RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Sidi, Carnac, Time, Shimano, Northwave, & Nike Shoes...?(9 posts)

Sidi, Carnac, Time, Shimano, Northwave, & Nike Shoes...?riney
Apr 2, 2002 4:31 AM
Looking for a new pair or cycling shoes...just wondering what the consensus is from everyone.
re: Sidi, Carnac, Time, Shimano, Northwave, & Nike Shoes...?netso
Apr 2, 2002 4:47 AM
I have used SIDI for my last two pairs of shoes. I have wide feet, I have found the SIDI shoes very accomodating. I have a pair of SIDI energy shoes right now.
re: Sidi, Carnac, Time, Shimano, Northwave, & Nike Shoes...?Me Dot Org
Apr 2, 2002 7:49 AM
Considering their relative importance, shoes seem to inspire far less passion than other componenets in cycling debates. I've got Sidis (I started with them nearly 20 years ago), but there are other fine shoes.

The February Cycling Plus had a shoe comparion. Carnac Quartz got the high end nod, Specialized Road Sport and Diadora Force got the midprice recommends, and the Decathalon 400s got the best buy.

But fit is everything.
re: They're all good brands...Velocipedio
Apr 2, 2002 5:43 AM
What's important is how they fit your feet, and everyone's feet are different, so hie thee to a bike shop and try them on.
re: Sidi, Carnac, Time, Shimano, Northwave, & Nike Shoes...?robbz27
Apr 2, 2002 8:21 AM
I've been riding the Nike Poggio for about a year now. They are extremely light, the CF sole is super stiff, the uppers breathe REALLY well, but the last is rather narrow and there's not much there in terms of arch suport. I find my pinky toes going numb soon into a ride, and the outsides of my feet hurt from time to time as well.

But I got them for free so that kind of negates all complaints I have.
don't think you'll find a consensusgrandemamou
Apr 2, 2002 11:05 AM
Shoes are like saddles very individual. If you can try them on do it it may help but still won't tell you what they feel like after 4-5 hrs riding.

Brand's I've owned:
Sidi Genius: Light, pretty stiff, fairly comfy, quality was so so.
Northwave jets: Light, very stiff, fairly comfy and excellent quality.
Carnac Quartz: Heavy,very stiff, very comfy, excellent quality.

Hope that helps.
re: Sidi, Carnac, Time, Shimano, Northwave, & Nike Shoes...?Morgan
Apr 2, 2002 11:35 AM
I just went through this. I had a pair of Specialized Team Road Shoes. They hurt my foot(46) and there disliked them but put up with them for a season. Last month I looked at all of them. I ended up purchasing some Carnac legends, most money I have ever paid for any shoe. But, I feel so much better when I do long rides that I feel the purchase was justified. They have a wides toe box and fit my 11.5 size foot. My second choice was SIDI's. At the same time I purchased a pair of Pearl Izumi MTB shoes. I don't like them as much as the Carnacs. The shoes length is OK, but its very narrow over all.
wow, helpful!JS Haiku Shop
Apr 2, 2002 1:28 PM
I also wear a 46 and am currently in specialized team shoes (older ones). actually, i moved to nike gabuche due last year, as they were on huge sale at rei-outlet.com. these are fairly comfy (have worn them on rides up to 125 miles), but are quickly wearing at the heel from minimal walking.

i've considered sidi, northwave and carnac, but didn't know where to start. glad to read your review. thanks.
Love my Diadora's, no more Nike's nmWadeO
Apr 3, 2002 12:54 AM