for it.
sure it is...SteveO
Apr 8, 2002 5:38 AM
ref. Websters:

Century 4. A race or event over one hundred units (such as yards or miles)

So the event has a rest-period, so what? So does the TdF
Sorry, can't agreejtolleson
Apr 8, 2002 5:41 AM
When the "rest period" is dinner, sleep, and breakfast, it is not all one ride.

That being said, good for you on the MS150. And it is so early in the season; you should make it a goal to find and ride an organized century (charitable or not) and enjoy.
I agree, I disagree.... huh?floatch
Apr 8, 2002 5:49 AM
I think the really deciding factor is sleep. Stopping to stretch, eat, etc is acceptable. Stopping to eat a full meal and then going to sleep for the night negates "a day of riding." I've done ragbrai a few times now, which is usually around 500 miles. Could I honestly say I've ridden 500 miles in one ride? Nope.
interestingcyclopathic
Apr 8, 2002 6:02 AM
very few people had done 1000 and 1200km randonees like Paris-Brest-Paris, Boston-Montreal-Boston, etc without sleep. Come to think RAAM races sleep in avg 90min/day in either case it still being considered as one ride.
I'm confused...SteveO
Apr 8, 2002 6:13 AM
do you disagree with the English Language?, or do you believe the MS150 oragnizers actually organized two independent events which happen to geographically coincide over 2 days?
nobody caresmr_spin
Apr 8, 2002 6:49 AM
If you want to call it a century, then it's a century. No one really cares as much as you might think. It's not like your name gets entered into the big book of century riders. It doesn't get engraved into a slab of marble on a mountain top in the Dolomites.

Deep down, you know it's not a century.
Neither can Ipmf1
Apr 8, 2002 5:49 AM
Its 100 or more miles ridden in a single day.
You guys are funnySteveO
Apr 8, 2002 6:22 AM
how can one argue against proper use of the English Language? Where does 'one day' come into play? Are there any other definitions we should alter to suit our needs/feelings?

It is still a SINGLE EVENT over 100 miles.

I suspect some may be feeling 'shorted' that someone who stretches their accomplishment over two days would be receiving the same recognition as someone who did this mystical 'one day' century.
How can one argue against proper use of the English Language?floatch
Apr 8, 2002 6:53 AM
Guh. Century, used to describe a bicycle ride, describes ONE RIDE consisting of one hundred miles. If you stop to sleep over night, it's no longer one ride. Sure, Webster's may disagree, but what about the myriad other words we've taken to use as we see fit? If I'm not mistaken Webster's has recently included the word D'oh? Isn't that right? Can anyone back me here?
SoSteveO
Apr 8, 2002 6:59 AM
youre saying then, that the MS150 is really the MS75+MS75?
It is one ride, regardless of your opinion.

As far as altering existing words to suit our needs....well...whatever you need to do. I prefer qualification over modification.
You're a lawyer, right? (nm)pmf1
Apr 8, 2002 7:16 AM
You're a lawyer, right? (nm)SteveO
Apr 8, 2002 7:31 AM
nah, just enjoy good-sprited debate, as well as expressing the uncommon (though not necessarily incorrect) perspective.
NO!tz
Apr 8, 2002 7:24 AM
The reason why we even bother to differentiate a "century" from all other rides is to underscore its extent and difficulty. I believe that calling a multi-day event a "century" is a mistake. These are two completely separate categories of bicycle rides. Would you boast about accumulating a 100 miles in a month?
As of the venerable Webster's dictionary, we shouldn't blindly stick to its definitions. [which aren't definitions anyway] If we follow your logic, then 75+75, 50+50+50, and six 25-mile rides should also be considered "centuries", which they are definitely not.
double NO!SteveO
Apr 8, 2002 7:36 AM
The reason we perceive a 'century' as being a single-day event is that most exposure to 'centuryies' are, in fact, single day events.

I, personally, would not boast about accumulating 100 miles in a month, but i also wouldnt be so pompous as to diminish the accomplishment for those who proudly have.

Regarding your extension of my logic, your example included multiple rides, which was beyond the scope of my arguement (being as the ms150 is a single ride).

Do you consider the TdF to be one race?
You guys are funnypmf1
Apr 8, 2002 7:14 AM
So I ride a century every week commuting to work? And then another every weekend? My God, I rode over 50 centuries last year. Down from 65 the year before.

