RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I have an additional 45 hours a week to ride!(8 posts)

I have an additional 45 hours a week to ride!js5280
Apr 4, 2002 12:02 PM
Okay I don't want a big pity-fest, I've been through this before and my finances should be in order for an extended vacation from the wonderful world of employment. A little bit of a surprise although we do work for the States whom will be a little disappointed this year on how much our money they'll get to keep. This wasn't my dream job and if the economy were better I probably would of had my antenna out already. Alas, the decision has been made for me which brings up the opportunity to enjoy some always deserved time off. :-)

Let's see there's my friend in Stockholm, my cousin who just went to the Greek Island of Paros, Moab is perfect this time of year, ski resorts are still open, damn I hate this ;-)

However, I can use this opportunity to do a little networking in the Boulder/North Denver area (no DTC please)! Probably the best title for what I do is a Systems Analyst which means I generally consult and install new computer database systems. The primary technology I work w/ is Microsoft SQL Sever and have worked on Human Resource, Customer Relationship Management, and Financial systems. So if you hear of something along those lines, feel free to drop me an email at wa_john AT hotmail.com. Make sure to replace AT w/ @ and take out the spaces. I'll still being hanging around this place unless the exotic location I happen to be in doesn't have internet access ;-)
Are you still going to make Austin next week??? (nm)Dave Hickey
Apr 4, 2002 12:17 PM
Yes, I'll be in Austin. . .js5280
Apr 4, 2002 12:27 PM
I've been thinking about times to get together. There's a small group of TC survivors (last year we had about 12-15) getting together Saturday at Chuy's (not sure which one, my guess is the original) and then Sunday at Oasis BUT the Peloton Project Party is also that evening. I'm thinking tht PP Party would be the best time to meet everyone assuming others are attending the party as well. I was going to send out some emails to see if that works for others I've talked to.
Yes, I'll be in Austin. . .Dave Hickey
Apr 4, 2002 12:37 PM
I'm open all day on Saturday and Sunday after the ride. Let me know. By the way, I was talking to another hockey dad last week and I was wearing last years RftR tee shirt that says "survivor" on the back. We started talking and he said his son-in-law was Lance's agent. At my sons hockey practice last night, the guy gives me a autographed copy of "It's not about the bike".
Awesome!js5280
Apr 4, 2002 1:10 PM
That is very cool. I'm yet to meet Lance although I'm friends w/ Chris Brewer (Lance's webmaster, author of the Little Green Book, started the Testicular Cancer Resource Center http://www.acor.org/tcrc) and another close friend (lost her husband to TC) who's friends w/ Kristin. Still, Lance is a hard commoditity to corner that weekend. Probably better he's rubbing elbow's with big time donors than some star-struck halfnut from Denver ;-) I'm sure I'll get my chance though. I'm on the waiting list for the Gala next year. I'll get you on the details for Chuy's and email them to you. Well, unless the Stars beat up on the Av's tomorrow night ;-) Can't wait for playoff hockey! I forgot to add that to the list!
Awesome!Dave Hickey
Apr 4, 2002 1:13 PM
The Stars aren't even going to make the playoffs. 3rd highest payroll in the NHL and they're in 10th in the west.
dude!lonefrontranger
Apr 4, 2002 2:09 PM
Wow, how ironic. I just got a job after 3 months of steady riding :) Working for G.E. Access on contract, how's THAT for stability :-p

If you're free anytime soon (I know you're going to do RTR), drop me an e-mail. I have weird hours and may have time during the day at points to ride.

Boulder's gorgeous this time of year. Good luck with finding something you really like to do.

Cheers,

LFR
Congrats on the new job!js5280
Apr 4, 2002 3:27 PM
Hi Beth!

Glad to hear you have something lined up already. I just met a guy (Kitchenware from MTBR) who's wife (don't know her name) works there as a Systems Analyst (what I do) so I might have to take a look there myself. It was great meeting you at the Stazio Crits! Unfortunatley my pictures did not turn out, too far away (cheap digital camera) Good luck at the Boulder-Roubaix this weekend, hope the weather holds out for you.

My mind is already racing w/ possibilities. So far it looks like, RftR, then MTB w/ some MTBR folks in Co. Springs the next weekend, then GJ/Fruita for the Fruita Fat Tire Fest, spend some time out in Moab, then out to Goosebery Mesa. In June I was planning a week or two in Sweden/Greece/Europe so maybe I'll make it a month there if I can mooch floor space and/or cheap hostels. Guess I better add some job hunting in there somewhere too. Thanks for your well wishes!