RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


has anyone ever "bandit" ridden the TdF?(15 posts)

has anyone ever "bandit" ridden the TdF?Spirito di Finocchio
Apr 3, 2002 4:34 AM
now that would be cool and something to brag about.

the ultimate form of cycling hooliganism with little or no ill effect and a lot better than the course graffiti if not with infinitely more impact and bravado . of course i would be arrested and deported but how funny would it be for phil liggot and paul sherwin trying to explain a rider in a full Molteni Camapgnolo kit riding an orange Merckx replica kit and no official numbers heading the pace line for a hundred yards or so before being drivn off the road by the course referee and swooped on by the french paramilitary. but it could start a tradition and i would be proud to be the first if i could get my ass frogside this summer.

of course id tip off cycling news and offer graham watson some kickbacks from the media appearances and product endorsemments that would follow if he captured the whole debarcle for my posterity.

if i subscribed to andy warhol's theory that everyone will experience 15 minutes of fame then this would be my choice of getting it through my own volition. if i was a woman then id consider doing a "streaker run" (popular form of naked exhibitionism in australia - especially during a cricket match) with the word 'suntour' painted on my ass whilst running alongside the yellow jersey up alp d'huez and you know french tv would show it unlike the edwardian moraled tv networks accross the pond. im sure id get a lesser punishment for that. please dont consider my "if i was a woman" to be outrightly sexist but merely nonsensically apt considering the majority of viewers are male and sure to cause less offense.

bandit riding a local race or ride is not only stupid and a waste of time and of little merit - but if you aim to bandit do it on an international run and show some spirit and offer a laugh. 10 speed downtube shifters, non-aero brake levers, cinelli hairnet, drilled chainrings and brake levers etc etc would be a real politcal statement
and of a great amount of "he's an idiot - but he has a flair for classicism in his madness" gasps from the pundits and trainspotters. if ya gonna be a poser do it for the world to see. eugene maybe this is your platform. live tv is a tool in a well planned fools imagination.

imagine telling your grand kids that you rode in the TdF and im sure you could swing it to be featured in an article in the Rivendell Reader. you know that bob roll would post bail for you and would buy you a drink just for the sake of doing so.

what.....ok i hear ya...spirito woke up too early and his brain is not in gear yet....

imagine a whole bandit team......YEAH.....me, A., slipstream, elafantino, harlett, tjeanloz, grzy, ridelots, woof and a guest appearance from morrison as the team captain (he IS a lawyer - could prove handy) sponsored by RBR.com - hey gregg new kits and airfares please! (maybe not - we would probably all pass drug tests and thus wouldn't have any merit as serious riders)

peace in the middle east ;-)
aah, what a romantic larcenous mind you haveSlipstream
Apr 3, 2002 5:37 AM
you must be part gypsy, i swear ;>)
actually i am (mother side) ;-) nmSpirito di Finocchio
Apr 3, 2002 5:42 AM
You should name your cavalera after the gypsy CarmenSlipstream
Apr 3, 2002 7:53 AM
opera & cycling is not an oxymoron

>Opera & cycling? Carmen, the Spanish gypsy, fully obsessive, a wild thing that can never be tamed. An enduring symbol of the unremediated spirit of Spain. Today she would be a cyclist, I'm sure.

>Cyclists need to be obsessive. At least to a point anyway. ;>)

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?13@@.efa1bbe/3
as DAC already pointed out to my unawares...Spirito
Apr 3, 2002 9:38 AM
an opera cavalera rusticana allready exists - im looking for it this week.

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.eee2cb4/69
Actually, it used to happen all the time in the old days ...Elefantino
Apr 3, 2002 6:11 AM
More in the Giro, actually, than the tour. And the riders would occasionally get quite violent toward these interlopers. (The Team Cinzano "pump in the spokes" scene from Breaking Away, for example.)

Now, with police sweeps of the course and numerous officials' cars all around, it's all but impossible.

But ... if it were possible, I would like to play the sprinter who has trouble climbing overpasses. Yeah, that's it. You guys do all the work and pull for me the whole stage and I'll try to mash to a sprint win against Cipo, Steels, Zabel, Nazon, Teutenberg, et al. You should see me throw elbows.

Oh, wait. I'd never pass the drug test.

FWIW,
Mike
youd have to go in disguiseishmael
Apr 3, 2002 6:28 AM
find the racer who looks most similar to yourself and don his outfit and a couple key phrases in his language. There are so many of them im sure the referee cant remember them all. It would be best not to try to impersonate one of the more famous riders but some lackey who just made the team...if your really commited you could nip a rider off the back during some tight hidden turn and store him in your trunk till the end of the race and then you could do the rest of the race. This could get you in alot more trouble and you might never leave France again but it would be worth it.
It happened in the early 90's. They were arrestedTig
Apr 3, 2002 7:47 AM
I can't remember which year and what mountain stage it was, but a guy imitating a top pro (who happened to be back in the peleton) jumped in and barely kept up with a breakaway before being arrested. It happened again the next year as well.

Hmmm... failing memory... too soon! ARRRRGH!
Sort of...Gregory Taylor
Apr 3, 2002 6:11 AM
It was either 2000 or 2001, there were some Basque protestors that hopped in (wearing team kit) at the end of a stage. French security pulled them off of their bikes and beat the crap out of at least one of them.
Sort of... HaHaAndor
Apr 3, 2002 7:45 AM
That is Funny!
In the early 90s...Wannabe
Apr 3, 2002 7:30 AM
I read an article in Bicylcing magazine that was pretty cool. The author was a Cat 2 and his traveling partner was also a 2 or 3. They were doing one of those organized riding tours following the TdF. It was a stage where a breakaway had gotten up the road quite a ways and in between the break and peloton there was quite a gap, well they hopped back on their rides and kept on going. Shortly thereafter, one of the TdF motorbikes came across them and indicated that would have to vacate the course soon. But he let them ride for quite some time and even gave them time checks back to the now chasing peloton! They said the experience was just unreal (can you imagine?) and they completely destroyed themselves to remain out front as long as they could. I think that when the peloton got within 5min of them the motorbike made them get off the course.

It was a great story, I'll have to see if I've still got that issue layin' around somewhere in the basement...

Andy
That story gave me goose bumps ! (nm)hrv
Apr 3, 2002 10:15 AM
cool...if you ever find the issue pls post it thx NMSpirito
Apr 3, 2002 11:38 AM
re: has anyone ever "bandit" ridden the TdF?Icefrk13
Apr 3, 2002 7:41 AM
I am a not so good rider, but a hell of an armature photographer, I will take the publicity pic's for you all.
Hmmm, up early or just getting back from a night of. . .js5280
Apr 3, 2002 9:36 AM
hitting on/hooking up with coke addled wanne-be supermodels? ;-)

Love your posts Spirito, you definitely do bring spirit to the board. . .