RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


training with weight(16 posts)

training with weightGrand Pooh Bear
Apr 5, 2002 2:07 AM
I am training to ride in my local MS150 this year. I am determined to finish stronger and less painfully than last year. Anticipating a route with more hills than last year, I decided to weigh my bike down to increase its weight and hit the hills. It definitely makes the riding more difficult, but a friend swears I am not helping myself at all in terms of training. My thought is that when I remove the extra baggage, I will be able to ride farther faster and climb better on a "lighter" steed. Any thoughts?
re: training with weightElefantino
Apr 5, 2002 4:07 AM
Depending on how much weight you use, you could actually be doing yourself harm in areas like your knees and back.

Better to ride unburdened — and practice hill work and interval training — than ride with a load. If you're in better shape, the hills won't seem as high.

FWIW,
Mike
re: training with weightghoss
Apr 5, 2002 4:41 AM
I agree with Mike!

I wanted to get stronger and decided to try lifting some weight, 1 leg press later and I had a blown disk. I ended up having a second back surgery. That was 2 months ago. I have yet to get back on the bike, maybe this weekend.....

Be carefull with the back!!

BTW, Mike how is your recovery going?

Greg
re: training with weightElefantino
Apr 5, 2002 5:12 AM
Been cleared to work out, strengthening stuff to get back into shape. That starts today. No bike yet, even on the trainer, until I get out from the body cast.

On the bright side, the Serotta arrives today.

Thanks,
Mike
re: training with weightStewK
Apr 5, 2002 4:19 AM
I read recently about a study that indicates that adding weight to an aerobic workout often reduces fitness level because the added weight becomes the limiter and thus causes people to not reach as close to their aerobic and cardiovascular thresholds.

I think this study was testing people who ran with handweights. They found that when they ran without weights they're overall work out was more beneficial from a cardio and aerobic perspective.

I'm not sure exactly how this translates to cycling, or if it does at all, but thought the information might be helpful.
on the other handMJ
Apr 5, 2002 4:25 AM
for anyone who rides with panniers - riding without the weight of panniers feels like taking off in a jet

however, it may just feel that I get a better work out with panniers due to how great things feel (and how fast I seem) without the weight
I commute with a pannier and finddzrider
Apr 5, 2002 5:41 AM
that I spin at the same cadence and breathe at the same rate as I do on an unloaded bike. I work harder with the load only getting up to speed and on hills that force me to slow my cadence in the easiest gear. Other than that I'm doing the same work for a few minutes longer.
re: training with weightSTEELYeyed
Apr 5, 2002 7:34 AM
I find that in the winter when I ride the MTB I spin the same cadence,yet go slower and thus using time as my workout gauge instead of miles.
K.I.S.S.RideLots
Apr 5, 2002 7:41 AM
Keep it simple (stupid), as it goes. :-)

No need for all that. RIDE FASTER!!! Unless you are spun out in your 55x11, you have all the extra resistance you'll ever need right there on your bike, and only tiniest effort (shifting gears), makes it work. Your body does not know how fast you are going or how much weight you're hauling; all it knows is cadence and force (well, and maybe inclination a little bit). Higher gears = more force required. Even flat ground can almost simulate a 12% grade. Just shift up and stand.
Now Someone is making SenseWayne
Apr 5, 2002 8:23 AM
All that matters is your power output (or as you put it cadence and force). 300 Watts is 300 Watts, if you add 20 pounds and ride into a headwind you'll go slower but you're still putting out 300 watts. Adding weight is meaningless unless you ride at the same speed as without the weight and consequently would be putting out more power to generate that speed (so the weights in a sense made your workout harder). On the other hand you could not add weight but ride faster which would necessarily mean a higher power output. Or you could add weight, keep the power the same and ride slower, maybe this would be good for increasing the length of time it takes to climb a hill if you only have relatively short climbs in your area but I can't really think of any other advantage to adding weights rather than just shifting into a harder gear.
Yessire!grzy
Apr 5, 2002 12:34 PM
I totally agree with what's been said above and would add one thing: get a hear rate monitor. It's like a tachometer for your heart, the engine. You wanna know how hard you're working? The HRM knows and it accounts for things like stress, not getting enough sleep, over training, etc. Without it all you have is speed/time/distance and some guess as to how you think you're doing on a given day.

Enjoy the nice light bike and all that it offers - on every ride.
Octavio BottechiaPack Meat
Apr 5, 2002 10:22 AM
Bottechia trained with the added resistance of rocks in his jersey pockets. I don't think it's such a terrible idea, especially if you are just a tourist and don't ride intervals much. I can see how climbing with an extra 10 pounds and then losing it can make you feel light on your ride. In the winter I train with heavy wheels mainly for durability and when I put the light race wheels on I feel really fast, I don't see the difference. Throw on some slimed tubes and a 10 pound weight and ride like you normally do and let us know how you do. You also want to consider that on long tour rides you generally carry more weight in the form of extra water bottles, food, gear etc.
It's not a terrible idea...Wayne
Apr 5, 2002 10:56 AM
it just isn't necessary unless your spinning out your biggest gear (and consequently incapable of generating any more power). I agree losing the added weight, putting on the light wheels does make you feel faster, but it's not because you're any stronger (i.e. capable of putting out more power), it's just that the power you put out allows you to go faster because now there is less weight to move. Think about it, if you add 10 pounds and go out and ride a given route at the exact same speed as always you've necessarily got to put out more power, or you could go out and ride that same route faster without the weight which again requires a greater power output (assuming for arguement's sake the time of the two rides are the same, let's say you ride around the block a few times in the second instance to equal out the time). If your extra power output is the same (because of moving more weight at your typical speed or moving your typical weight at a faster speed) your body's physiologic response should be the same. It only knows that for 2 hours I put out 250 watts whereas I normally only put out 225 watts over that time. So my question is why go through the hassle of carrying that extra weight? Old Bottechia could have just shifted into a harder gear and got the same workout without the stretched out jersey pockets.
I don't think Octavio had different gears to shift into.Pack Meat
Apr 5, 2002 12:16 PM
You are correct in your assumptions. It's just my opinion that normal recreational cyclists don't normally do interval or high intensity training. So why not add some weight and ride the same rides with your friends or your wife and get some extra benefit. There is no difference between putting lighter race wheels on and purposely riding heavier wheels and then going back to normal wheels. It's just a matter of how you want to increase your effort while riding. Your point is that it doesn't matter how your effort is increased right?

Lemond used to ride with his wife with his brakes rubbing because he wanted to ride at his wifes speed. Christin Vandevelde rides with his brakes on when he is in Illinois to simulate riding hills.
Ride with your brakes rubbing! (nm)mikebikr
Apr 5, 2002 10:46 AM
Let air out of your tires!!! (nm)guido
Apr 6, 2002 12:29 AM