RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Do you all..............(54 posts)

Do you all..............Ligon
Apr 5, 2002 12:46 PM
think that wearing a team jersey is considered "Fred"?

Just wanted to see some opinions!!
no. nmmr_spin
Apr 5, 2002 12:53 PM
Nahpmf1
Apr 5, 2002 12:56 PM
Although I'd feel pretty goofy wearing the matching jersey and shorts. I'd also feel kind of goofy, and I don't know exactly why, wearing a jersey that's unique to one individual such as a national champion jersey. The yellow/PD/Green TDF jerseys are definitely goofy.

I do go out of my way to look for jerseys that are somewhat unique.
SteveO
Apr 5, 2002 1:11 PM
dont know what you mean by 'Fred'. could you clarify?

personally, i could care less what someone else wears. (Though i must admit i roll my eyes when i see those three guys with matching team jerseys, straining to contain the bulbous beer-gut resting on the top-tube of their hybrid)

wear whatever suits your personality. myself? i try to NOT to imitate others.
re:Not if you're riding - looks weird anywhere else - nmdzrider
Apr 5, 2002 1:16 PM
re: Do you all..............Troyboy
Apr 5, 2002 1:19 PM
I just love to see the beer gut dude roll into the shop on his GT with full Once gear right down to the shoes but lacking the right helmet. LOL

I've got an old Mapei jersey and arm warmers, however, you won't find me in the skinsuit on a matching Mapei Colnago.
Doesn't Once ride Giant TCR's?STEELYeyed
Apr 5, 2002 1:29 PM
Oh yeah. Sorry. nmTroyboy
Apr 5, 2002 1:31 PM
re: Do you all..............curlybike
Apr 5, 2002 1:21 PM
Team gear is usually brite enough to help keep a car from hitting you. That said, I was broadsided by a car, while I had a yello Salsa jersy on, hmmmmm.
Only time I was hitlook271
Apr 5, 2002 1:28 PM
was when I was wearing a BRIGHT yellow jersey. I have several team jerseys. Don't have the beer gut, though.
If you belong to that team - no; otherwise - YESBipedZed
Apr 5, 2002 1:30 PM
My opinion, but if you are trying to emulate or look like a racer it's ironic that racing rules clearly state you cannot wear a jersey of a team you are not qualified to represent in a race.
Based on that logicChen2
Apr 5, 2002 2:45 PM
you're saying anyone who wears a football or basketball jersey designed to look like their favorite player's jersy is a fred poser, no?
Even worse; those posers don't participate. nmBrooks
Apr 5, 2002 2:59 PM
Absolutely!grzy
Apr 5, 2002 3:26 PM
Yup, wearing a jersey with some pro's name on it is the ultimate depth of geeky fan-dom and should be taken as a sign that you need a life of your very own. It's one thing if you're a 15 year old kid, but grown men need to grow up. Consider the concept of having your identity tied to someone else's and their accomplishments. It kinda makes the statement that you don't have anything worthy about yourself and that your back is for rent. Hey, he's wearing a Jerry Rice jersey - he must be pretty cool - beer gut and all. Or, wow, a full USPS cycling uniform - how come he can't ride like they do?

There is an esprit de corps that comes with wearing a uniform correctly and earning a rightful place on a team - anything else is posing (to represent oneself in a given character or as other than one is). In fact it's illegal to pose as a police officer or a member of the armed forces.
Ok, butChen2
Apr 5, 2002 3:40 PM
I don't own or wear any team jerseys for any sport because I would feel too self conscious but it doesn't bother me at all to see other folks who do. To me it's not about being a poser, it's about being a fan, and I think that's how most people see it.
~Al
Ok, butgrzy
Apr 5, 2002 6:21 PM
I guess it's one thing to be a fan and maybe something else to dress up like Batman or Lance, complete with a replica batmobile, errrr, USPS OCLV. Call it what you want, but ultimately you can't get away from the straight forward definition of poseur. How does one tell the difference between a fan and a poseur recognizing that you can be both. At the end of the day we have to acknowledge that there are a lot of Elvis impersonators and some people take it very seriously while others blanche at the whole idea. To each his own we all get to make our own choices and the original question was about the appearence of wearing a team uniform to which you don't belong. How about wearing a local team jersey and not being part of that team? They aren't about to give it to you unless you earn it. Other than some slick and twisted marketing scheme why should professional stuff be any different? Only in America will people sell the shirts off their backs if they think there's a buck to be made - and we're gulible enough to go along with it.
BZZZZZZZZZZTpmf1
Apr 8, 2002 4:24 AM
"Only in America will people sell the shirts off their backs if they think there's a buck to be made - and we're gulible enough to go along with it."

