RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What are YOU training for??(54 posts)

What are YOU training for??rideslikeagirl
Apr 2, 2002 1:05 PM
Remember those Nike commercial's a while back? Loved the one with the little soccer kid that smeared steak juice all over his ball then took it out so the dogs could get a whif.

Anyhoo...

Just curious. We're all here (or out there) for different reasons.

Me? Well, I love it. I'll never be a racer - too old in my book and no guts. I do, however, like to do long rides and have a number of centuries filling my dance card for this season.

My training is just a way of not suffering on those long rides. And to not get dropped on group rides - and even let the group chase me sometimes. That's about as competitive as I get.

Oh yeah - and so I can EAT MORE FOOD!! :)
re: What are YOU training for??Dave Hickey
Apr 2, 2002 1:13 PM
1. Ride for the Roses April 14th. As a cancer survivor, it's very important to me to support the Lance Armstrong Foundation
2. My first Triathlon on May 5.
3. Being able to eat more and drink more beer
re: What are YOU training for??rideslikeagirl
Apr 2, 2002 1:42 PM
1. Right on! Congrats-
2. Right on! Good luck
3. Right on! You deserve it!!
have you done a duathlon yet? nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 2, 2002 2:35 PM
have you done a duathlon yet? nmDave Hickey
Apr 3, 2002 6:50 AM
No, there is one this weekend and I'm thinking of doing it . 5k run 40k bike 5k run.
have you done a duathlon yet? nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 3, 2002 8:57 AM
I did my first du in oct/nov last year. 2mi/15mi/2mi. pre-teen girls and old ladies were passing me on the first run. i caught and dropped them on the bike. the last 2mi of running were mostly about suffering. i came in 3rd in my division (clyde) out of 6, and 94th overall out of 117. competition between 30-ish clydesdales and pre-teen girls/old ladies is pretty fierce these days!

what i learned: think about setup and transition before the event. bring a towel to put your stuff on. layout your shoes right. leave them unlaced after the first run. i though transitions my were slow, but it turns out they were pretty quick (<25 seconds each) for a newbie.

total time to run 2 miles, ride 15 miles, then run 2 miles was 1:24:25. i'd only been running again last year for a month before the du. then again, i'd run quite a bit the year before. :o)
have you done a duathlon yet? nmDave Hickey
Apr 3, 2002 9:44 AM
Thanks for the tips. The Du this weekend also has a 2m run 10 mile bike 2m run. Maybe I better try this first.
Lance Armstrong FoundationGregory Taylor
Apr 2, 2002 2:56 PM
Nice to see a fellow Peloton Project member....

Give'm hell for me, I can't make it to Austin this year.
re: What are YOU training for??Icefrk13
Apr 2, 2002 1:14 PM
Loose some KILOS and ride my first century in 12 weeks.
Matt
re: What are YOU training for??Wannabe
Apr 2, 2002 1:20 PM
What am I training for?

1. To not get dropped by my local club on their "training race" rides.
2. To simply be fit

What am I riding for?

1. Because I love it!
2. Because I love to COOK!

Andy (thinks he's a closet Italian)
re: What are YOU training for??Troyboy
Apr 2, 2002 1:21 PM
Multiple podium finishes and at least one first a year.
re: What are YOU training for??p chop
Apr 2, 2002 1:45 PM
To savor that cool breeze on the droplets of sweat on the back of my neck while looking over a pass I just climbed, the cool breeze that says, this is why. And 'cause my bike is yummy.
training? i just wanna keep the little kid in me alive...Spirito di Finocchio
Apr 2, 2002 1:50 PM
all work and no play makes jack a dull boy

cycling for me is fun - if it feels like training then i dont get as many kicks. the rides where i tag along with club riders i always feel id get more enjoyment at a wake. miles should not be hurdles but adventures.

ride the world with joy and take in all the beauty it has to offer - i treasure my bikes as they have shared many beautiful moments and have always brought a thrill whether cold or hot, day or nite, 5th ave or and empty country road. treasure it as many miss the beauty of it all and some dont have the means. every ride is a victory for the soul.

a bicycle is the most noble machine - it offers transport at a perfect pace and with benifit to the user. it is thrilling as it is relaxing. it makes perfect use of materials in a simple, elegant design. its also a machine where its rider is also part of the machine and integral to its purpose. what other modern design has as much to offer without harm or destruction yet still solicits dreams, adventures and journeys. jesus, buddha, columbus, shakespeare, mother theresa, ghandi were all cyclists - some just didnt have bikes.

if we had wing we would fly - we dont so we ride a bike.

next time you pass a fred just think - he may be having a better time than you. 23 days in july is important but a ride every day is a virtue and a gift.

what i am on - life (i may not get another and if i do i doubt that it could be better than this one)

a very joyous spirito :-)
re: training? i just wanna keep the little kid in me alive...Djudd
Apr 2, 2002 2:17 PM
fantastic reply...you said it all. I would love to share a ride with you Spirito. You're in NYC, though I'm in DC I'm from Woodstock and go home frequently. Maybe a ride through the Catskills. I know all the good routes.

