RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone want to see the Cervelo?(20 posts)

Anyone want to see the Cervelo?RideLots
Apr 4, 2002 2:25 PM
I was hoping this bike would actually propel me down the road, but it really let me down. I guess it needs a new motor. I always pull decals off wheels, as you can see. Zipp disc and 404 tubulars, DA stuff, Cane Creek SL brakes, Profile Carbon X bars, Tufo S3 Lite 185's; Look PP206 pedals



nicegtx
Apr 4, 2002 2:39 PM
who builds their AL bikes? What about their steel bikes? Do they do anything in-house?
Yummy!Tig
Apr 4, 2002 2:41 PM
That is so sweet it almost gave me a sugar rush! I'd love to ride a flat 10 mile TT on it and compare it to my time on a standard equipped road bike.

Nice job of spec'ing it with the 404 and Mavic disc. Funny you mentioned it, but I removed my old wheel stickers last month. Looks much nicer IMO.

I've seen that style of DA chainring a few times, but have never known if it is a new standard or something special. Any explanation?
ringRideLots
Apr 4, 2002 2:44 PM
it's the timetrial crankset; you can buy the rings, alone, too, in 54-56 tooth sizes; Excel has them
SimilaritiesBipedZed
Apr 4, 2002 3:03 PM
I've been experimenting with my P2K w/VisionTech bars (first dedicated TT bike) and have arrived at a forward position similar to yours. Essentially about 78 degree STA with the post a bit higher than standard road height. I haven't flipped the seatpost head but have my Flite maxed forward on the rails. I found this position much easier to maintain during hard TT efforts with the low VisionTech bars.

Did you make a conscious decision to set your bar end shifters that direction? From pictures of other TT bikes I set mine so that pushing the shifter lever forward shifts to a higher gear - made sense to me - as in push forward go faster, at least for the rear.

Nice bike!

BTW, I have 303s and have both Campy/Shimano freehub bodies from Zipp/Edco. I believe the new Zipp hubs are also similar with swappable freehub bodies. It's extremely easy to switch between the two with no adjustment necessary for flawless shifting. I have DA on the P2K and switch to the Campy freehub for racing on the road bike.
SimilaritiesRideLots
Apr 5, 2002 6:31 AM
I thought seriously about the Vision Tech, too. In the end, I went for the carbon (a little better vibration damping), and slightly higher and more comfy position for the ultra events

I've seen the shifters both ways; actually, the shop set them up that way, and it seemd to work ok

I have a 303 tubular Campy freehub that I might switch out for this bike, too; might help on the windiest days; thanks
re: Anyone want to see the Cervelo?Chen2
Apr 4, 2002 3:22 PM
I think it's beautiful but just looking at those gears make my knees hurt.
~Al
What computer do you have . . .speedisgood
Apr 4, 2002 4:59 PM
and how did you mount it to the fork blade?

Nice bike BTW!
What computer do you have . . .RideLots
Apr 5, 2002 6:28 AM
It's a Cateye Mity 3; I mounted it with the regular plastic thingy, but wrapped a lot of black tape around it
Pretty shweet!look271
Apr 4, 2002 5:52 PM
How you gonna put a kid-seat on it? =))
Pretty shweet!RideLots
Apr 5, 2002 6:27 AM
I'll wait for Cervelo to come out with an aero trailer - "Bullet Baby"
Pretty shweet!look271
Apr 8, 2002 9:32 AM
Really, though, some of the fondest memories I have of my girl's when they were real young was when we would go for rides with one of them in tow. I'd do around 20 miles and they'd love it-through wooded country roads and up some decent hills. My youngest LOVED going downhill fast. She kept telling me to "go faster Daddy"uphill! It wasn't a bad workout and it was really fun. Hope you'll have similar memories waiting for you.
love and modificationsWoof the dog
Apr 4, 2002 7:36 PM
I am in love with this bike. I want it...NOW.
You should change a few things, however:

pedals: get speedplays
remove the computer, you need only hrt.monitor
get S.I. SLR - you can get it in red color from excel, I believe.

If you do all these things, you will make this bike my dream time trial machine. Maybe in 6 years I will have enough money to buy such a thing.

Just out of curiosity, how much does it weigh?

Brushing my teeth,

Woof, the time trialing dog (with ears flopping behind)
love and modificationsRideLots
Apr 5, 2002 6:26 AM
pedals: get speedplays (got 'em, don't like 'em)
remove the computer, you need only hrt.monitor (it's for a 24 hr timetrial - I gotta know how far I've gone)
get S.I. SLR - you can get it in red color from excel, I believe. (got 2 of them - comfort a little bit more important on for this bike - could always switch out, though)

weighs around 18 pounds
it's going to look even better in 18 months with...JS Haiku Shop
Apr 5, 2002 6:13 AM
dried, already-chewed cookie in the pedals and small fingerprints caked in chocolate all over that disk wheel.

:o)
it's going to look even better in 18 months with...RideLots
Apr 5, 2002 6:32 AM
I guess that disc wheel will be safer around little fingers, huh?

The kid will be locked out of the garage, no doubt
hey, Rid(o(u)g)eLots, i'm surprised no flame from grzy!...JS Haiku Shop
Apr 5, 2002 10:54 AM
no, wait a minute, i'm not so surprised. anyhow, you know how i enjoy bike porn, so keep it up. i'll include this little reference, anyhow, just to be fair and impartial. since i had to weather it, so should ye:

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.eee8a36/17

"You got a new bike - go into the bathroom and toss-off or something.
So, what else do you like about yourself that you'd like to share with the class?

Talk about being a self indulgent yuppie.

BTW - the best things in life aren't things."

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?50@@.eee8a36/0
riskyRideLots
Apr 5, 2002 11:56 AM
Thanks. I fully understand the risks associated with sharing personal info here. Grzy is a friend, though; we sort of think alike, I'm just a little more diplomatic.

No need to get personal.
i wasn't...JS Haiku Shop
Apr 5, 2002 12:20 PM
getting personal. no harm intended, in fact, just the opposite. just reflecting on some harsh treatment last time i shared my bike porn. i was totally taken aback by that, and have since grown up and learned the ways of the board. :o) ahh, e-youth...i miss my "bike forum nay eva tay."
no harmRideLots
Apr 8, 2002 8:14 AM
I can't understand anyone criticizing for posting about bikes, here. After all, what's the name of this website and it's apparent raison d'etre?