Sorry, no matter what you dictionary says, I've never seen any event advertised as a "century" that was anything other than a one day ride of 100+ miles. Is a double century two days of 100 mile rides? No.

You're splitting hairs here with your dictionary. The guy asked if his MS-150 counted as a century. To 99% of us, the answer is going to be no. I'm not putting him down for what he's doing. 150 miles in a weekend is a lot of mileage and its for a good cause. Its not a century though.
You guys are funnySteveO
Apr 8, 2002 7:28 AM
If you consider Riding to the office 5 times to be a single ride, then i guess so... but to 99 percent of us, the inswer is going to be no.

I didnt mean to overemphasize the actual meaning of the word 'century', in actuality i was trying to emphasize the 'single event' aspect of the two-day event.

Sorry if you guys disagree... PERSONALLY, I feel you havent accomplished a century if you stopped for food, drink, stretch, bathroom, etc. After all, a stop of any duration would constitute disruption in activity.

Peace,
I didn't inhale ...pmf1
Apr 8, 2002 7:33 AM
Oral sex isn't sex ...

Whatever dude. Fact remains that you have a different definition of a century than anyone else here. I'm sure all the many centuries you do don't involve getting off the bike to eat, drink or go to the bathroom. The ones we all do are done in a single day, rest stops included. I don't care what your dictionary says, you're wrong.
Please provide me with a complete list ofSteveO
Apr 8, 2002 7:38 AM
all the 'allowable' stops for my next century. I wouldnt want to break the sacred yet elusive century rulebook.
Shut your yapper!Alex-in-Evanston
Apr 8, 2002 7:55 AM
Your point is made - go ride a faux century and shut your hole. Good Lord, you're annoying.

Alex
Well stated position, Alex.SteveO
Apr 8, 2002 8:11 AM
Though I must question the capacity of one who apparently requires use of his mouth for typing.

Ciao.
We beg your forgiveness. An insult this serioustz
Apr 8, 2002 8:17 AM
can only be washed away with blood.
Departing into my study to commit hari-kari.
What's the "event"? I say it is the ride. Two days, two rides.tma
Apr 9, 2002 8:18 AM
Since when does the dictionary drive how we construe an event?jtolleson
Apr 8, 2002 8:15 AM
I'm sure brevet riders will be pleased to know that you can aggregate rides over multiple days and then claim to be an endurance rider! That means my longest ride ever was 480! (A tour a couple years back).

Seriously, however the rider wants to construe his or her achievement is fine, but aggregating rides on separate days into a "century" does not fit my definition of a 100 mile ride.

The MS150 is a great event, and for many riders a crowning achievement. But it is a two day tour, not a 150 mile ride.
brevets are differentcyclopathic
Apr 8, 2002 12:14 PM
they do have time limit. Besides using intuitive no stop/no sleep rule would disqualify many on 600km and most on 1000/1200km most people do take a break.
I think the analogy is still aptjtolleson
Apr 8, 2002 1:42 PM
But if folks are emotionally invested in laying claim to having finished a 100 or 200 or 300 mile ride, notwithstanding that they stretch it out over multiple days, I won't stand in their way.

But I'll maintain my opinion that labeling 100 miles over the course of a weekend as a "century" is misleading and inaccurate, because the event is designed to tap endurance.

But clearly we're all nestled in one camp or another on this.
Language is funnysalmonwheel
Apr 8, 2002 8:40 AM
Language is a tool used to describe the world. Meanings change and are assigned according to usage and general agreement on meaning. Compare definitions of words in really old dictionaries to new ones. You'll see that definitions aren't static. Since we are discussing the english language are there limits to what could be considered a single event. If I organized a daily afterwork ride of ten miles for ten work days (weekends off) and called it the "afterwork 2 week ride", Is that still a single event and therefore a century, I wouldn't think so. I know I'm being sillly, but it's to make a point. Definitins of the words inour language aren't the final answer. There are gray areas and interpretations that differ in different communities. I don't think anyone really cares about Noah Webster's opinion on this. I think the question we are after is , do cyclists as a group consider a two day ride of 150 miles a century?

If we used Websters definition strictly, there would be no such thing as a double century, right, because a century is a minimum requirement a double would simply be a century, but the term double century is used widely and we all know what it means.

Look up ain't inthe dictionary; it's there even though ain't ain't a word. Dictionaries aren't the final word, regular people write them based on research of useage.
In English you have to chop a tree down before you chop it upSlipstream
Apr 8, 2002 9:18 AM
that quote came from S.I. Hayakawa talking about why it is so difficult for people to learn english.

