RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


DeRosa King(19 posts)

DeRosa KingSteven76
Apr 2, 2002 8:05 AM
Has anyone seen or ridden one of these? If so, what did you think?
re: DeRosa King5ive
Apr 2, 2002 8:09 AM
haven't seen one in person yet, but here's a link to the best photo i've seen so far.

http://www.campyonly.com/images/modbikes/2002/de_rosa_king_0451.jpg
Damn, that's beautiful! I wonder how it rides. nmLen J
Apr 2, 2002 8:22 AM
That might make me give up on my Frog bikes.......Dave Hickey
Apr 2, 2002 8:27 AM
and go Italian. I've seen the ads in the magazines for the frame. I'd really like to see one in person. I believe the frame/fork sells for approx $2500.
Double that numberPaulCL
Apr 2, 2002 8:57 AM
The recent CycleSport lists almost every frame built up with the recommended groupo. I don't remember specifically, but I believe the King built up with Record has a suggested retail price of around $7200!
totalcycling.com $2450US (nm)Dave Hickey
Apr 2, 2002 9:00 AM
Just goes to show that...PaulCL
Apr 2, 2002 10:54 AM
..."expected full retail" is the manufacturer's pipedream. I think I read somewhere that, like the Merak, the King is for riders under 175lbs. Bummer. I'm 185lb - I guess no new bike this year...
Parker International is lessboneman
Apr 2, 2002 1:15 PM
Currently listed at £1,720, including VAT. Excluding VAT and shipping, and using an exchange rate of 1.43, the cost in dollars is $2,091. I've ordered frequently from Parker over the years and have never been disappointed. While I have never ordered from totalcycling, that is no reflection on that company.

BTW, someone in the US posted that they had gotten their's from Maestro Cycles in the UK who are also DeRosa dealers.
That was meonespeed
Apr 2, 2002 1:23 PM
They were absolutely no problem at all. I would recommend them to anyone who asked.
Saw that.Len J
Apr 2, 2002 11:01 AM
I think that prices in the cyclsport comparison were suggested retail full bike, not what you could buy them for.

Even if you assume that total bike decked with record includes about $2,500 above the frame & fork only price, the $7,200 equates to a frame & fork price of around $4,700.
The price below at totalcycling.com is an amazing price (I think it's 1,650lbs sterling). I wonder how much freight & duty you would pay?

Len
re: DeRosa KingSteven76
Apr 2, 2002 10:31 AM
Yes, very detailed photograph. Looks very nice!
No tape on the RAM ?AllUpHill
Apr 2, 2002 11:23 AM
Hmm, the Ram is a nifty looking bar indeed and a shame to cover with tape, but wouldn't most of us want to wrap from the drops up just past the shifters in order to cover up the metal clamp? It just doesn't look finished to have them exposed as in this photo.

Also, has anyone used or worked with those new articulated metal cable housings? Is there any benefit to them?
De Rosa has me by the walletonespeed
Apr 2, 2002 11:16 AM
I have looked at the King since it came out. The price stateside would lead me to buy it from the EU if I did get one. But that would leave my Merak all lonely when it never gets ridden anymore.

I find the Merak as one of the true examples of cycling genius in design and engineering. I would probably confer this title on the King if I rode as well. For now I will stick with the Merak.
re: Tri-Sport largest Derosa Dealer in USMorgan
Apr 2, 2002 11:22 AM
It just happens to be located in Fresno CA, my home town.
DeRosa makes beautiful bike (all of them). And they must be doing something right, because I am seeing alot more on the road recently. Tri Sport does have a KING at the shop but I have not taken it out for a test ride. I don't think my wife will let me :). But damn, it sure is light.
just saw itRideLots
Apr 2, 2002 1:08 PM
$7,000 with Record and Ksyrium wheels. Looks nice. A little sleeker than a C40; more exotic than a Trek. Shop said it was a little heavier than a C40.
re: DeRosa Kingpinarello
Apr 2, 2002 12:04 PM
I have had one on reserve since December. Reason is color and size. The Blue Carbon is I think the last color run. I expect it to be here any day as I was told in December that it is expected to be done in March. Patience is the Envy or Enemy, I don't know but I know one thing is that I am sticking my leg out on a bike that has had no review other then the GOO and THe GAA's of it's looks. I will give hopefully a detailed objective review when I put some miles on it and I will have my friends that ride C40, Litespeeds, Etc. test ride it to see what they think. It will be somewhat hard for me to give a true objective since I buy a bike every 10 yrs and this time it will be 12. So if your thinking that I spoil myself and got to have the most expensive etc. etc. Well after 12 yrs. I think Im due. First is to receive it. MCCL
Nah you deserve itgrandemamou
Apr 2, 2002 1:09 PM
I just have to convince the boss that I deserve it. It has been on the back cover of procycling mag the last few months and I have been drooling.

When you get it up and running please give us a report. Derosa's are pretty rare. I have a feeling King's will be extremely rare.
The real questionboneman
Apr 2, 2002 1:20 PM
Who is actually making the frame? Tooling up for something like the King requires resources that DeRosa may not have, especially given the number of sizes contemplated. Colnago has a massive operation in comparison to Ugo & co. which begs the question as to frame's source. Any thoughts on this one?
The real questionJohnIV
Apr 2, 2002 1:45 PM
A guy I know in the US carbon bicycle industry told me that the king is being made by Colnago.