RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How many centuries do you/us semi-serious folks ride yearly?(19 posts)

How many centuries do you/us semi-serious folks ride yearly?WadeO
Apr 3, 2002 7:48 PM
I rode my first one last year, and it looks like I can squeeze several in between MTB races this year. I have 8 on the calendar so far.

One is a metric and another a two-day 150.

Think that'll be enough?
Whatever makes you happy is enough.MB1
Apr 4, 2002 4:08 AM
Some folks are getting pretty close to 100 centuries a year. Whats that, a century of centuries?

We ride a few less than that.

http://www.ultracycling.com/standings/umcstandings2001.html
re: How many centuries do you/us semi-serious folks ride yearly?Dave Hickey
Apr 4, 2002 4:08 AM
Last year I road 7 centuries and a couple of 100k's
re: How many centuries do you/us semi-serious folks ride yearly?grandemamou
Apr 4, 2002 5:10 AM
3-4 a year and about the same number of 100k.
Whatever you're comfortable with is "enough"Ray Sachs
Apr 4, 2002 5:34 AM
I usually ride one or two full centuries every year and more metrics than I can count. A metric is a non-event for me - I do at least one of 'em almost every weekend during the season. A full century still presents a bit of a challenge to me - seems like I have at least one semi-rough patch on each one I do and the challenge is to just keep riding through it and see if I can recover and be stronger by the end. So I do 'em occasionally just as a gut check. If I rode more, I'm sure they'd get easy and then I'd have to do a double for the challenge, but I have no desire to get to that point.

I know lots of folks who ride LOTS of centuries and lots of folks that think riding 100 miles in a day is pure crazyness and 40-50 is the most they'd ever want to do. They're ALL dedicated cyclists and all love to ride. So, there are no rules - just gotta find the level that works for YOU.

-Ray
Don't get hung up on a number...Gregory Taylor
Apr 4, 2002 6:10 AM
...or feel that you have to do an "organized" century. If you feel like it, just go out and have an adventure. Have a destination, get a map, and hop on your bike and ride. Stuff your jersey pockets with snacks, a repair kit, a couple of bucks, and a cell phone. That's it.

I was really lucky this March and had a week off with nothing to do and no responsibilities. I got in 3 solo centuries -- each one having as its midpoint a little restaurant in Leesburg, VA, that has great atmosphere and pancakes...
semi-serious?RideLots
Apr 4, 2002 6:47 AM
So, you don't want to hear from the fanatics, huh?

Any more, 100 miles is a minimal weekend workout, either a speed day or recovery. The only time I ride less is if I'm doing a road race. Did 130 miles with 12,000 feet of climbing last Saturday, and doing 244 miles with 4,000 feet this Saturday.

Don't actually do too many organized centuries any more. By the time I get there and back, usually, I could have ridden another one. I'd rather use the time for riding.

There are many who do far more miles than I do, too, like MB1 and Ms. MB1.
semi-serious?elviento
Apr 4, 2002 8:09 AM
244 miles in one day is a lot. If you don't draft I imagine you can only maintain 18-19 mph, so that means 12-13 hours of riding and probably 15 hours on the road if you squeeze in a few breaks.

Damn, I must be considered a non cyclist, since I only do two to three 25 milers during the week, and 60 on Saturday, and 40 on Sunday.
semi-serious?RideLots
Apr 4, 2002 8:15 AM
yup, that's a lot for just about anyone; I'm getting ready for a 24 hour race in 2 weeks, though. There is nothing like a long ride to tell you where your weaknesses are. Better before than during a race.
Are you doing a RAMROD qualifier?Slipstream
Apr 4, 2002 9:05 AM
Where are you doing this?

If you are doing the RAMROD, do you have a support team? I was wondering what you do to maintain communication.

Also, that is 400 miles in 24 hrs AND you cannot draft? Tough ride. I admire your effort. ;>)
Davis 24RideLots
Apr 4, 2002 11:14 AM
The Davis 24 hour: http://www.davisbikeclub.org/ultra/DBC1224hr.htm

Doing this one without support; that's doable, as they provide drop bags for the 160 mile day loop, then the night loop is 18.5 miles, so we'll have access to our car every hour. No drafting. It's a 24 hour timetrial. You just keep on going...

In the Furnace Creek 508 I used personal radios for communication.
That is pretty flat for 244 miles. Gonna ride the fixte? nmMB1
Apr 4, 2002 9:09 AM
funnyRideLots
Apr 4, 2002 11:16 AM
244 miles fixed? That's crazy.

Here's the route: http://www.midcalracing.com/hollisterroute.htm

Actually, trying out the new time trial bike.
you ride on 152?mr_spin
Apr 4, 2002 11:33 AM
Wow, I knew you did an insane amount of mileage (and therefore were insane), but now I think you must have a deathwish!

There's no way I could ride on 152 with cars going by at 75 mph or more. There's usually a good head-on accident there once a year that kills a couple of people. On top of that, they set wind surfing speed records on the lower lake! It's a little breezy.

The map doesn't show what you do beyond Pacheco Pass. What kind of speed do you hit on that steep downhill? And what do you do when you get past Casa de Fruita? I presume you head towards Hollister (156?), which means that death defying left turn across 152.
you ride on 152?RideLots
Apr 4, 2002 2:41 PM
There are 2 parts to the map, east and west, that show the whole ride. The hills really aren't that steep; we're talking 45 mph at best. Yes, it does get very windy, usually from the west. That's why I ride that way, almost always having a tailwind on the return.

I've been riding on 152 for several years. It's not as bad as you might think, because there is a very wide, paved shoulder the whole way, usually around 10 feet wide. I'd rather be there than on some narrow farm road with double flatbeds whizzing inches by. Some of the 152 shoulder is really bumpy, though, but I think of it as toughness training.
try thismr_spin
Apr 4, 2002 3:24 PM
Just before you get into Gilroy, turn right on Canada Road. That takes you into a nice 2-3 mile climb to the top of the range. Once over the top, it's a gradual downhill and rollers until you get to a fire station at Gilroy Hot Springs road. Turn left and ride along the river, do a few small climbs, then scream down the hill back into Gilroy. You'll end up on Leavesley Road. A dogleg or two will get you back to 152 in no time.

It's a short loop, maybe 10-11 miles, but it's a very cool area to ride in. It's one of my favorite places to ride. Since it's a loop, you can do it either way. Coming down Canada Road is a real thrill ride.

Last time I was there, the firefighters came out and gave us bottled water. We used to get water from their hose, but it's well water, and they said it had recently gone bad.

On your map, it's the mushroom shaped loop above Gilroy.
re:If some is good, more is better.- nmdzrider
Apr 4, 2002 8:57 AM
if I'm lucky, maybe 4. registered for 2 so far (nm)gregg
Apr 4, 2002 10:52 AM
Centuries in a seasonTurtleherder
Apr 4, 2002 12:01 PM
Usually ride around 5 a season here in the mid-west. I have a brother-in-law who has a screw loose in the old noggin and likes Iron man triathlons. He rides one every other weekend.