My wife, who speaks five languages and can converse in others says that I am challenged with english as my first language. huh? ;>)

After reading thru the threads, I think we need to define our terms a bit:

century - 100 miles in 24 hrs
metric century - 100 metric miles in 24 hrs
commuter century - 100 miles inasmanyroundtripsasneeded
poseur century - 100 years to do 100 miles
pannier century - 100lbs and as many miles before you bonk
RAGBRAI century - 100 beers and who cares about miles
Steve O century - 100 angry RBR readers in 100 minutes

did I miss any?
DANG!SteveO
Apr 8, 2002 9:28 AM
I missed my steve-0 century because I stopped for lunch!
soo..cyclopathic
Apr 8, 2002 9:34 AM
if I ride home from work at night (52mi) and then ride to work next morning this will be a century? I don't think so!
na, that's a commuter centurySlipstream
Apr 8, 2002 9:53 AM
but to your point, let me try again:

century - 100 miles in a continuous effort (i.e., w/o sleeping or more than a x minute stop for exengencies such as fuel, repair, injury)

and since you have such a keen sense for the obvious, we should also add:

RBR century - the number of people (100) in the discussion that it takes to figure out what a century really is
soo..cyclopathic
Apr 8, 2002 10:57 AM
w/o sleep and/or under 24hr disqualifies events like RAAM, Furnace Creek 508, now defunct BAM, Boston-Montreal-Boston?

try again 8-P
just for fun....SteveO
Apr 8, 2002 11:04 AM
wouldnt coasting discontinue effort?

I should assume only fixies have honestly completed a century.
Wrongpmf1
Apr 8, 2002 11:45 AM
RBR century - the number of people (100) in the discussion that it takes to convince Steveo what a century really is.
Are you sure ???SteveO
Apr 8, 2002 12:06 PM
Perhaps its the number of posts by people apparently authoritative in 'Century ' definition, but unable to provide anything more than empirical observations.

to the others, sorry to extend the tedium, i hadnt planned to; but as long as i'm being cited by name...
na, that's a commuter centurySlipstream
Apr 8, 2002 9:54 AM
but to your point, let me try again:

century - 100 miles in a continuous effort (i.e., w/o sleeping or more than a x minute stop for exigencies such as fuel, repair, injury)

and since you have such a keen sense for the obvious, we should also add:

RBR century - the number of people (100) in the discussion that it takes to figure out what a century really is
You could say Metric Century...biknben
Apr 8, 2002 5:51 AM
Sorry bud...A century is a century. 100 miles.

But to make you feel better, consider that someone completing a century would probably take the next day off. Doing back to back 75 mile rides is noteworthy.

To answer your second question: Expect to see a ton of riders. My first long, organized ride was a metric century. Ended up being 75mi but that's another story. I got so caught up in the atmosphere that I went way to hard and was ready to die by the end. Fight the urge to keep up with the faster riders (especially the first day). Pick a pace you're comfortable with and try to stick to it.
re: My first century... I think =)Icefrk13
Apr 8, 2002 6:29 AM
The MS150 here in utah has a Century turn off on the first day. Maybe yours will to. Here it is at the last rest stop for the 75 mile loop you can either proceed the last little bit or take the BIG turn and do a century. Either way have fun it is a great ride. :)
Yep. I was going to post that, too. Century option. nmBrooks
Apr 8, 2002 8:17 AM
Just enjoy the rideJekyll
Apr 8, 2002 7:16 AM
No, regardless of what Merriam may think the "proper" definition of a century is, in cycling terms this is not a century. It still should be a fun ride for a great cause.
The century mark has been gloried by the cycling community. I have no idea as to why. Most riders here ride centuries with regularity. Its not a huge deal to do so. Most riders who are reasonably fit can ride a sensibly selected 100 miles without much ado.
The 100 mile mark seems to carry a psychological significance to most new riders and is (and should be) seen as a major achievement the first time its reached. After that its old hat.
Just enjoy the ride and if you feel the need to cross that 100 mile mark, find a local century (most clubs will have at least one every season) and get over that hurdle.
What? Enjoy the Ride?djg
Apr 8, 2002 7:28 AM
When there's ample discussion to be had over how to label it? Shocking.