Peace

P.S. My new riding motto is "every ride is a victory for the soul"... beautiful
are you kidding...Spirito di Finocchio
Apr 2, 2002 11:52 PM
id love to ride up and around them catskills...in a little while

fixing the neater for a friend, selling my main bike and will soon sell the fixie...

when new bike is together and ready im on.

ko_te_jebe@mac.com
Beautiful!rideslikeagirl
Apr 2, 2002 2:19 PM
Thanks for the message.

And I couldn't agree more about freds. I often think they have the right attitude, since they're the one's with the biggest grins.
dittodittodittodittodittodittodittodittodittodittodittodittodittSlipstream
Apr 2, 2002 5:40 PM
o what a great great great noble spirit you have: you are the genus locii -- the "spirit(o) of the thing." It is what the indians in the northwest call the clouds that cling to the mountains after a rain.

I'll tell you what, you write, Ahisma cooks, I'll drink. Invite everyone. Include the bandits, well steal their credit card and they can pay. What a party; it'll be grand.
Wait a minute here.Ahimsa
Apr 2, 2002 6:55 PM
"...you write, Ahimsa cooks, I'll drink."

What am I? The help?

Fock that. Howsa 'bout this:

"...you write, Ahimsa calls for pick up sushi while he mixes a few Mai Tai's and Singapore Slings, I'll drink."

I could use the opportunity to drink outta my tiki mug collection.

I don't cook for people. That's the wife's gig now. I cook for me and her only. Mostly. Okay, fine, with a few rare exceptions I cook for folks, but RARELY.

A. (We should invite some wimmin too you know. I may be married, but I still enjoy the company of the fairer sex. Harlet comes to mind.)
yeah right....Spirito di Finocchio
Apr 3, 2002 12:09 AM
you two drinkin and eatin and in the company of women and im suppose to be writin'....like a live report for the rbr voyeurs or somethin....fat chance!!!!

and if its my place then i vote for absinthe, saki or wyborowa (best selling vodka in poland). but id rather go for a ride with you two as i know that a hip flask fits in a jersey perfectly and there are plenty of places to top up along the way.


you know all posters here are writers

their sweat is the ink
their bikes the pens and
their roads are the paper.

how many beautiful stories are locked in each of our minds and it is the reason we can find and share our passion here with others.

(i wouldnt mind if lonefrontranger showed up so she could do a little wheel truing and show off those paltforms tho).
OK, i relent, we'll have Babette fix the feastSlipstream
Apr 3, 2002 5:15 AM
and auction off Spirito's cavalera to the bandits. The proceeds can go to extending the party for several days. of course, bring the wimmin.

i'll raise a toast to the noble RBR crowd who ride, write and drink with obsessive passion. we'll drink til we're blind.
we may have to sell off more than the cavalera....Spirito di Finocchio
Apr 3, 2002 5:51 AM
....as im sure it could prove costly to get us 3 and especially the wimmin blind (enough)

