RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Follow-up on the CT-1, Seven Odonata(Steel), and Pin Opera(11 posts)

Follow-up on the CT-1, Seven Odonata(Steel), and Pin OperaFranchise
Apr 5, 2002 5:26 AM
Thanks for everyone's input. I decided to go with the CT-1 because of its ride and stiffness. Loved the Opera, but I already have a Prince, so I wanted to try something a little different.

I know I'll catch some flak about how the 6/4 Ti in the CT-1 is Russian and is welded in the Czech. republic, but I don't care. I enjoy the bike, and that is the most important part!

It's built up with Chorus 10spd. I'm still in grad school, so I still have a budget to stick to. I just ordered my Ksyrium SL's from Totalcycling.com, and they should be in by the end of next week.

I'll post a picture as soon as I can!
Thanks again for all of the input!
OH NO...............JohnG
Apr 5, 2002 6:34 AM
Serious bad mistake.......... now you'll be subject to the ridicule of our local JA!! .......
b ;o)

BTW: I've got bikes built with both Chorus and Record and there's literally zero difference in "performance" between the two groups.

What color is your frame????

Ride ON
JohnG
OH NO...............Franchise
Apr 5, 2002 10:27 AM
JohnG,

The frame is color code FOG, it is believed to be 1 of only 2 CT-1's in that color in the US. Basically, it's a white, silver, blue, marblized type color scheme. I'll post pics ASAP.

Also, is there really zero difference in performance between Chorus and Record?

Franchise
pretty darn closedjg
Apr 5, 2002 11:00 AM
as I understand it. Even campy occasionally suggests that most of the difference is confined to more carbon and ti bits in the record group, parts that shave a bit of weight but just not all that much.

Look forward to seeing the pics.
ditto: pretty darn closeJohnG
Apr 5, 2002 12:02 PM
Excluding the full Ti cassette the group weights are pretty similar..... probably differnt by no more than 100 grms.

I will say that I do prefer the look of the Record crank and I also like the way the carbon levers "feel". From a 'performance' standpoint, however, there really is no difference.

That sounds like an interesting color. I'll have to go check it out.

ride on
JohnG
YikessssssssssssJohnG
Apr 5, 2002 12:13 PM
No pic of an "FOG" frameset on the Trialtir site. Perhaps you should post a pic. It sounds like your bike is already built. ???

Yipersssssss, they are showing the Friere (sp) color which is a stunning white version of the Mapei color sheme. Holy cow............ I may just have to order one of those pups to up the poseur factor..........
b ;)

ride on
JohnG
YikessssssssssssFranchise
Apr 5, 2002 2:26 PM
John G,

I'll get those pics up soon! Also, if you can get your hands on a Colnago 2002 catalog, FOG is in there for the CT-1. I guess that Ernesto decided to stop making frames in that color because it is a 3 day process. Also, there was an upcharge for the paint since it was more time consuming. It was worth it!
Congratsdjg
Apr 5, 2002 7:52 AM
It's a great bike and I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

Russian Ti, Australian Cheese--who the hell cares? It's the ride that counts.
CongratsSnowBlind
Apr 5, 2002 8:31 AM
Oh man, had some roarin' 40's blue cheese from Australia a few weeks back. Good stuff. Best things in life are spoiled:

women
alchol
bread
cheese
You already have a Prince?JS
Apr 5, 2002 8:17 AM
and your saying you have to "stick to a budget"? Why and the heck are you buying another top end road bike? Why not get another type of bike, MTB, cross, touring, mix it up a little. I truly don't understand this logic.
I say, ride what ever you like.Lazywriter
Apr 5, 2002 4:46 PM
But my opinion of Russian ti is just my opinion based on my own research which I have shown. I am yet to really see any literature on how good Russian ti is because it is inferior in mnay ways.
I always contended that the RIDE QUALITY IS NOT AFFECTED. All you idiots seem to read is the negative aspects of a post that questions the quality of the material made to build your bike. Stop fu$%in whining about it. Enjoy your ride, you decided on it and will now justify your purchase just like every other person here does, including me.