75 is a fine distance. It's more than a metric century. Back-to-back metrics are probably more work than a single hundred (although terrain/conditions are key to it all). And nothing magic happens when you cross the hundred line (except that common usage then says "century").

Enjoy the ride.
75 miles does not a century make.Uncle Tim
Apr 8, 2002 7:21 AM
A century bike ride is a serious endeavor, probably the equivalent of running a marathon. There are ultra distance associations that have rather strict rules concerning these rides, even including a 10% fudge factor.

I would consider a century to be a scheduled single day bike ride of around one hundred miles in length. If the course turns out to be a little long, it's a century. If it's a little short, still a century. The point is that, very often, certain issues of weakness may arise in the final 20 miles or so of a century.

75 miles in one day is not a century ride.

Still, back to back 75 mile rides is quite an accomplishment and is a serious cycling event. Enjoy it. If you want to ride hard with few breaks do that. If you want to stop and do something like pet a horse, take a nice picture, rest along the side of the road, whatever, do it. It's your ride and you have to enjoy it in the way that pleases you the most.
LOL! nmTroyboy
Apr 8, 2002 7:38 AM
re: My first century... I think =)Len J
Apr 8, 2002 7:50 AM
Yes & No. It will be two metric centuries plus & it won't be a regular century. That being said, it's still a great accomplishment

Cycling, for me, is about setting ever increasing goals, trining for them & then surpassing them. I remember the first time I rode 75 miles, 2X75 miles, a century, 2X century, 6 day 500 mile ride, etc. There are people on this board that ride 150 miles every Saturday, One rider who is going to try to ride 400 miles in 24 hours in a few weeks. There are also riders who have reached a milestone if they can finish 40 miles. Are any of these inconsequential accomplishments? I don't think so, if you are acheiving something you have never done before, that is a major accomplishment, do it in service to others (ms150) and it's an event you should brag about.

What to expect?

If you don't pace yourself, the last 15-20 miles could be really tough. try to pace yourself so you ride the second half stronger than the first.

Make sure you drink & eat enough "Drink before you are thirsty, eat before you are hungry."

Expect the early part of the second day to be tough, you will be stiff from the day before, give yourself adequate warm-up time.

Expect people to ride all kinds of speeds. From 20+mph down to 10. It's OK, just find a group that rides the pace you want to & enjoy.

Expect many less experienced riders. Be prepared to bike defensively. There are many riders that just don't pay attention, always expect the unexpected.

Expect to enjoy it based on your own expectations. The more realistic, the more fun. If you goal is to blast thru the ride, you may feel good about your ride but you won't remember much. Slow down & enjoy the event.

Congratulations & best of luck

Len
Its just a number not a medal. nmEmpirion75
Apr 8, 2002 8:25 AM
nm
TO STEVE O...floatch
Apr 8, 2002 8:37 AM
A few things... I analyzed why people might have a strong reaction to your opinion, and while I only speak for myself, here it is. I rode 100.2 miles last year in one day, fully loaded with a tent, a week's worth of clothes, and food in my two large panniers. My bike alone weighted in excess of 80 lbs! My friend and I rode Ragbrai last year completely unsupported, and didn't sag or walk up any of the hills. To us, it was a hellish challenge, and to have our perceived challenge minimized by someone saying two days of 75+ miles were even in the same ballpark was threatening to our perceived level of superhuman fitness. Yes, I realize other people might scoff and say, that doesn't sound so hard, but it was for us. Additionally, we woke up the next day and did it again.
Now, I didn't say this to minimize the MS 150, which is a worthwhile and fun ride. I'm sure this guy will have a blast, and he should feel a tremendous sense of accomplishment. Most people in this country wouldn't even consider riding a bike to the store for donuts!
On a side note, I also like to argue points I may or may not believe in personally.
Having said all this, do you really think 75 miles is a century?
Consider my input on this thread over.
Oh yeah... on a fat-tired MTB! -nmfloatch
Apr 8, 2002 8:39 AM
SteveO
Apr 8, 2002 9:18 AM
My position was not one to minimize ANYONE's accomplishments, on the contrary, it was intended to reinforce the accomplishments of others which may be perceived by many to be 'lesser' due to the common (mis) understanding. It was also intended to provide some insight into differnces of perception/semantics.

Nor did I ever intend to imply a multiple-day endeavor was 'in the ballpark' of a one-day event (though i do agree with your 'threat to perception of superhuman fitness...as i eluded to that as being impetus for many of the reactions here).