bring the giro's just in case

;-)
same here ...bianchi boy
Apr 2, 2002 8:18 PM
Just for the fun of it. I went to some dogsled races this winter and all the dogs were so happy and excited waiting for their turns to race. That's the way cycling makes me feel. When I was a kid, our bikes were our only real form of transportation besides walking. We used to ride from Toledo (OH) what seemed like many miles to a little town called Maumee, which had a great penny candy shop. We would spend our allowances on all sorts of candy -- licorice, gumballs, those little dots on paper, wax soda bottles, caramel creams. A big bag for 25 cents. Then we'd ride home, eating most of it on the way back. That's what I'm training for. Only now it's so I can eat what I want without getting fat.
If I didn't I'd be one of the 65% of Americans that are obese!look271
Apr 2, 2002 1:51 PM
I love to eat, espcially ice cream. =)
Also, I want to be fit and to see my kids have kids, and more in the immediate futeure, I want to finish the 3 state 3mtn challenge in May without any extreme misery! Mostly, I just love to ride.
re: What are YOU training for??Elefantino
Apr 2, 2002 1:55 PM
1. Ride for the Roses ... oops, going to miss that one this year. (Still raised my money, though. Important, because my mom's a cancer survivor and my dad died from cancer in August. Next year I'll ride it again.)
2. Tour de Forts ... oops, going to miss that one, too.
3. Jekyll Island Century ... oops, missed that one already.
4. MS150, St. Augustine to Daytona Beach and back ... in late September. I'll make that; missed it last year.
5. Historic Savannah Century ... Labor Day weekend. I'll make that, too; also missed it last year.
6. Saturday morning Downtown to Alltel Stadium Two-Bridge Dash ... last rode that on July 7. That's when I last rode. Doing that one again, well, maybe that's the most important of all.
re: What are YOU training for??DaveL
Apr 2, 2002 2:22 PM
1. Ride for the Roses
2.Fitness - I lost 25+ LB. this past yr. I want to maintain it.
3. Want to get faster/stronger I Love the speed; love to ride just as hard as I can.
re: What are YOU training for??JS Haiku Shop
Apr 2, 2002 2:40 PM
this year?

double century and the "six gap century", both in september

5 year plan?

i've been riding for four. i'd like to race in the next few months or next season. there's not much to pick from around here, unless you like crits.

overall?

'cuz i like to drink beer. mass quantities. and i like ice cream, mexican fast food, pizza, you name it.

but, most importantly, to amaze and inspire my son (he's 2). in a few years i hope to have him in disbelief over my rides. :o)
The parody of life, taken seriously...tempeteKerouak
Apr 2, 2002 3:01 PM
Trying to get yet another hit of that neuromorphin my brain releases after exhaustion.

And it's getting further and further aways, hence the need to ride more and harder.

Ha ha.

In all truth; Because it gets me into another world. Training or racing is the only time/space when I don't think about the cruel poetry of this world. I become a machine that breath the wind. I hurt like a living creature. One has to have seen a happy workhorse coming out of the paddock to understand.

But in this place of my mind his no remorse or guild, no false pride or cheating. No politics, no politeness, no influential position. Don't matter what kind of car you drive or what size your house is. We are all going towards the same finish line. We all hurt on the uphill, and no-one can do it for you.

séb.
re: What are YOU training for??jrm
Apr 2, 2002 3:18 PM
Being able to ride for 2 or 3 hours, maybe do a XC race and hopefully my first 24 hr. MTB race. It also helps in keeping in some kinda shape.
the next eventRideLots
Apr 2, 2002 3:21 PM
I pretty much train for my next important event.

Getting ready for the Davis 24 hour challenge, now. Hoping to ride over 400 miles (course record is 374). Next, the Climb to Kaiser double option.
Next big event for me.....Len J
Apr 2, 2002 3:45 PM
is the Tour De Montes. 3 days, 300 miles, many thousands of feet of climbing, last week in June, and I'm going to do it in the double ring. For a flatlander like myself, it's a challange. Bring on the steady headwind (Simulated hills).

Len
Here's a link.Len J
Apr 2, 2002 3:47 PM
http://www.baltobikeclub.org/TdM.htm

Len
We have done it twice now.MB1
Apr 2, 2002 4:13 PM
It is on our schedule this year too. It wasn't too hard on singles but a brute on the tandem (but way fun). If it is a hot day lookout! We have done most of the climbs this winter, they are much easier on a cool day.

Some of the climbs are pretty tough I'll use my ATB cassette to avoid working too hard on the early climbs. A nice size group of fairly fun people.

May I suggest you come ride with us some day before the Tour to get in some hills?
Absolutly. Thanks for the invite.Len J
Apr 2, 2002 4:23 PM
Two of my friends are doing it also, they did it last year. I'm sure I could talk them into it (if it's OK with you).

e-mail me at len_janssen@yahoo.com with some dates.

Now I'm excited (& nervous). Be gentle.

Len
my hat is off to 'ya; good ridin' nmSlipstream
Apr 2, 2002 5:42 PM
LIFEmwood
Apr 2, 2002 3:51 PM
A short listmass_biker
Apr 2, 2002 3:54 PM
* Weekly World Championships - every town has one of those
* Town line sprints on the Saturday morning ride - few things as satisfying...or frustrating
* The New England "Spring Classics" - keeping a hallowed tradition alive at Sterling, Sunapee, Jiminy etc.

