RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Colnago Ovalmaster - Where is it made?(12 posts)

Colnago Ovalmaster - Where is it made?Scummer
Mar 30, 2002 9:27 AM
I heard that the Ovalmaster is made in Russia. Any truth to that? Do you know where they are manufactured?
re: Colnago Ovalmaster - Where is it made?yzfrr11
Mar 30, 2002 1:34 PM
Italy
but perhaps with Russian Titanium, no?(NM)Travis
Mar 30, 2002 3:45 PM
All titanium Colnagos use RussianLazywriter
Mar 30, 2002 4:22 PM
ti. It is up for debate here over and over as to the quality of the ti used. I am convinced it is of lower quality and if you do a simple search on Google about this topic you can read for yourself. This doesn't make for a poor riding bike though.
Plus, the "6/4" Russian standard is not of the same quality of US 6-4 ti. I will catch fire for this, but it is the truth. That is why you can often get a 6-4 Russian ti frame for half the price of a comparable US made 6-4 frame. Regardless, the Ovalmaster is a stiff riding ti bike which comes in handy. But those fancy paint jobs cover up the shoddy metalworking. Let the punches fly, but ride American ti.
Comment for LazywriterNessism
Mar 30, 2002 6:35 PM
Why don't you just say that you observed some surface finish blemishes on the CT1's you inspected and leave it at that. No need to condem the entire line of Colnago Ti frames as inferior just because you expect more from the finish.
oh no. not again. is this some twilight zone episode? nmcolker
Mar 30, 2002 6:45 PM
nm
It's funny you mention this when thisLazywriter
Mar 30, 2002 7:47 PM
phenomenon seems to happen everytime the dreaded Litespeed is mentioned. There never is a shortage of people coming out of the woodwork when LS is brought up.
Just giving an opposing opinion on the merits of Russian ti not on Colnagos. I think their choice in the use of Russian ti is wrong considering the price of their frames.
Interesting pointterry b
Mar 30, 2002 7:26 PM
I was just reading a book the other night about the CIA and the Cold War and specifically the SR-1 Blackbird. Seems that the Air Force and NASA chose to use Russian produced Titanium since there was not a single domestic supplier that could produce material to their standard. Irony there huh, using Russian metal to spy on the Russians?

How did you become so convinced of its inferior quality?
Interesting pointLazywriter
Mar 30, 2002 7:43 PM
this is one of many blurbs I have read about the inferiority of Russian ti. I have read printed material about this topic. Here is a link to Merlin's take on the topic which is a synopsis of what I have read from various sources. The quality has more to do with how Russians work with the ti rather than the material itself. You can have a flawless diamond, but you an screw it up with improper tools and incompetent handlers.
http://www.merlinbike.com/english/technology/ti_history.html
Interesting pointLazywriter
Mar 30, 2002 7:50 PM
Another site
http://www.yoyodyneti.com/links_faq.html#russian
Call me stupid for stepping in hereSlipstream
Mar 30, 2002 7:38 PM
because I have seen what happens.

First, I believe Ernesto Colnago knows what he is working with and takes the material into consideration along with the design. (As do as other master frame builders, whether Italian, American or whatever.) So, I "trust" what he builds and I "trust" that the Ovalmaster is not only well designed but is probably overdesigned for its particular purpose. I "trust" him as an engineer and I "trust" him as an artist, and not just for the paint, but for the artistry of performance.

With that said, I agree that there is a difference between Russian and American ti, even if it has the same rating. And I also believe that American ti is clearly better material.

I guess the proof is in the ride. And I don't know of any objective measure for that. Certainly this "proof" is to be measured only after a ride while getting snockered in a smokey anteroom and puking your guts the next day. But everyone will have forgotten whatever conclusions they may have arrived at the night before and the whole argument starts all over again. But that is what makes for insouciance and the sweet life.

ride hard; have fun; be safe ;>)
Russian Ti strength: a REAL testPaulCL
Apr 1, 2002 6:30 AM
I have ridden a Colnago Bititan for about 5 years. Russian Ti or not - it's still a Colnago. I have to believe that Ernesto won't allow garbage out of his shop.

As for strength. First of all, this bike handles my 190lbs with ease for over 20,000 miles. Secondly, I did an endo on the bike at 40mph which taco'ed the front wheel, bent a fork, broke a crannkarm, bent a handlebar, and cracked my body pretty well...but, the frame came out unscathed.

If it was a weak frame, it would have cracked along with my body and every other component.

Maybe ..
1. Russian Ti is "inferior" to US Ti, but still of high enough quality for bikes.
2. US Ti isn't better just because it's more expensive - think increased expenses (Insurance, union work, etc)
3. Drop the subject please. It's been overdone and pointless. Ride your Merlin or LS and be happy an QUIT RAGGING ON EVERY OTHER BIKE! Your bikes aren't perfect either.
Paul