I appreciate and respect your well thought-out and insightful post, as it's hard to debate with 'your wrong because the rest of the team said so'. I certainly respect your riding accomplishment (even if its NOT a double century ---just kiddin).

In any case, no I dont think 75 miles is a century, but I truly do belive the MS150 is a single event. So where does that put us? In the domain of lexicology or in the domain of empiricism ? I suspect you and I are on the same page here.

Steve

ps - for a little personal insight:

Over the last several years, i've participated in 6 marathons, my goal being to 'RUN' a marathon. The first year I walked miles 22-23. Second year, mile 26. Then Several years of walking through a the replenishment stations. Last year, i didnt walk at all, but had to stop momentarily to tie a shoelace, and later to, uh, de-replenish (?). My wife cannot understand why i refuse to give up until i 'run' a marathon.

Thats not to belittle anyone who walks (heck hundreds of break-takers finished before i did), nor is it to say i didnt COMPLETE a marathon, but in my mind, I havent RUN a marathon.

We all have different perceptions, thats all.

I too consider this topic closed.
My first century... I think =)pmf1
Apr 8, 2002 11:57 AM
It was never my intent, nor any others here to diminish the original poster. I think that was pretty clear. If you read my post, or any of the others, we were all supportive of this guy. I think he honestly didn't know what most cyclists consider to be a century. If it is regarding as a 100 mile ride over the course of a day by the vast majority of cyclists, then how are you lending him more support by saying that it is when it isn't?

150 mile weekend ride is a long way. So is 26 miles on foot, no matter how you do it. But if I find something in my dictionary that says a marathon is an event consisting of a 26 mile run, then is two 13 mile runs over the weekend a marathon just because the dictionary says so? How would your fellow marathoners feel about this if some guy who ran 9 miles a day for 3 days said he did a marathon?
Long, boring, insightful, late response to pmf1SteveO
Apr 9, 2002 7:12 AM
Regarding your first paragraph, i felt i was lending the orignal poster support, as is a 100 mile event. As most events/races are driven by distance, not time, a 100 mile event over any number of days would be, in my opinion, a century.

Regarding your second paragraph, I consider a Marathon to be a 26.2 mile event. Whether it takes 2.5 hours, 3.5 hours, or 3.5 days, if it is a SINGLE event, I would in fact, consider it to be a marathon.

I would not consider the daily runner who runs 5 miles every morning to declare he 'ran a marathon' in 5(.24) days, as this is a series of events (his "Goal" is to run 5 miles, not to run 26.2). At the same time, however, if a couch potato, who has just started running, declares he will run 26.2 miles by Friday, and does so, HAS completed a marathon (imo). Its all perspective and goals.
The runners I know would not take offense to naming his challenge a 'marathon', as his 146.3 hour finishing time will reflect his achievement.

I guess my goal here was to state that there are MANY perceptions out there (on many topics). I think it's evident that we all have a basic understanding of what a century is, but remember, we are peers with similar experiences,goals, and abilities.

As I stated earlier, my intention was not to define a century as per Websters, but rather by perception of the individual. I may have focused a little too heavily on Websters initially (yet unintentionally), but so have my opponents. Strangely, though, the original poster WAS looking for definition, and I think most would agree the dictionary is a good place to start. Not necessarily Iron-clad,,, but certainly more credible than the 'because i said so' retorts served by many (still a weak response, imo)

I just find it interesting and sad that there was such vehemence and bitterness against someone who simply expressed a difference of opinion regarding an issue which is certainly open to interpretation (you've gotta admit, there is even disparity as to definition within your own camp). Interesting to be told 'youre wrong' by those with only empericism to offer.

Bummer day to be a 'fellow cyclist', imo.

Peace Out,

Steve
Ummmmjtolleson
Apr 9, 2002 11:26 AM
Aren't you being a little melodramatic? I've read this whole thread and contributed to it, and I just don't see the "vehemence" or anything that should provoke a "bummer day to be a 'fellow cyclist'" conclusion.

Opinions. The spice of the board. Not worth gloom and dooming over.

Besides, I've seen nastiness on this board and this ain't it.
agree...SteveO
Apr 10, 2002 3:42 AM
"Opinions. The spice of the board. Not worth gloom and dooming over"

apparently not; as differing opinions are considered 'wrong'.