You need to travel more. Try cycling in Italy where the vast majority of the riders are decked out in Mapei, Mercanto, etc outfits. And you can't be seen in last year's outfit either with the previous co-sponsor. Many more of them seem to engage in team uniform wearing than I see here --- and they go down to the shoes, socks and gloves.

Although I don't own one, I like seeing a Motorola or 7-Eleven jersey. Makes me think of biking memories of the past.
I love to Fred, so sue merrodrigz
Apr 6, 2002 8:24 PM
Go to a Golf pro shop for some seriously expensive Fredding.
The only Freddism you find on top of a bike...tempeteKerouak
Apr 5, 2002 1:34 PM
...is the Freddism you bring with you. (Old flahute proverb)
and: "they all look good in the rain, provided you do ride in the rain" (another flahutian saying)**

I am personnaly very appreciative of the odd country national team jersey. Nothing like a brasilian jersey.

http://www.bikejerseys.com/ I wish I my in-law could find me the New Zealand official team jersey!!!!!

** don't look for these anywhere, I made it all up. But you get the idea? How can you be a Fred if you RIDE.
NZ Champs Jerseyjim hubbard
Apr 5, 2002 10:47 PM
The only way to get this one is to earn it. Produced sole for CNZ(Cycling New Zealand) by Cima. You won't get one unless you can get on of the NZ team to part with it, which they won't as they are only given one of winning a national event(cheap bastards!)
Why not just mind your own business?CRM
Apr 5, 2002 1:46 PM
Why are cyclists so exclusive that they would care what the other cyclists are wearing?

And how is wearing a team jersey any different from wearing your favorite baseball team's cap or a football jersey at a football game? If you like the team and you want to express it, then wear it. Or maybe you just like the colors or the design. Who cares? And who cares if the guy wearing it has a beer gut, either.

Have a little self-esteem and stop worrying so much about everybody else.
Why not just mind your own business?flying
Apr 5, 2002 3:56 PM
""""And how is wearing a team jersey any different from wearing your favorite baseball team's cap or a football jersey at a football game? """"

Boy that hits the nail on the head!
YAFD - Yet Another Fred Discussiontz
Apr 5, 2002 1:56 PM
Would you criticize a rider who leaves you in the dust for wearing a USPS team outfit? I am just curious, what would you say to that person?
Are YOU a good enough rider for your equipment? I bet you have a Dura-Ace bike, but are nowhere near being good enough to ride in Le Tour De France.
What is it about urge to ridicule others? Does it come from some hidden inferiority complex? Sexual problems? What?

"Thou shalt not judge..."
YAFD - Yet Another Fred Discussionjtolleson
Apr 5, 2002 2:10 PM
Yep... I'm constantly amazed by folks who make decisions based on the elusive "Fred Factor" rather than just doing what they want.

Want a visor on your helmet? Go for it!
Want to road ride in atb shoes or with a camelback? Do it!
Feel better with a triple crank? Buy one!
Want to ride a Trek 5200 in full postal regalia on the bike path? Enjoy!

Why does anyone care?

Julie <--- rides a bike of which her skills are totally unworthy and even put a triple on it. Nyah nyah nyah nyah boo boo
You talking about me?moneyman
Apr 5, 2002 2:29 PM
My first long road ride (50 miles, Cheyenne to Laramie, WY, March 1999). I had a visor on my helmet, a camelback, MTB shoes and pedals, and a triple crank. Needed it all for warmth when I got caught in the blizzard.

Now I ride a Trek 5500. My wife bought a LS Postal Jersey for me for my birthday two years ago, which I wear with pride and warmth in the winter. And I enjoy it, too.

My bike is more than I am rider.

$$
thank you, finally the voice of reasonlonefrontranger
Apr 5, 2002 7:22 PM
FWIW, I plan to do a road race this Sunday:

*In my full, matching Boulder Women's Cycling Team kit
*On my poseur $3500 Campy-equipped Colnago in MTB shoes/pedals
*with my Camelbak AND the visor on my helmet

Anyone care to call me Fred? (Wilma might be more appropriate) How's about we get together for a friendly ride sometime, we'll see who can drop whom.
Oh sure.Elefantino
Apr 5, 2002 8:22 PM
Beat someone wearing a Boulder Women's Cycling Team kit ...

Seriously, go get 'em on Sunday.

