RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


The most bang-for-the-buck bib shorts?(21 posts)

The most bang-for-the-buck bib shorts?speedisgood
Mar 30, 2002 5:24 PM
So what's everyone's opinion on the best, for the money, bib shorts? Oh all right, you can include the outrageously expensive top of the line Castelli's or Assos' but just be sure to justify it's inclusion.

I'm in the market for some but can't seem to get over the fact that A) the "good" ones are really expensive and B) I'm going to crash in the shorts eventually (since I'll use them as race shorts and I do mostly crits.)

Thanks for the input!
check out Voler and Giordana nmgtx
Mar 30, 2002 5:56 PM
re: The most bang-for-the-buck bib shorts?feathers mcgraw
Mar 30, 2002 7:03 PM
I have a top of the line Castelli, Voler, Cheapo Giordana, Sugoi, etc. I used to think the Castelli was well worth the money, but it pinched me real bad the last time I wore it. Compared to the Castelli the Giordana (from probikekit) is totally simple and devoid of features, but works just fine. It's a great race bib 'cause I won't cry if it gets ripped. My vote for best bang for the buck is the Voler. The chamois is almost as good as the Castelli's, and it's better crafted than the Giordana. Plus, they're a real cool company-you order direct, and the order comes with a return envelope in case the sizing is off. And you get a couple of tootsie rolls.
re: The most bang-for-the-buck bib shorts?curlybike
Mar 30, 2002 7:14 PM
Try the Primal Bibs from http://www.behindthebars.com/ They are Hi Qwality and reasonably priced made by Voler, I think. I have 4 sets and use them when I am trying to save my Assos.
Santini or Nalini from bikejerseys.com (nm)Lone Gunman
Mar 30, 2002 7:11 PM
Definite deals.I like them better than the Assos shorts I had nmarafat_fan
Mar 30, 2002 7:56 PM
Love my Nalini's (nm)look271
Mar 31, 2002 7:47 AM
Tried both from bikejerseys - like Santini far more.dzrider
Apr 1, 2002 5:18 AM
The Santini Oltre has a terrific shammy and the straps are much better about staying on my shoulders when I'm off the bike.
Volerpmf1
Mar 30, 2002 7:46 PM
I've tried Pearl, Voler, Performance, Santini and Castelli and Voler. Voler comes out way on top. Believe it or not, the Performance bibs are not bad either. The Santini feel great initially, but get all stretched out. Plus, their pad pancakes down too thin. Pearl are nice, but 40% as expensive as Voler and feel the same. As far as Asshoe -- I ain't going into $140 short territory. Folks I know in Europe claim these are run of the mill clothing there. You're just enriching the monopolistic destributor if you buy them.
A second on PerformanceElefantino
Mar 31, 2002 4:39 AM
Their Elite bib short is probably my most comfortable. They have recently upgraded what was a real good chamois to a "multi layer" model, similar to Pearl Izumi's. Haven't tried those yet becuase they're still charging full price ($64.99) for them. I got the earlier Elites for under $40.

I am also large (6-5, 210), and they fit better in the "long" department than my Santinis, Volers or Nikes.

FWIW,
Mike
A third on PerformanceAlpedhuez55
Mar 31, 2002 6:27 PM
I third the Perfomance elites. I got some on sale for $35 a couple of months ago. They are not on sale at the moment but that can change quickly with performance. The logo is small and not very noticable. I also think there are 20% off coupons in some magazines according to the hot deals board.
earlier ELITES for $29 at Performance in Boulder nowColnagoFE
Apr 1, 2002 9:19 AM
I snagged the last pair of larges though. They still have a good number of smalls and XXLs. The new ELITE shorts (which don't seem quite as nice as the older ones with the white top) are on sale for $49.
re: The most bang-for-the-buck bib shorts?Wannabe
Mar 30, 2002 8:28 PM
If you want so inexpensive bibs, try gearlink.com, no complaints here. $24 I think. On their website they are $34, but check their auctions on ebay...

Andy
re: Try Gearlink.com...manofsteel
Mar 30, 2002 9:46 PM
you ask for best bang for the buck, I give you bang for the buck! I was in the market last week for some training bibs when I stumbled upon this website I found on ebay. Paid $55 for a bib/jersey combo. The bibs don't contain a chamois but do have an Swiss Eschler padding. I wore the combo for the first time today and they feel just as comfortable as Pearl Izumi/Hind/castelli. This mail order company also carries pro team replica jersey/bibs as well as top quality components at rock bottom prices. Check it out if you want bang for the buck! They're easy to order from and you'll get the product in 3-4 days. Good luck!
anything from probikekit.com ..............nmJohnG
Mar 31, 2002 6:18 AM
re: The most bang-for-the-buck bib shorts?Pjkad
Mar 31, 2002 6:39 AM
Check out Boure
http://www.boure.com/index.html
They have very high quality bib shorts...I've been very satisfied with them. They'll even do a custom size for you for a few bucks more.
re: The most bang-for-the-buck bib shorts?SnowBlind
Mar 31, 2002 7:25 AM
Check out zonibici.com.
Castelli has other bibs, besides the PY2K, in more colors and sizes (3XL!).
The nice ones are 82.50 Euro, ~$74.
They ship from Italy, so the shipping can hurt, I recommend getting a few of the guys together, or ordering 3 or more pair to make it worth it.
Other great stuff: briko's, and rudy project. Michelin tubes for 2.45 EU or ~$2.20 US!
I just ordered 2 PY2K, and 6 tubes, plus shipping for less than just ONE pair of bibs plus shipping through most places.
"most bang-for-the-buck bib shorts"- wording has me wincing nmSpirito di Finocchio
Mar 31, 2002 8:30 AM
You missed your calling. Stand up comedy..........(nm)Dave Hickey
Mar 31, 2002 8:52 AM
Thanks for all the great suggestions! [nm]speedisgood
Mar 31, 2002 8:46 AM
Performance ELITEColnagoFE
Apr 1, 2002 9:17 AM
The pad is very similar to Castellis (maybe the same?) and the fabric seems decent. Don't bother with any of the other performance shorts though. They pretty much suck.