Generally, i WELCOME differing opinions and disagreement (heck, usually im the guy who offers them), but dislike being labled 'wrong' by those offering NOTHING more than 'common' knowledge (amongst a single domain, mind you)

no gloom here, just dissapointed in a pretty lame debate.

Steve.
common agreement defines languageRideLots
Apr 9, 2002 2:08 PM
Words are usually defined by common useage. For the most part, meanings develop though that community understanding, not by prescription. Individual, unique meanings have their place, I suppose, but don't mean much to the community.

I think there is no doubt that the community of road cyclists understand that a "century" riding 100 miles, interrupted usually by brief stops for food, water, and maybe short rest periods. It would be very rare, if ever, for a century to be understood to have been interrupted by a night's sleep.

Your attempt to make the original poster feel better about the accomplishment seems well intentioned, but that sort of linguistic manipulation just leads to confusion, and could diminish the commonly understood meaning of the term. I'd bet that he'll feel even more accomplished once he really completes a century.

Hmm. Maybe I CAN complete RAAM by riding from St. Petersburg to Fort Lauderdale? :-)
ahhhhhhh......SteveO
Apr 10, 2002 3:52 AM
"I think there is no doubt that the community of road cyclists understand that a "century" riding 100 miles, interrupted usually by brief stops for food, water, and maybe short rest periods."

i couldnt agree more.... but that wasnt the point of my oringal post. Remember, though, road cyclists are a tiny piece of the world...many outside that world have differenet perceptions. If we can remove the blinkers which focus on our lifestyle, perhaps we could see that i wasnt manipulating linguistics, but removing the constaints that exist in 'community of road cyclists'.
My first century only took 12 days :) (NM)mikebikr
Apr 8, 2002 9:47 AM
depends on the routeEpicX
Apr 8, 2002 9:58 AM
I did an MS 150 about 8 years ago. I think we did 93 miles the first day. I went back a few miles to get a full 100. I think they try to even the mileage out these days though.
Only a few more posts = Topic Tedium Century(nm)Crankist
Apr 8, 2002 10:48 AM
But better get 'em in today...or not!
Mike
How many climbing feet to define a REAL century? LOLTroyboy
Apr 8, 2002 12:01 PM
The Angeles Crest Century with 11,000 feet of climbing surely is a different animal than the Solvang with, oh my guess is 1000, generously 2000 feet?????

I guess we need a new class differentiation. Even a century is not a century looking at it this way!!

This is the toughest thing I've ever done!! LOLOLOLOLOLOLOL
agreecyclopathic
Apr 8, 2002 12:17 PM
it ain't century if it doesn't have 10,000' of climbing and Solvang is only 6,500'.
Thanks for clarificationTroyboy
Apr 8, 2002 12:27 PM
Thanks for the clarification re: Solvang. I had no idea it had even that much! It feels flat to me.
100=century. Therefore 100' of climbing is enough?MB1
Apr 8, 2002 3:42 PM
Or how about 100 inches of climbing? We did a century in Colorado that had a net elevation loss of over 3000'. Does that count?

You guys are funny.
No, it isn't.look271
Apr 8, 2002 1:10 PM
But it still is an accomplishment. Advice? Use the rest stops. Don't stay there too long though, you'll cramp up. Better to eat a little, drink some, refill your water bottles, visit the port-a-poties if needed, and be on your way. Ride at your own pace; don't submit to the temptation to get in a big paceline that is going faster than you are comfortable with. If you can, find someone who rides at about the same pace as you-misery loves company! And like the other poster said, no matter how miserable it may get, it's still better than work! (And it's for a good cause.)
re: My first century... I think =)simstress
Apr 8, 2002 2:36 PM
If the ride you're doing is the Houston-Austin MS 150, it's 100 miles of flatness on Saturday, followed by 80 miles with some climbing on Sunday. Saturday would qualify as the century.

Pace yourself. Don't stop too frequently or too long-- your muscles could get cold and cramp. Eat before you feel hunger. Drink before you feel thirst. If you're camping Saturday night, expect long lines for the showers and toilets.

Good luck. Have a great ride!
A century, a ride, an event...Me Dot Org
Apr 9, 2002 1:53 PM
How about this:

A Century is 100 miles.

A ride is something you complete in a day.

An event is a multi-day ride.

If you complete the MS-150, you completed an event that was greater than a Century. You did not complete a Century ride.
A century, a ride, an event...RideLots
Apr 9, 2002 2:33 PM
what if someone rides continuously for more than 1 day?