FWIW,
Fr ... er, Mike
Thanks, I'll be riding for ya! (nm)lonefrontranger
Apr 6, 2002 3:19 PM
Absolutely!Elefantino
Apr 5, 2002 2:16 PM
No one should be allowed to wear a team jersey unless they are a member of that team. In fact, at our club rides we do the "Breaking Away" pump-in-the-spokes routine to anyone who wears a team jersey. You may ruin a good Silca pump, but it's worth it.

Look at this closet, for example. What loser has the temerity to wear all these jerseys? Bet he's some Fred who probably hasn't ridden a bike in at least nine months.

FWIW,
Fred
MY EYES!!! TURN THEM OFF! TURN THEM OFFFF!!!js5280
Apr 5, 2002 2:33 PM
And don't think I didn't notice the MATCHING hangers. Elefantino, I'm starting to worry about you. . .
Strange closetmr_spin
Apr 5, 2002 2:40 PM
Very strange. I usually hang my clothes inside the closet. It makes it a lot easier to close the door. Plus, the hangers more firmly attach to a rod I have set up that runs the full length of the closet. Maybe that's overkill. I'm going to try your method when I get home tonight. :)
Oh my...how long did it take you to...?Kristin
Apr 5, 2002 3:09 PM
LOL! I feel for you with too much time on your hands. Have you thought of taking up macrame, or joining the online scrabble club?
That is WAY beyond anal-retentive!look271
Apr 5, 2002 3:32 PM
You need therapy, my man. Matching hangers? The pink Merc-Uno is a bit over the top, too! Seriously though, got some nice looking jerseys there. My newest favorites are a LS AG2r and a SS Linda McCartney.
Do you know how to build wheels Elefantino?Ahimsa
Apr 5, 2002 4:27 PM
'cause I'm thinking NOW might be a good time to learn. ; )

Hurry now before you start color coding and labeling your socks with a cross referential wash/wear schedule based on time of year, jersey, bike, and moon phase.

Cheers!

A.
Dig the girly-man wallpaper! ;-) (nm)grzy
Apr 5, 2002 6:23 PM
It matches the jerseys....um, and the hangers....um, and the...frag44
Apr 6, 2002 7:37 AM
The majority of the time...yes (nm)mwood
Apr 5, 2002 2:19 PM
Who cares what you wear.Icefrk13
Apr 5, 2002 2:27 PM
If you like it and can buy it than wear it.
I don't even think of them as "team jerseys"terry b
Apr 5, 2002 2:29 PM
I wear them because I like the colors and I get really bored with solid this and solid that. I know virtually nothing about the team they come from with only a few exceptions (Banesto, etc.) To me, they're part of the cycling experience and if we're already embarassing ourselves with skin tight spandex and shoes, helmets, gloves, wheels, seats and bikes with logos, I don't see how a team jersey is over the top.
i second thatishmael
Apr 5, 2002 2:44 PM
i go for the colors...i dont like adds unless the fonts are nice...i know barely anything about the teams..
my opinionishmael
Apr 5, 2002 2:42 PM
if you just wear the jersey no big deal, but if youve got it down to the gloves and socks thats pushing it...although if you were to wear the gear from a team 10 or so years ago i would think differently of it, you would be kind of a relic as apposed to a goofy wanna be...all my jerseys are team, theyre alot cheaper...probikekit.com...so are the socks...but you will never find me in a full outfit until im pro, the logic isnt there but this is just how i feel.
You guys are confusing me. A Phredoseur? Come on..Slipstream
Apr 5, 2002 2:49 PM
Now all along I thought that I was a poseur, not a Fred. I admit to posing but calling me a Fred on top of that, why, I have to cry foul!

WTF, hey I found Mapei bibs & jerseys at Performance for $25 each. So, sue me. They are a lot better than other stuff I have found at twice the price. So, just because I wear it I am now a Phredoseur? OK, so what do you want me to do, tie dye it?