MB
California Triple Crown...MrCelloBoy
Apr 2, 2002 3:58 PM
1.) Davis Double
2.) Terrible Two
3.) Knoxville double

I've done a single DC many times in the past but never more than one in a season. My goal is to finish the first two comfortably then train for a stronger finish on the last one.
I plan to NEVER train specifically for any more events after this!
What no Stage Race? ;-)grzy
Apr 2, 2002 6:34 PM
That #2 ride is a doozy.

Gonna do the Stage Race some year but DMD is in less than 4 weeks.....
to get into race condition without making it a jobTig
Apr 2, 2002 4:30 PM
I know I'll never return to my form and level I had in my 20's, but I'd like to see how much fitness I can achieve in my late 30's. Racing is just a goal to help push and motivate me. I love road racing and will ride just a few races this year as periodic tests. Getting into really good shape takes time at my age so there is no rush. I don't want to turn it into boring overly structured work, but to still enjoy each ride. We must take time along the way to stop and smell the roses.

My goal is to race harder and stronger in 2003, and use 2002 as training.
**Feelin' the love**rideslikeagirl
Apr 2, 2002 4:54 PM
Thanks everyone. Wonderful words of inspiration and motivation.

And the never too frequent grounding/reality check!

Peace and tailwinds.
re: What are YOU training for??Mike P
Apr 2, 2002 5:49 PM
I am training to break 3 hours on the 3 state, 3 mtn metric century in may. I may ride a full century in the fall.

I enjoy riding, it makes me feel good, keeps me in shape, and it lets me experiment a lot with the breadmaker my girlfriend gave me for xmas.

I have found a secret place in riding; one where I can be alone or with a group. Most of the people in cars ands trucks don't know about it and never will. Walkers and joggers have felt it but they don't know what it really is. This place can be peaceful, frantic, painfull, tranquil, fast, slow, enjoyable, humbling, fulfilling and a bunch of other stuff.

Mike
I want to look good when I'm laying in my coffin..DINOSAUR
Apr 2, 2002 6:23 PM
I just like to ride...
Screw that, I want a coffin with wheels. Good ones too. [nm]Ahimsa
Apr 2, 2002 7:11 PM
IM, and to stay in shape! nm.NYCyclist
Apr 2, 2002 7:17 PM
Seattle to BostonErnie1212000
Apr 2, 2002 9:51 PM
Pulling a BOB trailer from Seattle to Boston four weeks from now.

Turning last years 24 MTB race silver into gold this year.

Other than that to continue spending every sunny wkd doing long solo rides and exploring.
re: Rose Bowlmanofsteel
Apr 2, 2002 10:23 PM
To be able to hang w/o blowing up for ONE measly lap out of five at the Tue/Thur Rose Bowl training races. I actually accomplished that today!!! Lap #2, I'm coming after YOU!!! and #3...and #4..
100k+ race on fat tires at Gauley Mtn, WVWadeO
Apr 3, 2002 12:57 AM
and beer.
re: What are YOU training for??mackgoo
Apr 3, 2002 3:37 AM
I'm not. I'm riding for the sheer joy. I do hope to see the top of Mt. Washington though.
working on those sprintsSlipstream
Apr 3, 2002 5:25 AM
so I can ensure a quick getaway after each bank job; then retire in southern France but only after throwing the best RBR party ever! then take a two year recovery ride with Spirito & Ahisma

besides, i already lost one bike because i was outta shape

gotta train; gotta train
never a more noble goal - we can remake the bicycle theif ;-) nmSpirito di Finocchio
Apr 3, 2002 5:56 AM
You will, no doubt, need a wine expert to pick the appropriaterideslikeagirl
Apr 3, 2002 8:49 AM
beverage to celebrate each successful heist.

I humbly volunteer.
having studied champagne in Champagne...Spirito
Apr 3, 2002 9:24 AM
i appreciate you offer to assist in the choice of juice to imbibe on, but i think ill be fine as i would plan to live the rest of my days on the royal beverage of choice as my only drink and what i may have forgotten i can easily remember.

that would be some life.

oh, my new handle is now just "spirito"
RAMRODSteve98501
Apr 3, 2002 11:07 AM
Between now and July 25th, several centuries as training rides, then a one day double century on STP, then RAMROD to cap my season. Just fun rides for the rest of the season.
do you have to do the 24/400mi ride to qualify? nmSlipstream
Apr 3, 2002 1:33 PM