OK, I'll compromise and wear the bibs one day and the jersey the next. On the jersey day it might get a little drafty, but I at least I won't offend any style nazis out there. It might be a little offensive to others though. ;>--
Oh, will one of you style nazis please tell me if my MTB helmet is appropriate? Maybe I can disguise it by removing the beak. Whad'ya think guys?
MTB helmet? No, unless you have Mapei stickers on it. [nm]Elefantino
Apr 5, 2002 2:56 PM
Do you know where can I get them?Slipstream
Apr 5, 2002 3:02 PM
What do you think about creating a Phredoseur team jersey? We can make it your favorite color, whatever that might be? hmm... ;>) Then we can ride the RAGBRAI too.
Do you know where can I get them? PHREDOSEUR!!!mr tornado head
Apr 7, 2002 7:58 AM
Yeah, yeah yeah! Let's go with the Phredoseur jersey!!!
Might as well identify ourselves as to what we are!
Colors... well, the shorts have to be anything but black to quickly call attention to ourselves. Jerseys... hmm... even I can't go so far as a solid yellow jersey or World stripes.
How about a neon green/black checker pattern? Really, something so incredibly ugly (after all, it's hard to top the Mercatone-Uno pink kit)
MTB helmet?! OMG!look271
Apr 5, 2002 5:51 PM
You can only wear your mtb helmet if you are commuting on a road bike. Style gods insist. Also, you may not wear full fingered gloves except for the above mentioned exception and if they are winter gloves. "That's just the way it is." =)
If it's old school, eg. Moltini, Brooklyn, Zed, 7/11 it's ok. nmPack Meat
Apr 5, 2002 3:06 PM
nm
Wear the jerseys, support the sportVelocipedio
Apr 5, 2002 3:48 PM
Pro cycling is an entirely sponsor-supported sport. No one PAYS to watch the Tour of Flanders go by. The sponsors are in the sport to get exposure for their logos and trademarks, so by wearing a team jersey, you're helping the sponsor do just that and encouraging him to stay in the sport. In addition, the teams actually make money from the sale of licensed jerseys. By buying and wearing a jersey, you're supporting your team and supporting the sport.

Nothing wrong with that.
When Armstrong was in D.C. just after winning the Tour, an LBSbill
Apr 5, 2002 8:12 PM
owner with good ties to Trek got a call. "Want to go for a ride this afternoon? Lance wants to stretch his legs. Don't tell anyone, just come around 4 o'clock." So, our hero goes trucking down to the Four Seasons Hotel in his lycra, goes to the front desk (click, click, click across the floor), and says he's here to pick up Mr. Armstrong. Guy rolls his eyes, calls upstairs, and sure enough down comes Lance in full USPS kit (I guess what else is he going to wear?) with his USPS bike.
They hit the roads through D.C. and Arlington and a few bike trails. On a Friday afternoon in August at about rush hour. Past bike commuters and whoever. As far as my friend could tell, no one blinked. And I'm quite sure that anyone who noticed the goober in the full USPS kit rolled their eyes and said, "fred."
The next day, they went rolling up through Rock Creek Park (roads closed, lots of bikes, bladers, etc.), this time with a few more fellows. Once again, Lance in full USPS kit. Once again, I'm sure that anyone who noticed thought, "fred."
Fred Rodriquez can't escape no matter which jersey he wears nmelviento
Apr 5, 2002 9:32 PM
fasd
re: team jerseysguido
Apr 5, 2002 8:14 PM
Well, I've had two La Vie Clair jerseys, the ones that looked like Mondrian paintings, and trashed both of them in bad crashes. I still have an old Chateux D'Ax jersey, and I've crashed in it, too. The solid yellow one, and the old polypro blue one with yellow stripes down each side, and the grey Descente one, they're all still intact.

So I've come to believe, just from personal experience, that wearing somebody else's team jerseys is somehow bad karma. If you're not on the team, don't wave their colors.

I've never observed or experienced this with bikes, though. And I'm sure a great many have ridden miles and miles wearing the colors of their heroes without any bad luck.
Who gives a rats ass what one wears>>>>>NMbic
Apr 5, 2002 9:08 PM
only if....OwenMeany
Apr 6, 2002 5:42 AM
It is too small (as in the rider is too "big"), or the jersy is too big (as in it flaps in the wind and hangs over the saddle)....and you have to be in decent shape...wearing a USPS jersey and whezzing up a hill...it sort of like talking the talk and not being able to walk the walk....

Bottom Line: Fredness is a state of being not only what one wears...

A newbie asked me once what is a "fred"....I thought about it..I pondered...and retorted "A Fred, Grasshopper, is one who is not as cool on the bike as YOU THINK you are on your bike....
Any Bike Jersey Makes You a FREDlnin0
Apr 7, 2002 6:00 PM
So - I am in the market for a new jersey?

Hmmm...I don't want to be a fred and get a cool looking USPS or Big Mat jersey. Everyone will make fun of me...

..how about this plain bright red or yellow "Classic" jersey...little to boring for my taste...Im not in a retirement home yet and the only thing missing from this jersey is a front pocket with a penguin on it.

Then there is always the "classic" jersey given the modern spin by slapping a few silly stripes in a completely contrasting color on it. Then again...maybe not...

Hmmmm...How about something with Mickey Mouse..or The Stoges...or the US Flag...all FRED.

So I guess if Im going to go FRED I might as well go big